We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$160 per day for WIFI access” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“$160 per day for WIFI access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great hotel, breakfast a bit average, needed to sell my first born to Angelina Jolie to fund internet access. Also, only really big pillows. Sore neck. 200 characters minimum for review? Saaaaaayyyyy whaaaaaat!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jarrod Ashely M

Thank you for your review. Our Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property. From your comments, I am perhaps incorrectly assuming that you have selected the "faster" and megabytes option in order to download or stream to a device which has resulted in the associated charges. I understand your reaction to the charges.

We do have alternate pillows available through our CAREline if you prefer a different style of pillow. Once again, thank you for your comments. We trust the rest of your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    405
    283
    98
    57
See reviews for
159
366
85
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stay at this hotel many times a year in Darwin. Whilst the building is aged, it has recently undergone a refurbishment of the pool area and is generally in good shape. What I find most enjoyable is the attitude of the staff. Their demeanour, friendliness and assistance is first class. I especially appreciate the breakfast front counter staff who go out of their way to make me feel at home and generally set the rest of the day up to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ian P

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. The pool deck is fantastic and is a great way to spend some time relaxing. I greatly appreciate the comments in regards to our team who do a wonderful job in looking after our guests.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well located between the Esplanade and Mitchell Street. Highlight is the quality and dedication of the staff. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Excellent pool especially for lap swimming. Free undercover parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jeremy O

Thank you for your review and for your comments in regards to our wonderful team, who always do their best to look after our guests. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you find our rooms to be spacious and comfortable.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Room on first floor, poor noise insulation, breakfast sets up at 2am and is very noisy, could hear next door as though they were sharing my room. Lifts noisy and "ping" when they arrive at each level. Room was musky/smelly, spiders webs and dust in corners around back of toilets etc. Didn't like to walk on carpet without shoes. Shower curtain in shower, haven't seen one of them for years yuck. Overpriced I would say sub standard for 3* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J Mr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mark J Mr R

I appreciate your comments and thank you for submitting your review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for and that we have not met your expectations.

Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

paid over $350 and got very small room with no veiws, every thing was dated and expected bit more when paing top dollers and having the Hilton brand attached. Restaurant was ok but nothing special, will not stay here

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jess

Thank you for your review and I apologise that you did not enjoy your time at our hotel and that we did not meet your expectations. If I can ever be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before boarding the Ghan. We originally booked another hotel on the Great Southern Railways site but it was full so they booked us in here- without asking. The price was high- but I think this is par for the course in Darwin at this time of year.
When we arrived the receptionist was extremely friendly and nice. She told us they had given us a suite as it had a sea view. We got to our room to find that this was a bit of a misnomer.
The suite consisted of a small room with a window looking out to the hotel next door but it did have a door leading out onto a huge balcony overlooking the sea- that was good. Then there were a set a steep stairs up to the bedroom ( we couldn't get our bags up there). The bedroom had no windows at all!
The room was very dated. The carpet was stained badly, the chairs dirty and there was mould/damp in the walls around the stair case so the paper was lifting and blistered.
We asked if there was an alternative room but there was not and so we stayed put ( we only stayed one night)
Would I stay here again?- no. The situation is good but there must be better value hotels which are cleaner and more modernly furnished. It really needs a refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review Helen A. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our property is older and as a result of your feedback, the entire room has been repainted. On a positive note, I am pleased that you found our team to be friendly and helpful.

Once again, thank you. The team and I wish you safe travels and hope to be able to welcome you back to a Hilton Worldwide hotel one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turramurra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in dire need of refurbishment - at over $400 a night it is a disgrace. I got shifted from a "suite", a dark double storied monstrosity with peeling walls and holes in the walls and awful 70s bathroom and decor. The carpet was worn and again very old.

The telephone system had no directions as to how to call reception, when I worked it out to complain the manager did say that none of the hotel rooms had been refurbished. However she did take me to a standard room, again a room requiring a paint with lampshades falling apart and a badly made bed but at least this location had a bit more light.

DO NOT stay at this hotel. A $50 motel has more charm. Only thing going for it is the location on the esplanade.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank An38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments An38.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our property. Our painter is working his way through our rooms and re-painting them. Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#9 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minute drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a suite for stunning harbor views and a separate living area. Studio lofts are also available. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. Dine al fresco on the sun-soaked terrace of our poolside restaurant and bar, Aqua, where you can enjoy dishes prepared with Mediterranean and Territory influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing