We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look around first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Look around first”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well, such a change from a year ago. We stayed and loved it last year, but we have returned, expecting the same high quality service and got nothing like it. Dirty, dusty, rude staff, nobody was any sort of help! I asked to speak with the manager and he wasn't helpful either - I felt like a problem!!!
I really hope that Discovery pick up their game, I won't be suggesting this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HappyTravels_7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss any elements of your stay further please do not hesitate to contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    39
    17
    21
    34
See reviews for
22
76
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miners Rest, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for two weeks only because we had already paid, and no refund policy we had no choice but to grin and bear it. The only thing going for this park is it is the closest one to Darwin and has a bus stop just out the front.
Now for the bad things, the facilities were disgusting some day barely clean on others, toilets often ran out of paper and some don't flush, dust encased on top of paper dispenses had to have been there for ages, the showers were luke warm at best and the walls of showers had soap scum all over walls, out of seven showers only one had a soap holder, others were missing hangers.
The worst was the dump point in the shower and laundry block were you had to walk through an area where the cartridges were washed out, how discussing.
As for the orange industrial, these on there own made the park look like an industrial site, there should be smaller separate bins at the end of each row, also there were only 2 BBQ's for over 300 sites.
The office staff were very helpful but other staff were very unfriendly, this park looks very good from the road but once you get into it you are in for a rude shock, and at $43 per day I expect much better, if this is Top Tourist they should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raywyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi Raywyn F, thank you for your post and taking the time to provide with your feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss any of these matters further please feel free to contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Discovery park from the 24th July to 31st July. There were 2 sources of noise the first being from the "show" people working at the Darwin show right next door. We were never warned abut this when making our booking and the noise raged from 10 am to 11 pm for 3 days in a row followed up by 2 days of packing up. We had to go out all day and evening to get away from it. Next to that our end of the park looked like a refugee camp due to most of the show people also staying in the park which also made the toilet block disgraceful. Once you finally got to sleep the 5.40 am jet taking off every morning flies straight over the front of the park, followed by the 6.30 and another one after 7 am every morning, there are no curfews in Darwin for aircraft. I am a Discovery Park member and am so disgusted by the lack of communication. So the outcome of this is simple if you plan to visit Darwin in late July of any year don't stay at this park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brewster1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi Brewster1253, thanks for your post. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some elements of your stay. We value your feedback and your comments have been passed on to the team who will look into ways of combating the issues you mentioned. If you would like to discuss anything further please feel free to email us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed atthe Discovery Caravan Park for five nights and were very. Disapointed qith the experience. Our powered site was dusty with no grass at all to keep the dirt out of the van. Sites are small and during the hot nights when everyone has their van windows wide open we could all here each others conversations or TV's. the dump point in in a single toilet on the outside of the amenities block. When people emptied their 'toilets' they then washed them out on the concrete path that everyone had to walk along to leave the amenity block. Their is very poor circulation in the shower/toilet block and after a few people used the toilets in the morning the smell was not nice, a couple of ceiling fans or something similar could make all the difference. Overall the park is too big and too crowded and we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013wardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi 2013wardle, thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are sorry top hear that elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. We value all feedback provided on our parks and use it to continue to develop and improve on the products and services we deliver. If you would like to discuss your stay with us further please feel free to email us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The park is close to a bus stop and it costs $1 for a senior for the trip into the CBD. As long as you come back within 3 hours the return trip is included.
The staff are very nice but we had trouble with one of the longterm residents. Quiet time is 9pm and one lot were still noisy at 11.30 pm. I asked them to quieten down and reported them to the office. In all the parks we have stayed around Australia, we have never come across such inconsiderate people.
The park is clean and shady but because it is close to the highway and airport some problems are there, not suitable for some people.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hi ozpammy, thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Park is dusty, sites are not grassed. Difficult to access sites and they are small, I struggled to fit van awning and vehicle on site. Went into shower and the hot water would not work, only four bins in park for 300 sites and when these are being emptied, none. Staff shouted at me! The noise of the airport and RAAF jets is considerable. Not a family friendly park. Facilities are cleaned early at 9.00am. I expect a little better for $45 per night and most of these things are easily fixed.

Room Tip: Have a look round for a good site before staying, the sites vary in size and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmcclimont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value your feedback and you can be assured that we will be following up on your comments with our team. Please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au should you wish to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed for 2 weeks there, where I arrived in Darwin, the time to find a place to stay. The first thing who surprised me was no unpowered site, so we took with power. But we saw there were some unpowered, so we asked to move there. Apparently, they didn't gave us one because was full booked. Not really. But anyway... We moved on an unpowered site, with no grass at all, lot of dust, and people crossing our site to go to the kitchen (by the way, this one is disgusting, the table stayed dirty for fews days, until I decide to clean one. Also, the toasters are working sometimes, at the beginning we had many stoves, at the end, none were working)! The unpowereds sites are really strange. For some of them, you can't reach them with your car, because they are on the middle of some others.
The pool is also not really clean... It s better to drive one hour to go to Litchfield National Park!
The location is really bad, so close to the airport, and at this time were some supersonics planes added to the takes off of the commercials flights. Also, a wrecker just next door gave us lot of dust and noise!
The staff is not one of the best I saw in Australia. Housekeeper who don't want to give back what they found, maintenance guys who don't say hello,... And this was not only my opinion, we shared this with some mates around the caravan park.
So actually the only good thing on this caravan park, is the bus stop on the road. And was the raison for we stayed there. And for $40 per night!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fivou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
2.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#19 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
5.2 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
1.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Darwin

Property: Discovery Parks - Darwin
Address: 11 Farrell Crescent, Darwin, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical oasis just waiting for you, only 10 minutes from the heart of paradise - that's Discovery Parks - Darwin. This is the closest park to Darwin City and an essential destination during your Top End adventure.Situated in lush, tropical landscaped gardens and giant shady trees, our park offers ample and spacious accommodation. Choose from a studio, cabin or villa, as well as powered or un-powered sites ideal for holidaymakers or workers alike. If you are a contractor looking for short or long-term accommodation requirements, we can certainly help.You'll love the range of facilities, including the convenience of a full laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers, the spotlessly clean amenities and fantastic BBQ area. Indulge yourself - relax in a sun lounge before taking a dip in our sparkling pool. There's easy internet access from the kiosk and lounge area and ample parking.We pride ourselves on providing customer service which is second to none, including the benefits of local knowledge. There are so many things to see and do, you'll be spoilt for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing