We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something of a curate's egg, so actually quite difficult to grade.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Something of a curate's egg, so actually quite difficult to grade.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are some very good things about this hotel, starting with the excellent location: towards the end of The Esplanade, but within easy walking distance of the sometimes riotous Mitchell Street.

The staff were universally friendly and the hotel offers free parking. The breakfasts were very good; our experience was that in spite of breakfast starting at 0300, at 0830 was still fresh. The poolside area was attractive to sit outside during breakfast. This led to one of the puzzling features: on one evening we would have been happy to have had a burger and bottle of wine at the poolside. But after 1800 we could only have a burger in our room, the evening menu consisted only of full meals which we didn't want, nor did we want to eat in our room, so the hotel lost our business.

The hotel is in a triangular shape, with the lifts in the middle. I suspect that quite a few rooms therefore suffer from noise, but those in the X13, X14, X15 and X16 range don't. The room was good, with a comfortable bed and well-equipped bathroom. The sea view was excellent.

All Hiltons get downgraded by me because of the absurdly high charges for in-room wifi, but vouchers for use in the lobby (for a limited time) are free. This reminds one of how little space is given over to public areas.

The carpets on the accommodation floors are a disgrace, faded and stained, and these institutional corridors badly need redecorating. The vacuum cleaner reported by other members still sits on a corridor floor, together with uncleared trays and - dangerously - glasses.

My view is also coloured by the fact that very naughtily the hotel tried to persuade me that I needed to pay for four nights to get the three nights that we wanted, as there was a car rally taking place in Darwin. The suggested booking would have contravened Hilton's own terms and would have been cancelled on the first night as a no show, with no refund! Exactly what I wanted was available on the hotel's website, so we obviously booked that instead.

On balance the hotel just creeps into the very good category; we would stay there again, but could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review Sarum_Castle.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and beverage experience with us. I note your comments about dining outside on the Deck and will remind our team that our guests are free to enjoy their meal with us in this location regardless of where the menu item appears.

Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property.

Thank you once again. We do trust that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again when you are next in the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    480
    221
    71
    31
See reviews for
176
411
66
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The new bathrooms are excellent and the harbour view rooms, especially from the upper floors, are great. The front desk staff are friendly and expert.
But there are kitchen/dining problems. Almost all staff are young Asian migrants whose knowledge of English is not the best. And the left hand sometimes doesn't know what the right hand is doing. Several of our group ordered a la carte breakfasts rather than the (very good) buffet -- and were still waiting 45min later. We pointed this out and were served immediately, suggesting the meals had been cooked, but not served, for some time (they were not hot). One of us got fried eggs instead of the poached eggs she had ordered, then on the way out saw the plate of poached eggs sitting waiting to be delivered.
The big basket of cutlery near the coffee machine seemed to come and go, so some days we had to "borrow" an extra knife from a set table.
The tractor toaster disappeared on our last day, to be replaced by two "domestic" toasters, of which the four-slice machine was missing knobs on the levers, making it hard to operate.
Yes, all hotels have problems of one sort or another. This one had problems when it was a Holiday Inn, and before that a TraveLodge. But we travellers do need to point them out.
Would we stay there again? Of course. It's a 10min walk into the CBD, the views are magnificent. If they could just fix the kitchen .....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Swaggie

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased that you liked our new bathrooms as much as we do and enjoyed the magnificent views of the harbour. I note your comments in regards to your breakfast experience and we will address this with immediate effect with the team.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms were great. The food was really good. The swimming pool a little cold. Service excellent. Location really good. Internet a little complicated to use.
Views wonderful.
All in all great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your review Glen. It is great to see that you had such a great time at our hotel. We hope to see you again with us soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Was very impressed with the service and the room. The halls needed updating but the room was superb. We had stayed at the Mantra and for the money, it was a big disappointment. So it was refreshing to be greeted by friendly staff and a warm cookie on arrival a the Double tree. Free internet would have topped it off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ian L

I am delighted that your experience with us was such a wonderful one. Thank you for recognising our friendly team. Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

An unfortunate dud in an otherwise long and very enjoyable experience with this building/ hotel. Staff with looks on their faces which would curdle milk at 20 metres set the scene. i felt like a character in one of the sadder Dostoyevsky novels set in a the Gulag somewhere. An inhouse movie system which let us down and staff which pretended the problem would be only temporary and fixed "in a few minutes".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andrew S

I am very sorry and disappointed to hear of your experience over the weekend and that it has tainted your opinion of the hotel after such a long association with both the team and property. I believe that Nathan our Front Office Manager has been in contact with you to discuss your experience.

We apologise once again and hope to see you once again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff were very obliging, room rates for Darwin are on par for quality. The location is very good and within close vicinity to city and restaurants if you wish to dine elsewhere. Meals were expensive especially the breakfast menu and that the quality was average. Check out the beer in the fridge before drinking as I had one Crown Lager that had been refilled with water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank for your comments Kym P

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and enjoyed your interactions with the team. I note your comments in regards to your mini bar and will pass on your feedback to ensure that more comprehensive checks are in place.

Thank you once again and we hope that you return to us on your next trip to the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple in May 2014
Great location, short walk to the centre
Spacious and clean rooms and a good check in/out.
Certain areas could do with updating.
Lovely pool area.
Great bar.
Staff helpful.
A very pleasant experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your comments Alisa G. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that your interactions with our team where helpful.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing