We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“General Manager blames guest for badly run hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“General Manager blames guest for badly run hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hello Mr General Manager, I hearing alot of excuses why your hotel is the worst in Darwin.

How about arranging a refund for hotel guest that had no working air con in April humility weather. I was very unwell from not having a working air con guess Mr General Manager you have an excuse for that too not the hotel fault either.
There is a sign on the wall why the air con must be kept at only 20 temp it was so old and was not working in extreme humidity.
Oh what about telling customers that there is a pub located right behind the hotel so if your staying Friday or Saturday nite dont expect to get any sleep.
Hope your vision is good with a 20 inch tv when it rains you cant watch and there sign that come on the tv why there is not working.
Mr General Manager you are running out of excuses and stop blaming people they have wasted money staying at your hotel that is not fit for a dog to stay at.
****Every body should run from this hotel or you just flushing you money down the toilet********

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19JenniferM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. From the tone and content of your review it seems you were very disappointed with the property. I never enjoy hearing that we have had a guest leave unhappy. I would like to address all of the points you have raised to offer some clarity over what you have mentioned.
1. All of our Rooms and Villas have individual split-system air conditioning. The maximum age of the units are 5 years (I do not know which room you stayed in so it could be even younger). The sign on the wall and in the guest compendium states: ***Please note that the air conditioner should not be set below 20 degrees as the system will freeze up and be ineffective. This is the advice given by the manufacturer of the A/C units that we pass onto the guests to ensure the A/C works the most effectively during their stay. In stating that if there is a fault with the A/C we would never expect a guest to stay in a room with no A/C. On being advised of an A/C issue we either offer a different room, or, if the guest wants to stay in the same room, a contractor is called in to fix the fault (if the contractor is not available immediately the guest is room moved). I am not sure when you stayed or which room you stayed in however we have not had a report of any A/C issues in April this year.
2. There is a pub located behind the back of the resort. We work closely with the establishment to ensure that our guests are not disturbed by their operation. I staff the reception 24 hours a day to ensure that a Duty Manager is available to assist with any disturbances. Once again I have not had any reports of this being an issue in a long time.
3. We have LCD flat screen TV’s in all our accommodation with the sizes ranging from 26-32 inch. The digital signal can be interrupted with the tropical weather we get in The Top End with a “No Signal” message appearing on the screen. This is something that occurs across the city and surrounds affecting all TV signals – not independent to the Resort.
I find your comments regarding “making excuses and blaming guests” confusing and to be honest unfair. I have not met you and this is the first time this has been brought to my attention. You did not discuss this with me during your stay, if you had you would be aware that I am a MRS General Manager. Given you are requesting a refund that is something that would have to involve my authorization.
Due to the anonymous nature of this review I have no way of knowing whether you have reported any of the above to our team during your stay (notes are made in the guest booking if any issues are communicated during their stay). If there has been a lapse in our reporting I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you. My direct contact details (as stated on the welcome letter in the front of the compendium) are 08 89829200 or manager@palmscityresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    392
    123
    39
    23
See reviews for
110
449
92
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was a little shocked at first as the description of a villa you would think more than one room, it was just one room with separate bathroom, the bed is right by the sink in fact you could do the dishes while sitting on the bed, it was very squishy. It has a nice verandah with a BBQ on it so you can cook outside. The shower is strong and hot, the fan is a bit noisy in the bathroom. The room was clean and stocked with 2 of each item. It has a communal laundry with 2 irons. The pool is not huge but it is a nice area to relax in, about 8 sun lounges and some table and chairs, a big BBQ and shower. It has the usual check in and check out times, you can leave your bags in a cupboard if you have to, a little lounge area would be nice as most flights out of Darwin are at silly times. It has a great position! Very close to town and the staff are very friendly. Overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymberley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Given the exorbitant prices of accommodation in Darwin, we were happy with what we paid for. I think 'deluxe villa' is a little hopeful, it was more like staying in a stand alone at a caravan park; it was dark and a bit pokey - especially the kitchenette. It was, however, very clean; the staff were friendly and unobtrusive, and the location was good as we didn't expect to have transport. We were actually loaned a car, so our only real problem was that there was insufficient parking so we had to park on the street overnight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LeenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had booked for one week and needed to extend our stay, the office rection staff where brilliant at helping us didn't have to move rooms, they where all very helpful. Palms City Resort is very handy to the Main Street, no need to worry about taxis, you can walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villas they where very good, you have an electric BBQ outside on the deck which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel lacks security, lack of camera's (terrible imaging), no on grounds security officers, located right next to the road (people can jump the fence). Was broken into (security screen was not used, just fly screen) and was poorly and disrespectfully treated after the incident, no refund, replacement of stolen goods, not even any sympathy. DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nala16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very disappointed to read your review. I am aware of which guest you are and the incident you have described. It is upsetting that you believe you were poorly and disrespectfully treated after this incident. You neglected to mention the assistance staff gave you when you required medical assistance or the fact that you left the security screen unlocked when you left the property to go to the hospital. In discussing with you the events that saw you assaulted outside a pub I was completely sympathetic to the injuries you sustained. We even discussed that it may have been the people who attacked you that broke into the room after you left it to go to the hospital. This was also something the police officer agreed was a strong possibility. When you enquired about the resorts insurance I advised you it only covers the property of the resort and not that of the guests belongings. I also discussed the damage sustained to the room (which was more than the nightly rate you had paid) and the strange and personal nature of the theft given that your cash, other jewelry and play station games were not taken. I spoke to the police regarding the matter and offered all the assistance I could. I was, and am sympathetic to the events that you found yourself involved in that night and I did convey that to you when we spoke. The resort was also a victim of this event and it’s extremely disappointing that you would make these comments in a public forum when you were in fact not treated poorly (by the resort staff anyway) and did leave the security screen door unlocked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile


Room was very very basic, paper thin walls, noisy neighbours and teeny ants and showers that leaked everywhere. Darwin is up and coming and there are some lovely shopping and eating areas. Crocosaurus cove and the botanical gardens are also worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Palms City Resort. I am sorry that you did not find the accommodation to your expectations. We offer several different styles of accommodation at the resort (Standard and Superior Motel Rooms and Duplex and Business Villas). I am assuming that you stayed in our most budget friendly accommodation our Standard Motel Room. Given that we are a 3.5 star property our Standard rooms are clean and basic for the budget conscious traveler. Our Standard rooms are equipped with a Queen and Single bed, fan, A/C, ensuite with Shower and toilet, TV with Austar, Tea and Coffee making facilities and a small fridge, externally there is also a table and chairs to enjoy the tropical weather. In regards to the noisy neighbours we have a 24 reception with a Duty Manager to attend to any issues like this all you need to do is call reception and advise them of the situation and it will be dealt with. Being located in the tropics the insect life is abundant however the resort follows a strict pest control program to ensure the comfort of our guests. In regards to the shower leaking everywhere we do have a maintenance team available if advised of the issue, if it could not be fixed we could also move you to another room. Once again thank you for taking the time to review the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terranora, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at Palm City Resort in a Duplex Villa. The accommodation was great, the rooms very clean and a bonus having the deck with your own private BBQ.
Our group was situated near the pool and it was like having our own little resort.
The staff in one word GREAT. Very friendly.
No need for a car as you can walk everywhere.
We will be definitely be going back .
Thankyou for a great stay.!!!

Room Tip: For a good holiday choose a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Property: Palms City Resort
Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Mid Range Accommodation - Australian Hotels Association NT 2015! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing