We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 1010”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 9 July 2014

water pressure very poor when using shower it would reduce to a dribble. this was a major issue for my partner and a negative feel to an otherwise comfortable stay. Breakfast: We had breakfast in both double tree hotels and found a remarkable improvement in 117 as to 122. The Breakfast at 122 were cold and tough. The Breakfast at 117 were as expected

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Andrew H.

Thank you for your comments and for bringing these items to my attention. I have shared your feedback with our Maintenance Manager and Executive Chef for their immediate attention.

I trust your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again when you are next in Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal location to main cbd. Average rooms and service for a Large hotel. A few mix ups at the resteraunt that were handled well by manager after a complaint, good breakfast but as good cheaper up the Main Street. Please tell me why I can get free Wifi at Maccas and at the Hilton it's $30 a day????
Two hiltons nearly along side each other with the same name is also confusing when ordering taxis or pick ups. Local drivers sure didn't fond it easy to no which one they were suppose to be at.
Rooms were ok and was a quite and secure location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Andrew E

Thank you for your comments and I tust that you did enjoy your stay with us. Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property.

I do understand your frustration of having the two DoubleTree by Hilton hotels side by side, we have changed our confirmation emails along with conducting an education process for the local taxi drivers to assisting overcoming this issue.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Tasteful modern rooms, very clean, modern bathroom. King Balconey rooms suit siingle business traveller with well lit bathroom and magnifying mirror, desk with high speed internet and multiple power sockets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments Amy T.

It is wonderful to see that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Our hotel is perfectly set up for the business traveller and our new bathrooms really do enhance our rooms.

Thank you once again. The team and I hope to see you when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for the v8 supercars in june. The room was comfortable, and the bathroom had been upgraded. The view was ok from the top floor, but could not sit outside as the balcony was too small. The housekeeping was terrible, some days they missed even though we were out all day. Did complain and the front desk was very apoligetic. Our room door was left open and the room was not cleaned at 1pm after I had requested our room be serviced in the morning. Was very angry as the security is obviously not a priority for the housekeeping staff. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Rose G

Thank you for your comments and please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered with Housekeeping during your time with us. I have addressed both of your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper and we will re-train all of our housekeeping team with immediate effect.

If we can convince you to return to our hotel, we would relish the opportunity to make things right for you. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

good location, room was updated and beautiful, staff were very friendly and helpful. overall a very good experience. Loved Darwin. Would recommend going to Darwin and staying at the Doubletree. Best time of year to go is during winter. The hotel is only 10 min walk to the heart of Mitchell st where all the action happens. 10 mins by cab to the casino and Mindle market.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Lydia F

It is very pleasing to see that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed our brand new bathrooms.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are some very good things about this hotel, starting with the excellent location: towards the end of The Esplanade, but within easy walking distance of the sometimes riotous Mitchell Street.

The staff were universally friendly and the hotel offers free parking. The breakfasts were very good; our experience was that in spite of breakfast starting at 0300, at 0830 was still fresh. The poolside area was attractive to sit outside during breakfast. This led to one of the puzzling features: on one evening we would have been happy to have had a burger and bottle of wine at the poolside. But after 1800 we could only have a burger in our room, the evening menu consisted only of full meals which we didn't want, nor did we want to eat in our room, so the hotel lost our business.

The hotel is in a triangular shape, with the lifts in the middle. I suspect that quite a few rooms therefore suffer from noise, but those in the X13, X14, X15 and X16 range don't. The room was good, with a comfortable bed and well-equipped bathroom. The sea view was excellent.

All Hiltons get downgraded by me because of the absurdly high charges for in-room wifi, but vouchers for use in the lobby (for a limited time) are free. This reminds one of how little space is given over to public areas.

The carpets on the accommodation floors are a disgrace, faded and stained, and these institutional corridors badly need redecorating. The vacuum cleaner reported by other members still sits on a corridor floor, together with uncleared trays and - dangerously - glasses.

My view is also coloured by the fact that very naughtily the hotel tried to persuade me that I needed to pay for four nights to get the three nights that we wanted, as there was a car rally taking place in Darwin. The suggested booking would have contravened Hilton's own terms and would have been cancelled on the first night as a no show, with no refund! Exactly what I wanted was available on the hotel's website, so we obviously booked that instead.

On balance the hotel just creeps into the very good category; we would stay there again, but could be so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your review Sarum_Castle.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and beverage experience with us. I note your comments about dining outside on the Deck and will remind our team that our guests are free to enjoy their meal with us in this location regardless of where the menu item appears.

Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property.

Thank you once again. We do trust that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again when you are next in the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The new bathrooms are excellent and the harbour view rooms, especially from the upper floors, are great. The front desk staff are friendly and expert.
But there are kitchen/dining problems. Almost all staff are young Asian migrants whose knowledge of English is not the best. And the left hand sometimes doesn't know what the right hand is doing. Several of our group ordered a la carte breakfasts rather than the (very good) buffet -- and were still waiting 45min later. We pointed this out and were served immediately, suggesting the meals had been cooked, but not served, for some time (they were not hot). One of us got fried eggs instead of the poached eggs she had ordered, then on the way out saw the plate of poached eggs sitting waiting to be delivered.
The big basket of cutlery near the coffee machine seemed to come and go, so some days we had to "borrow" an extra knife from a set table.
The tractor toaster disappeared on our last day, to be replaced by two "domestic" toasters, of which the four-slice machine was missing knobs on the levers, making it hard to operate.
Yes, all hotels have problems of one sort or another. This one had problems when it was a Holiday Inn, and before that a TraveLodge. But we travellers do need to point them out.
Would we stay there again? Of course. It's a 10min walk into the CBD, the views are magnificent. If they could just fix the kitchen .....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Swaggie

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased that you liked our new bathrooms as much as we do and enjoyed the magnificent views of the harbour. I note your comments in regards to your breakfast experience and we will address this with immediate effect with the team.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing