We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
QLD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Double Tree Hilton is a very good business and/or family hotel. It is well situated on the Darwin Esplande, has a good size pool, rooms are adequate but not on the generous side. The restaurant serves well priced meals and staff service is attentive and out to please. It is moderately priced in what is an expensive accommodation town. Would recommend to solo or family travellers

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank HoratioQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review HoratioQld.

It is very pleasing to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that in particular you enjoyed the service that you experienced in Poolside Restaurant. I will be certain to pass on your comments to the team.

Thank you once again, the team an I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin on your next visit to the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    475
    219
    71
    31
See reviews for
174
407
65
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A nice hotel. Room was good, clean and spacious, and so were the service, the breakfast and the people. The location in Darwin is very good, facing the sea and near the Center. We recommend.
One comment: In 2014 it is already unbecoming to charge for using wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Niv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Niv A

It is great to see that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one and it is pleasing to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at the hotel.

Thank you once again. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again at a Hilton Worldwide Hotel one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Due to lack of rooms, I had to originally book into 3 different hotels for the 4 nights stay. When I explained to the Reception staff they worked hard to arrange things so I could the 4 nights in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear John D

Thank you for your review. The team at the Front Desk were happy to be able to assist you during your stay with us and I am pleased that they contributed in making your stay with us an enjoyable one.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcomig you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff are so friendly and the rooms are well appointed. It's the small things such as a warm cookie on arrival, juicer at breakfast and complimentary water in the room that make the difference when your away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kirsten C

I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. It is the little things that make the difference and I am happy that you enjoyed the special touches that we offer our guests.

We do hope to see you again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at this place July 2014 as corporate group of 15, and had to connect to their wifi.
What a mistake that was. The con was "do you want to speed up your internet"
I clicked yes only to find these money hungry wanted to charge me another $100 for 24hours.
When I called reception thy told me I would have to call their internet service provider and be on hold for 30 minute. My contract of sale for this service was between me and hilton,
Not good.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Brett L

Thank you for your comments in regards to WiFi. Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property.

I trust the remainder of your stay was an enjoyable one and we do hope that you choose to stay with us once again.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight during Darwin's busy Dry season period.
Upon check in we were immediately recognised for our Diamond Hilton Honours membership and offered the top floor ocean view suite. While the room was finalised, we were provided with drinks vouchers and a seat at the bar, and our luggage taken straight upstairs.
The room itself was lovely and spacious with superb views over Darwin Harbour. This hotel actually survived Cyclone Tracy so it is rather special... Recent upgrades have given it new life.
Our only criticism of our stay was the poor room service... A 45 minute wait - with two follow up phone calls - for a bowl of hot chips is beyond ridiculous... No apology offered when the chips finally arrived. This has been passed to Management by way of comment card... Big let down for this chain hotel.
On a positive final note, it is the front desk staff at this hotel that will have you coming back... Much friendlier and more professional than the sister Doubletree hotel next door and the Hilton down the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear NikolaGuy

I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. I do apologise for the issue that you encountered with the delay in your room service and the way that our team handled the situation. I will share your comments with the team for improvement.

Thank you for recognising the service extended to you by our Front Desk team, they do a fantastic job and it is always nice when a guest takes the time to pass on positive comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is opposite the water with beautiful park all along the foreshore. The pool area is tucked behind the building and is sunny, quiet and a great place to cool off and relax. The ocean view rooms are clean and the beds large and comfortable.We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank suzziewoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback suzziewoozie.

It is great to see that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one and we look forward to you returning to us soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing