We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nice location, basic two bedroom unit definitely not four star, over priced, I think your paying for the location, stayed five days, on first day reported fox movies not working, reception said they would pass it on to maintenance, didn't seem to get done never had movies for the five days, also went looking for the BBQ, when we found it, there was food & grease all over it, never got cleaned during our stay

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed 9 nights and only saw housekeeping on day 2. I would have thought every 2nd or 3rd day would be the norm but we had to ask reception whenever we needed anything. Reception was friendly and helpfull. Location is central to city needs. Rooms are due for a refurb as showing wear and tear. For the price expected better, but not the worst around. Brush up on a few things and reviews would be better..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mikeedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is not very good at all. Darwin is a hot city and the air con is sub par the say the least. The decor is at best early 1990's and not updated since.
There are some really good hotels in Darwin, shop around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at Marrakai for 4 nights for work. For Darwin, which is an expensive city, price was very good value. Decor was dated, but everything was clean and comfortable. Great views of Darwin, good location, about 200 m to restaurants, coffee shops and supermarket. Lounge room has double sliding doors on two sides, wrap around balcony, ceiling fans - perfect for tropical climate (in May - during summer I would have used the air-cond). I've stayed in most of the major hotels in Darwin and returned to none. Will definately stay at Marrakai next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family were so looking forward to a break for the school holidays but are so disappointed with this accommodation.
It is definitely not luxury as advertised and for the price of $375 per night, it is definitely not worth that rate.
We requested a refurbished unit and weren't given one. Perhaps there weren't any available but at least we could have been informed.
The unit is very dated and not even clean as you can see from all the mould in the bathroom.
The cooking equipment is very old and warn.
We tried to have a bbq but both bottles were empty. Perhaps the management may like to have a closer eye on these things considering it is peak time with a peak price.
We also were not informed of the fact that the carpark door was going to be replaced so you could not drive your car out of the carpark for hours. Would hope no-one had an emergency.
A very disappointing stay overall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Topend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hi,
Well what a fabulous spot we stumbled upon here, a very very spacious 2 bedroom apartment with a fabulous wrap around deck, which was large enough to 'go walking' with the pram whilst trying to settle the baby and actually felt like you got out and about for a few minutes.
The children had their own spacious room with own bathroom and large TV (as did we).
Great views, and fully equipped laundry, not to mention the dishwasher - Woohoo no stopping this Mum now!
The walls must have been soundproof because amazingly although it was booked out we couldnt hear a thing.
Again a fabulous spot and great value for money, we were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again sometime

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrockrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks and I found my apartment to be very average. I hope that they are going to refurbish this one as the cupboards,aircon, tiles and dishwasher are all in need of it. All very dated and the aircond is the noisiest that I have ever heard. Sounds like it's going to die any time! No aircon in the very small lifts and the pool is in need of some TLC. I did not pay for the apartment as it was a business trip, so depending on the price look around elsewhere. It is definately showing it's age and is definately not a 4 star apartment block.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#16 of 36 in Darwin
1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

Address: 93 Smith St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing