We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay of 6 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business stay of 6 nights”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel was under going renovation - it should not have been open to guests. Problems included - vibration and noise - making it impossible to speak let alone work Safe didn't work TV didn't work for two days Door key kept failing Room not made up power and water off at 7.00 in morning meaning only water for completing shower was in kettle No hot water on another day

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your comments Martyn D

I am sorry that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Part of our bathroom renovation process is to change over the water valves throughout the hotel. This has occurred for 2 hours between the hours 10.30 - 12.30. While we did notify all of our guests, I do apologise for the inconvenience that this caused you during your stay.

I dop hope that you will visit us once again and allow us the opportunity to make things right for you.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    504
    236
    79
    35
See reviews for
190
436
74
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Would certainly recommend under normal circumstances, but must first check if noisy hotel refurbishment is finished. Construction 8am to 6pm including jackhammers including Sat and Sun. Bathroom was to a very good standard but room and hotel was musty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mark M

Thank you for your comments about our new bathrooms - I am glad you enjoyed them ! All guest rooms have also had a new air conditioning systems installed along with IPTV which will be activated in May.

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is going through renovations and if you stay there and are in the room in the daytime between 8am and 6pm the noise is deafining. Other than the hotel is clean and seems to be have renovated on floor 10 but alas no work done in the corridors and also outside. Good view if you have a room overlooking the sea

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Mark C

Thank you for your comments and I do apologise for the noise that you encountered due to our bathroom renovations. I hope that you did however enjoy the new bathroom. We are currently exploring some colour and lighting options for our corridors in an effort to also lift this part of our hotel.

Thank you once again and the team and I hope to see you on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel with nice staff, and the location is great. I enjoyed my stay and can recommend the hotel for comfort and quiet. The bed was very comfortable; I had the best sleep. Handy to everything, just a stroll up the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Maikzone

It is wonderful to see that your stay was such an enjoyable one. Our location is a great one, close to the city centre, yet have amazing views of the harbour and the Bicentennial Park directly opposite the hotel.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Ever dependable, friendly staff and a great spot. Nice rooms with harbour and/or city views. About a ten minute work to the city centre There was extensive renovations ongoing at the hotel when I stayed and the entire city suffered a power failure. Lucky the hotel had a back up generator (not all did)…..a true survivor…Recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review Charles F, it is greatly appreciated.

Our team do a fantastic job and I am glad that you were happy with the service that we extended to you. Our emergency systems were put to the test recently with the power outage to the Darwin District and it was pleasing to see that there was minimal disruption for our guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin in the near future.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is an old hotel away from the main Street. Currently undergoing a makeover. Renovations began at 6.30am until 6pm (including jackhammers) and this was not displayed on the website when I made my booking. The room was comfortable, some have updated bathrooms. I found the staff friendly. The breakfast offered many choices and fresh fruit to make your own juice was a nice touch. Excellent view from my room on the 8th floor. I'd wait until the reno's are finished before I would contemplate staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Shirleen M

I am pleased that you enjoyed the service extended to you by the team and our Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast. I am sorry that the noise from our bathroom renovations impacted your stay with us. They will be finished shortly. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us once again and experience our new bathrooms.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great hotel in Mitchell Street. Close to restaurants and bars. There's a pool that is fine for a relaxing dip. Nothing too fancy - the usual hotel pool area.
The staff are attentive and were outstanding during the power failure that stopped Darwin in its tracks. Thank you!
I haven't tried anything other than room service and the food was fine. A bit of limited menu BUT the lovely staff sent a letter to my room asking me if I had any special requests menu wise to make my long (3 weeks+) more comfortable. How lovely.
The bed is comfortable, the room very clean and the bathroom is great!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Mauzie2

I was delighted to see that your stay was such an enjoyable one. Thank you for comending our team for the way that they handled the power failure that affected the Darwin district recently, it was a frustrtaing time for our guests and thank you for your understanding.

Mauzie2, thank you once again for your comments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.6 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing