We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife, myself and 2 other couples stayed in the Palm City Resort for a week near the end of march, 2014. We loved the place, it was close to all major attractions that Darwin has to offer. We stayed in a villa which is a little bigger then the hotel rooms but still very comfortable. The rooms were cleaned daily and our villa was right by the pool. The staff were all great and pointed us to any of the places we wanted to see and arranged our day trips with no bother at all. We would all stay their again any time.

Room Tip: Go in march, rates are cheaper and being the end of the rainy season all of the rivers and waterfall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicndebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    421
    127
    40
    24
See reviews for
125
480
101
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location of the resort is perfect close to city and sites. Very friendly staff and helpful. Nice pool. The only thing I think Resort needs to work on is with the room cleaning staff. My shower toilet sink area & floor not cleaned at all during my stay. The staff changed towels etc and did not change sheets just remade bed. Other than that great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ErrolPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week in darwin and stayed at Palm City. Location was fantastic. Villa great and pool just what we needed after a long day of sight seeing. Situated across the road from where ANZAC day dawn service was. A truly amazing experience to attend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fitz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights before NT adventure. Check in at 2am after flight from Syd was great. Had a duplex which was very clean, not overly spacious but great a/c and fan and shower. So clean. Right in heart of city on esplanade but a world away once inside the cool oasis resort. Nice pool. Am back here again in a std motel unit before our departure back to Syd and room is also great, in fact more spacious without the sink. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

very helpful staff, clean room with jug cold water in fridge ,good wee pool with bbq, onsite parking , good value for darwin . supermarket 5 mins away on mitchell st. breakfast was ok and i would go back to this place .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank finrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy Hill, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great base for touring the city. The unit was very clean, the pool area was nice and the breakfast in the restaurant was lovely. Only complaint was that the adjoining veranda of next door unit was very close, our table setting was only feet away so could hear everything they said, not much privacy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hello Mr General Manager, I hearing alot of excuses why your hotel is the worst in Darwin.

How about arranging a refund for hotel guest that had no working air con in April humility weather. I was very unwell from not having a working air con guess Mr General Manager you have an excuse for that too not the hotel fault either.
There is a sign on the wall why the air con must be kept at only 20 temp it was so old and was not working in extreme humidity.
Oh what about telling customers that there is a pub located right behind the hotel so if your staying Friday or Saturday nite dont expect to get any sleep.
Hope your vision is good with a 20 inch tv when it rains you cant watch and there sign that come on the tv why there is not working.
Mr General Manager you are running out of excuses and stop blaming people they have wasted money staying at your hotel that is not fit for a dog to stay at.
****Every body should run from this hotel or you just flushing you money down the toilet********

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19JenniferM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. From the tone and content of your review it seems you were very disappointed with the property. I never enjoy hearing that we have had a guest leave unhappy. I would like to address all of the points you have raised to offer some clarity over what you have mentioned.
1. All of our Rooms and Villas have individual split-system air conditioning. The maximum age of the units are 5 years (I do not know which room you stayed in so it could be even younger). The sign on the wall and in the guest compendium states: ***Please note that the air conditioner should not be set below 20 degrees as the system will freeze up and be ineffective. This is the advice given by the manufacturer of the A/C units that we pass onto the guests to ensure the A/C works the most effectively during their stay. In stating that if there is a fault with the A/C we would never expect a guest to stay in a room with no A/C. On being advised of an A/C issue we either offer a different room, or, if the guest wants to stay in the same room, a contractor is called in to fix the fault (if the contractor is not available immediately the guest is room moved). I am not sure when you stayed or which room you stayed in however we have not had a report of any A/C issues in April this year.
2. There is a pub located behind the back of the resort. We work closely with the establishment to ensure that our guests are not disturbed by their operation. I staff the reception 24 hours a day to ensure that a Duty Manager is available to assist with any disturbances. Once again I have not had any reports of this being an issue in a long time.
3. We have LCD flat screen TV’s in all our accommodation with the sizes ranging from 26-32 inch. The digital signal can be interrupted with the tropical weather we get in The Top End with a “No Signal” message appearing on the screen. This is something that occurs across the city and surrounds affecting all TV signals – not independent to the Resort.
I find your comments regarding “making excuses and blaming guests” confusing and to be honest unfair. I have not met you and this is the first time this has been brought to my attention. You did not discuss this with me during your stay, if you had you would be aware that I am a MRS General Manager. Given you are requesting a refund that is something that would have to involve my authorization.
Due to the anonymous nature of this review I have no way of knowing whether you have reported any of the above to our team during your stay (notes are made in the guest booking if any issues are communicated during their stay). If there has been a lapse in our reporting I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you. My direct contact details (as stated on the welcome letter in the front of the compendium) are 08 89829200 or manager@palmscityresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,904 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Property: Palms City Resort
Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015 & 2016! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing