We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H Hotel(Darwin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Resort Darwin(Darwin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveller rating
381
550
252
88
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
550
252
88
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treea harbour view roommitchell streetroom servicesmall balconyreception staffpool areaacross the roadwet seasontop endchecking inbit datedbuffet breakfastnice poolesplanadebalconieskakadu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stay here all the time, staff are always friendly, rooms are fresh and very comfortable. Food in room and restaurant are great. Great central location and views over Darwin are great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us again! We sincerely appreciate your comments. Let me know when you are next staying, would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Only stayed for 2 nights.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable in all areas. The pool area was great. Plenty of loungers and as many towels as you want.
The room was very well equipped with everything you would need for your stay. Unfortunately our rooms view was over the city and not the sea but thats the luck of the draw if you don't want to pay extra.
The hotel is at the end of the Esplanade just across from the sea. So you can walk along the top of the shore into town. A really nice walk and takes about 10 minutes or so. You could walk in the other direction for 5 min and visit Acquascene where you can feed sea fish daily. A must do for all ages!!!
The food in the hotel was excellent and reasonably priced.
Also special mention must be made of the staff who were great. Always helpful in giving directions and advice about local places to see.
In all we had a great stay! Thank you Holiday Inn:-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STY40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel well placed both in terms of accommodation and location.

Thank you for making special mention of the staff, I know they strive to make every guests stay memorable by providing genuine and friendly service. I’ll make sure they get to see your comments.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely recommend! Our room was not a harbour view room but we still had a lovely view of the ocean, gardens and city. The king size bed was super comfortable and pillows and linen clean and crisp. We found the reception staff to be always very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here next time in Darwin. The full length windows are really great and give wonderful panoramas of the city and ocean. It was also a very easy walk down to Mitchell St to the restaurants and bars so is a very convenient location. Top spot!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if possible to get great views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenacres61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending our hotel! Did you know that all Holiday Inn hotels now have crisp white linens and a selection of firm and soft pillows? Next time you stay at a Holiday Inn you can expect the same comfortable bed and pillows.

Thank you also for your comments to the staff, our colleagues genuinely enjoy helping our guests make the most of their stay in Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed in Darwin Holiday in for five days while on vacation with my family. Long story short, we would not stay there again. Price of room was high, room was not clean. Sheets and blankets were not clean, smelled and had numerous stains. Cups in room had mold in them and well as bathroom had mold in the tile. Made the mistake of dropping my wallet under the bed, pulled it out and had hair, dirt and garbage on it. My advice, stay in a fully furnished apartments. The are same cost but you get separate rooms, full kitchen and most have laundry. Also the intranet is very expensive and you cannot log out so once you start your hour you have to use it all or lose itl

Room Tip: Stay in apartments not hotels.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BESmith1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest

I was terribly disappointed to read your comments since your comments are far from the normal positive feedback that we regularly receive. I apologise that we did not provide the level of service that you should come to expect. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the matter further with you at a time convenient to you. I can be contacted at the hotel.


Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Arrived quite late but no issue and made to feel very welcome. Nice room with views very comfortable and excellent decor.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackayvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and pleased that were able to provide a better experience than the last accommodation you reviewed. Our staff really work hard at making our guests feel welcome.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Darwin again sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews