We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on a work trip before a flight out the next day. I was in a "superior queen" room. The decor and furniture were very dated and worn out, the bathroom pipes were very noisy, both from my room and the one above me. It was noisy in general, with people wheeling their luggage up and down the stairs at all hours. I wouldn't choose to stay here again, it may be convenient but for the same price you could get something much nicer in town. If you have more than 12 hours layover, head elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. Our guest's feedback plays an important role in improving our facilities and service in the future.
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept my apology that your recent stay was impacted by other guest's noise and movements throughout the resort.
If you are in Darwin again, please feel free to contact me for the opportunity to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business.
A good place to stay as it is close to the airport. Free shuttle bus takes two minutes. The room was basic but clean. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, which is handy. Breakfast is buffet style with a decent amount of choices. An open air reception with views of the swimming pool greet you on arrival.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
All the rooms have a small balcony and two chairs and a table. A/C in the room together with a ceiling fan.
Some noise can be heard from the airport occasionally, but it is not obtrusive.
Lancashireman.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you have to carry luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. Your feedback is an important tool in ensuring high standards of service.
It's great to hear that the room and facilities were adequate for your requirements and you enjoyed the received appropriate service from our staff.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for less than 24 hours due to having a flight the next day. I was accomidated through jetstar. This place was ok to refresh yourself, I did have the free shuttle bus to there but it is an easy 10-15min walk if tou arn't carrying anything too heavy. I was dissapointed the fact that I was accomidated in an upstairs room and I was carrying heavy lauggage and they had no lifts or easy access for those who have heavy lauggage on which I had to carry myself. Room was average. Resturant food was expensive although jetstar paid for it, I was still served cold pasta and not made fresh. Wouldn't recommend staying here if you are staying more than 48 hours.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank marnz_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your time taken to review Rydges Darwin Airport Resort is greatly appreciated. Your feedback plays an important role in improving our facilities and services for the future.
I sincerely apologise for your room allocation and I have passed this onto the Front Office Manager. As we do not offer a porter service, our driver is happy to assist in bringing bags to rooms when required.
Thank you, again, for your feedback and if you are passing through Darwin again, feel free to contact me as I would appreciate the opportunity to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Room was clean and well presented with a great self contained kitchen area.Great setting with a lovely pool. Laundry facilities were great. Only negative the standard double bed, was tiny so not my 1st bedding choice. All the weekend staff were very friendly and helpful. Good selection with food, walking distance to airport. Shuttle bus also avaliable which does do a trip into city, as taxi fare into city was $25 one way.

Room Tip: For a longer stay or a more spacious room, the kitchenette was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. Our guest feedback is necessary to rectify any issues for the future.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to utilise a variety of our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Airport resort is a short 5 minute walk from the terminal, although they do offer a shuttle bus.
The rooms are clean, neat and suitable for either overnight (business room) or several days (cabins). Given their location to the airport they are very quiet for an overnight stay.

Darwin has a large number of late night and early morning departures so it makes wonderful sense to use this hotel for this purpose.

Unfortunately due to its popularity and the large number of events in Darwin during the dry season (May to November) the room price skyrockets to a level that puts it out of reach for some in particular locals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I appreciate you taking time out to review Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. Our guest's feedback plays an important role in continuing to provide quality service.
It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and utilised our facilities. During our peak season, June-September, high demand drives our rates up, however outside of these months, there will be better deals to be found in the market.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We had come to the end of our memorable Darwin Holiday staying at Darwin Waterfront Luxury Suites (refer my review) when our flight was delayed due to the Indonesian volcanic eruption (we weren't upset at all to have to stay another day on holiday in Darwin!!). After considering our options we decided to try the Rydges Resort which proved to be a perfect choice. We chilled out in the fantastic pool, relaxed watching the footy with a few cold bevvies, something to eat (I recommend the Chinese over the road at the Hotel that offers great food at reasonable prices) and had a great nights sleep before an easy & enjoyable 5 minute walk to the airport to catch the plane home.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. The time taken to write your review is greatly appreciated as it is necessary to ensure continuous friendly and efficient service.
I'm glad some positives came from your flight disruption and you enjoyed your time at the resort.
Although the airport is only 350 metres away, we do have a 24-hour, on-demand courtesy shuttle to take guests to and from the airport and the airport precinct.
We hope you can enjoy our facilities again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for a 6 hour sleepover between flights in and out of Darwin (arriving at 1am). Reception staff were friendly and checked me in quickly.
There is an on-demand shuttle to and from the airport which is really handy.
Bed was comfy and room was clean. A little bit noisy at odd hours of the night (people and luggage up and down corridors) as expected being an airport hotel.
Didn't have a meal there or use the facilities, but the pool looked nice!
Would stay there again on a future stopover if needed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Q8684ZYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Mercure Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing our property in regards to your recent stay. Our guest feedback is a key tool in ensuring a consistent standard of service to our guests.
The complimentary, on-demand airport shuttle running 24-hours is one of the must-haves for guests in transit and I'm glad you were able to utilise this service.
Again, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#21 of 36 in Darwin
368 reviews
4.8 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,069 reviews
4.4 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.9 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darwin Airport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darwin Airport Resort

Address: 1 Sir Norman Brearley Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darwin Airport Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort is located only 350 meters from Darwin International airport, this oasis is the perfect place to relax and offers a variety of different accommodation styles, whether for holiday makers or business guests. Enjoy the tropical landscaping, swimming pool, or even a refreshing drink at the pool bar before tasting the gourmet delights at Essence Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Darwin Airport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel Marrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing