We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DARWIN TRIP 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DARWIN TRIP 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our stay at Double Tree Hilton Darwin was a very pleasant experience. The staff were excellent, always helpful and friendly. Meals at Double Tree Darwin were always of a high standard. This Hotel is within easy walking distance of all of the city area and wharf precinct and the views from our room of the busy harbour and the continual activity occurring there added greatly to the occasion. All in all a great holiday for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your post Clive M

I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one across all aspects of the hotel. Our new menus are being very well received and I am pleased that you found the meals served by our kitchen team to be of high quality - I will certainly pass on your feedback to them.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in sunny Darwin one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    480
    221
    71
    31
See reviews for
176
411
66
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

There are two Double Trees - our was 122 The Esplanade. We had a great view of the harbor. Our room felt fresh and as if it has recently been renovated. It was a very pleasant walk into town along the esplanade. It was in a very quite location - we had a great nights sleep. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hoopersville

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your guest room with harbour views and the service extended to you by the team.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tired, grubby corridors but room was OK. Pool OK but freezing cold. Needs a bit of a tidy up and I am surprised by its star rating. Be aware that there are two Double Trees on the Esplanade and one looks much nicer than this one. Was ok but expensive for what it is. Would have no reason to stay there again or recommend it for any particular reason. Was more than Hilton, which was better.

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton or go to the other Double Tree site a few doors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review Chris B.

I am sorry that your stay was not what you were hoping for and sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good and central location on the esplanade, efficient and friendly front desk staff. Needs some serious attention on the restaurant and guest room corridors, cleanliness and condition is poor. Housekeeping service was very poor too, they left our door ajar after they left cleaning the room with servicing the bathroom. Good set up in lobby for wifi access and computer access, bar staff very nice and friendly however drinks pricing. Gym is next door in the other Doubletree so maybe try that one next.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seekerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear seekerSanFranciso

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary Wifi access in our lobby and business centre and the service offered by our team. I apologise for the issue that you encountered with housekeeping and I will address this as a timely reminder with our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again at a Hilton Worldwide hotel one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is a nice hotel to stay in Darwin; i was initially disappointed when I saw the hotel because it looked like it needed a huge renovation, But do NOT be deceived by the aging corridors and the small reception area- the most important thing is the room and it was immaculate. Exactly as advertised in the website. The room (including bathroom) looked very clean and smelled fresh (loved the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries); it made me wish I spent more time in my hotel room and just laze the day away. But, I was a girl with a mission so unfortunately I spent most of my time outdoors. Staff are polite, and most of all accommodating- especially Tye from reception (if you ever need anything, he's your guy); if you require help with anything even if it's urgent- just ask and the reception staff pretty much do the rest. Check-in was lightning fast, and the cookie was a nice touch especially since I spent more than 7 hours travelling and beginning to experience the hunger pains =) Breakfast was nice, it was delicious, a decent selection but it's not vast so some people might find it limited, but for $20 I find this more than reasonable as a good breakfast outside the hotel is around $15, but at the Hilton it's all you can eat- so you are guaranteed to be full. Overall, I enjoyed my first stay with a Hilton and partner hotel (The Double Tree Darwin); will have no qualms staying here again or recommending this hotel. But i might check out the other Double Tree hotel which is next door (Double Tree Esplanade), some other time or the actual Hilton just for the experience; as I'm pretty confident now with the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed post Maria D.

I am delighted that your stay at our hotel was such an enjoyable one and I will be certain to pass on your sentiments to Tye and the rest of the team. I am glad that you you were able to experience our Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast - it is a great way to start the day.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your return visit. Remember to access our best rates guaranteed to visit doubletree.com

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A lovely room with a lovely view of Darwin Harbour. Helpful staff at Reception and on the cleaning team. Breakfast by the pool gives a really tropical start to the day. The balconies are tiny but at least one can open the door and get fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review Wendy W. I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Poolside restaurant enjoys a wonderful tropical, resort ambience, and is a great spot to start the day with our Wake Up by DoubleTree by Hilton breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to ee youon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Double Tree by Hilton Darwin, not to be confused with the DT by H Esplanade which is next door. Stayed in a Double Double Guest Room - shared with a family member - huge room with 2 double beds. Modern, clean, great service. We arrived late from the Ghan train and left early the next morning on a Kakadu tour - too early for the dining room to open on a saturday, but a phone call to room service and an early breakfast delivered to our room was organised and arrived right on time. Reception was always helpful and staff very friendly. Booked on line, not knowing what we were in for, but exceeded our expectations. Very central - 1 street away from main street and it was very pleasant walking in the large park fronting the harbour across the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Heather W

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Our team are always happy to assist and it is wonderful to see that they contributed to exceeding your expectations of your hotel stay.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you on your next trip to the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing