We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for 5 days in Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was our second stay in Darwin, this time we have chosen Double Tree instead of Crown Plaza before, which seemed somewhat out of date.

The Double Tree looks quite fresh, is perfectly situated in the little city-center. Nice and spacy rooms, good breakfast. Just the air-condition was too cold and not adjustable, this explained to us why we had big eiderdowns (feather-beds) on our beds, in 35°C Darwin :-)

Good view over the landscape.

In short: a good choice for 5 days in Darwin.

Room Tip: Better view from higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear bluemeli

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Darwin and your stay with us. Our Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast is a great way to start the day and our chef is always happy to make pancakes, omlettes and eggs to order. A nice way to start the day !

Thank you once again and the tem and I look forward to your return to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin one day soon.

Kine Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for three nights in November 2013, on arrival the cookie was a very nice touch, first person at reception I dealt with seemed to not care at all, second (a girl from NZ) was excellent and very friendly.

Rooms were nicely appointed, bed was comfortable and room was quiet at night with lovely city views.

Air cond was a bit noisy and the fan speed could not be adjusted from the panel. Discussed this with staff and they "fixed" it - not.
The air cond continued to run even in the "off" position which required a "fiddle" to get it to stop as it would cut in and out all night.

Hot water at night would sometimes take 5-6 minutes to actually get to the shower. That was a bit disappointing and it really never got hot enough - no cold water mixing was required.

Was there for business and the hotel fit the bill, close to the major shop/dining area.

Would I stay there again? Probably, yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Chris H

Thank you, your comments are greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel. As part of our guest bathroom refurbishment in January, we will be replacing all of the air conditioning units in each room. This will hopefully eliminate the issues that you mentioned.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were always told to say we stay at 122 Esplanade as they have a sister hotel by the same name at 166 Esplanade.
We stayed on the 8th floor and found the hotel room and the bathroom clean so we found it OK.
The air-conditioning fan made a slight noise all the time although it did not annoy us to much as we got used to it.
We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful so no problems there.
Disappointed with the business centre, 2 computers and no printer for printing any documents or info you require.
The hotel is very well situated close by to the centre which is only a few minutes walk.
I would not say this is up to the standard of the other Hilton hotels we have stayed at as you just get the basic hotel furnishings with no concierge or staff to help with your luggage on arriving or leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view room on the 8th floor, which was also quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear David M

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. Our business centre is equipped with a printer, and our IT Manager is currently checking its printing parameters to ensure that our guests are able to print small documents. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am sorry that you did not get to experience the service offered by our porters during your stay. They are available to assist you with your luggage and other requirements and are always happy to help. Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Basically a nice hotel that needs freshening up. good friendly staff, very good breakfast choices. well positioned close to city centre. nice views of the bay. unfortunately had a noisy air conditioner which kept my wife awake. be careful as two hotels next to each other with the same name.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our bathroom refurbishment will commence in January and I am sure you will agree, will make a great impact on the overall guest room experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast and the service extended to you by the team.

Thank you once again and the team and I look forward to your return on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This lovely, clean, easy going Hilton Hotel is super! there are only 34 hotels in Darwin.
This and it's 'sister hotel' at 112 are all you would or could want. Special requests met with ease. Delightful staff......magnificent views........i had never been to the Northern Territory before, am now going again.

Room Tip: Had room on 10th floor......great.......offers superb views of the ever changing Darwin Harbour. Wea...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbella29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Campbella29

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience at our hotel - I am glad you enjoyed your stay ! The views from our 10th floor balconies are superb. I hope that you got to see some of our magnificent sunsets over the water. Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin and remember to make your next reservation on Doubletree.com for our best rates guaranteed.
We hope to see you again when you next travel to the Top End.
Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The recently rebranded Doubletree by Hilton remains a consistent hotel - not remarkable, but comfortable, efficient, friendly and well located. It took two requests to get a port-a-cot brought up to the room, but once it arrived the staff were most apologetic about the delay. Better value in the wet season - and a great harbour view to watch the storms rolling in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank DI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Di L

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Territory. Now is the time of year to enjoy watching the amazing storms that roll in across the harbour from you balcony. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Darwin. Remember to access our best rates guaranteed, to visit doubletree.com to make your reservation.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

very nice hotel and the staff were very helpful but the bathroom was mouldy and the toilet system was very old needs a new one. the room was nice and and the bed was very comfortable the pillows were uncomfortable all soft ones. loved the balcony great view of the pool and the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Sharon H
Thank you for your review. Our bathrooms are being renovated commencing in January and I am sure you will agree will make a big difference to the overall guest experience. I am pleased that your stay was as an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again when you next travel to Darwin.
Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing