We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST LOCATION , WITH BEST PRICE”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed here several times and always liked it for its tropical feel , central location and comfortable rooms at fair prices . highly recommended .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in a Duplex Villa which was like a little hut with it's own veranda and bbq. The villa has louvre windows on two sides which lets the air circulate, a ceiling fan and air conditioning. It was nicely set up but rather small. I'm glad I was there by myself as two people would be tripping over each other all the time. As advertised, there is only a microwave and a very small fridge so don't plan on being self-sufficient. My room was at the front of the property - a room towards the back would probably get less road noise. On-site parking is very limited but you can park on the street for free between 6.00pm and 8.00am. I noticed that some of the villas have their own parking spots, but mine didn't come with one even though there were lots of empty spaces. I thought it might have been nice to have been offered one in view of the fact that the place was half empty at the time.
To be fair - I would go back there again. It's handy to the city and the villa was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here my first night in Darwin. This is nice place with rooms surrounding bungalows, pool and lush garden. It has clean rooms for a good price. It is also very close to all the action of Darwin but just off the main strip so it's a little more mellow.

All in all a good first experience in Darwin!

Room Tip: The bungalows have a private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFTrotter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Palms City resort for the first two nights of our Top End trip. We arrived in the middle of the night but reception was attended and explained us everything about the resort.

The resort is a 2 min from The Mall and the Visitor Centre (Toni at the Visitor Centre is brilliant - so helpful!). The resort has a pool with loungers around it.

We stayed in a Duplex Villa. Comfy bed, little kitchen (microwave only not hot plates, toaster, kettle, fridge) and a desk. It is not overly spacious but enough for the two of us. Each villa has a veranda with electric bbq and chairs/table. The room had a good a/c (a must to get some sleep). The bathroom had a spaciour shower and very functional.

It is a very central location that offers clean room for a good price.

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from the main road this may be a bit noisy rooms near the pool are in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank london4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I loved Palm City Resort. It had a really laid back lazy resort feel with exceptional customer service and right in the centre of town. Huge bungalow that was tastefully decorated and very clean. Great swimming pool and gardens, and only a few minutes away from shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed 1 week in December 2011 and really enjoyed the climate and surroundings.
There are plenty of activities and sites to visit in the surrounding area. The Botanic Gardens are fantastic and well worth a visit as is a trip to Kakadu.
The hotel faces the esplanade beyond which is the mighty harbour. It is quiet yet close to the main shopping centre. There is a small pool and plenty of plants everywhere giving a tropical vista. The room I stayed in was clean and tidy.and quiet at night. I would certainly stay again.
The

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our motel room was basic, but very clean and well maintained. The pool and surrounding gardens are luscious and although we didn't have time for a swim it looked very inviting!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzyWizzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015 & 2016! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing