We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average at the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Perth, Australia
1 review
“average at the best”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Don't be fooled that is a Hilton - far from it although good basic hotel. The company was paying which was good as I wouldn't have wanted to pay such a price for an average hotel such as this. Breakfast was basic and the wait staff were far from friendly. Coffee machine wasn't working properly which caused delays when were trying to ge tot work

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your comments Angela S.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I am most dissappointed to hear your comments, however have taken note and will discuss with our food and beverage leadership team.

Thank you once again. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    428
    312
    108
    61
See reviews for
173
394
94
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room was comfortable, as was the bed (big thing when you are constantly travelling for work), even if the decor was a little outdated. Centrally located in city centre so easy to access Restaurants, cafes and other points of interest. Room service was resonably priced and didn't incur an extra fee. Hotel well presented, and staff friendly and welcoming. Offer an express checkout service, and emailing of final invoice so checkout was super quick and easy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Teana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Teana

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. It is great to hear that the services that we provided was quick and easy to use along with our team being friendly and welcoming.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altona Meadows
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked this hotel for my family and they were very disappointed. The room was smaller than how it appeared in the photos. I had booked a room for 3 people with two double beds however there was only two towels, two coffee cups etc in the room. The beds were very hard and were sunken in the middle, very uncomfortable. The lamp shades were grubby. The bed sheets had brown stains on them and the bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Paying over $300 a night for a very substandard/grubby room was really disappointing. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishOconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review MishOconnor.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at our hotel. I do take your comments on board and will use these to improve the levels of service and consistency in delivery that we offer our guests.

If you do return to Darwin, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, and I will ensure that you and your family are looked after and have an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin - stayed 3 nights. Lovely hotel, excellent position in town. Not far to walk to main street of Darwin and amenities. Lovely staff, excellent buffet breakfast. Try not to get a room close to lifts - unfortunately you can hear the lifts working, not loud, but if too close can be intrusive enough that it can be annoying when the room is quiet and you're trying to sleep. Bathrooms are clean, but tiling and shower over bath and curtain and enclosure could do with a bit of an update. Check everything is working when you arrive. I bought some refrigerated items and went to put them in the fridge only to find the fridge was off and not cold. Turned the dial to switch it back on, not a big deal, however, the little freezer section had defrosted and the tray underneath was full of water. I needed to empty this, with difficulty as it was very full - so had to use towels to mop up the water. I informed staff, who was sending house keeping up - but never arrived, bit disappointing. Otherwise, great stay with lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank KerynK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review KerynK15.

I am glad that your stay was an enjoyable one and in particular that you enjoyed the Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast and the service that was extended to you by the team. I note your comments in regards to your fridge in your room and I will speak with our Housekeeping team in regards to this.

Thank you once again and we do hope that you choose to stay with us again when next travelling to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is clean and modern with updated bathrooms. It is conveniently located and if you face the ocean the view is fantastic. We booked and PAID for our 5 night stay in advance. Our flight to Darwin was delayed and we arrived late (11:30 pm) and they gave away our room. We had been travelling for 2 days with multiple flight delays so were extremely angry but exhausted. They put us in the Hilton Darwin Central which was downtown and not as nice and right in the middle of nightclubs, stores etc.. Here we also had issues. They had no parking spots left so had to get a shuttle. They gave us a room that had not been cleaned and even though we checked in after midnight, would not extend our check out time. Then were woken up by party goers (coming from Monsoon just around the corner) at 3 am because they decided to move the party out in the hall by the elevators. Ridiculous, but too tired to get out of bed to complain! Unless you are a party animal, do not stay here. We asked to be moved back to the Hilton Esplanade, our original choice. They gave us a bottle of wine and free breakfast for the rest of our stay but it really didn't make up for what they put us through. Of course, everyone blamed someone else for the mistake. On the upside, the daytime girls at the front desk were very nice. Another downside, keep an eye on your stuff. My Estee Lauder lipgloss went missing. It was taken out of my makeup bag left in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a great mid range hotel that has everything you need for a great stay - the staff in all areas go out of their way to look after you. Well positioned to take advantage of the esplanade and close to all the good things about Darwin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank WeRHappyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear WeRHappyTravellers

Thank you for posting your review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular the service extended to you by the team. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamuran, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Though the time in Darwin was for business, I found the location on the water front perfect to get away after a day at work with all the facilities of central Darwin within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and they were very good at answering any queries that I had about the hotels facilities. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good view over the water front and the early breakfast is a good idea. The only down side of the stay was no free internet access and may be more choices at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your comments Graham D, they are very much appreciated.

I am delighted that your stay with us was a pleasing one and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you once again. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when your travels bring you back to Darwin once again.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minute drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a suite for stunning harbor views and a separate living area. Studio lofts are also available. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. Dine al fresco on the sun-soaked terrace of our poolside restaurant and bar, Aqua, where you can enjoy dishes prepared with Mediterranean and Territory influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing