We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel quite close to the Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This is a large, modern hotel that is located very close to the Darwin Harbour. Staff are friendly; bedrooms are good-sized; bathrooms large and well-appointed; comfortable beds. The hotel's front entrance faces the ocean, but the rear opens to a street with a number of restaurants, lounges, shops and a cinema. It is about a 15-minute ride from the airport; convenient shuttle buses are available than run to most of the major hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in March and had a pleasant enough stay. Rooms are motel style and the bathrooms are old fashioned. Location is very good with a 5-10 min walk to bars and restaurants. Checked out the hotel to stay in Kakadu for 1 night and was returing to Holiday Inn Esplanade for a further 3 nights. On arriving back to Darwin to check-in we were told a room was unavailable due to 20-30 rooms have maintenance issues. This is despite our rooms having been booked and paid for months in advance and us also being Priority Club members. We were advised we were being moved to another hotel outwith the main strip. The reception staff were very inexperienced and the front desk manager took over 45 mins to come and speak to us to discuss the hotel re-allocation. Not impressed with this hotel and won't be using this chain again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGWGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GagudjuDreaming, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin.

We are disappointed your initial positive experience was let down, we ensure you that through reviews such as yours we will endeavor to improve the quality of our service and standards to ensure all guests have a positive enjoyable stay.

Your feedback is shared with our entire hotel team so that we can aim higher.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin or the recently refurbished Holiday Inn Darwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

After all the dire reviews of the hardline check out policies at the airport hotels in Darwin, I called the Holiday Inn and asked for a day room. These were only available from 11am to 6pm, I was told. However, when I explained I was a Priority Club Gold Card holder the reservation agent conferred and let me have 09.30 check in, which was perfect. A$101 which beats hanging around the lame airport.

The hotel charges a ridiculous "merchant fee" on Visa and other credit card transactions which is absurd and even the receptionist told me she opposed them. Good high speed internet cable, though, in room and wireless for the public areas, but pricey at $28 for 24 hours. Very, very quiet room (one ending "39" on the far end of the east wing). Two double beds, bath and separate glass stalled shower. Tea and coffee facilities. The decor was very bland and soft on the eye, and the tiles in the bathroom were very 80s "Australian natural tones" but clean.

It's a $22 cab ride from the airport (20 minutes away). Watch for Jetstar's hardline check in cut off at the airport (1 hour for international flights!). The staff are friendly and there is a pool, but I simply sat and typed for four hours... so no chance to test out the other facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Amazingly enough, the weather in Darwin was fabulous for February, therefore many hours spent in the large crystal clear pool. The service was great, the location was perfect and the pool bar and cocktails were amazing. Just a few minutes walk to all the restaurants and cafes in Mitchell Street. The hotel itself is quite dated, but this added to its charm. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending it to anyone and will certainly come back year after year. Wait for a package deal, amazing value for money. This review is coming from a person who usually likes to stay at 5 star resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I travel to Darwin once a year and always choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Esplanade, not to be confused with the Holiday Inn next door.

The thing I like most about this property is its design. You can tell that it was built in the 80's as structurally not much has changed - which of course is good and bad. I yearn for the hotel to be restored to its former glory - the atrium lobby used to have vines cascading from the balconies above and the place had a general polish about it. This hotel has good bones and has the potential to become an Intercontinental which is the next level up from Holiday Inn. For now though its still a pleasant spot to stay and the pool is the best in Darwin.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Had a two night stay here, once again great service, the Breakfast staff have been working for years and it shows. Property is getting a bit old and really needs a refresh, however the location mean you dont really have much of a reson to be in the room apart from sleeping, with the part in fornt adjoining the harbour and the entertainment stip behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

comfortable hotel to stay in very friendly staff, great swimming pool, every thing you need in a hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank JillK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,069 reviews
1 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £72 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minutes drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing