We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing place”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The place wasn't very clean, there were a lot of ants!!! but the beds were comfortable, air conditioned, fantastic swimming pool. Free Wifi, good signal.
The location was perfect, very close to the ocean, close to the centre with nightlife but very calm. the price was too high, but Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Palms City Resort for 5 nights and would definitely recommend this accommodation. I stayed in a 2nd floor standard motel room which was very clean and large enough for 3 people. The reception staff and housekeeping were excellent, Alicia in reception booked me onto 2 marvellous tours. The location of the resort is great as it is nearby to all you would need. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind carrying your luggage upstairs the 2nd floor rooms are excellent. I was in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We would recommend this Hotel. It is a little congestive in area with the Villa's taking the centre area and the motel style rooms on the outside. It is a large property perfectly positioned opposite the beach park on the Esplanade. You can walk easily to the city attractions and the beautiful Darwin waterfront area. The reception staff were very helpful and gave us plenty of recommendations and ideas. The rooms are clean and spacious and well cared for. The swimming pool is in the smallish side but always plenty of room during our stay. We did not eat at the restaurant as we prefer to eat out when time is not an issue. Can't go wrong with this establishment so very handy to all the sights of Daewin.

Room Tip: The Dawin Hotel adjoins the back of the property and may be a bit noisy. If you have a mobility prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigV_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great location. Stayed 2 nights on a holiday but found room right next to pool was a little noisy. Would rather have been away from the pool area. Bathroom window looked out to stairway at back so needed to keep window closed as it would be easy for anyone to look in. Staff good. Facilities good with laundry and nice pool area. Would like to have seen another mirror outside the bathroom, perhaps on the wardrobe door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was very happy with our stay. Location is great, just round the corner from Mitchell St and on the Esplanade. The villas are lovely - yes a little snug but clean and well laid out. Modern bathroom and a nice little balcony. I didn't stay in the standard rooms but these were perfect for our stay.

They are hidden away amongst some beautiful and well maintained gardens on the property, including a small pool which is refreshing.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

From my research darwin accommodation is pretty pricey! This was a good well priced option whilst still being of a good standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHSJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here in June 2013 for five nights with my wife and adult son on a business trip and a few days sightseeing. The 'resort' has a nice setting and the location was excellent for my business meeting and nearby tourist attractions. We also enjoyed being able to walk to Mitchell Street for dinner. We had an upstairs motel room with a balcony. The room was basic and cosy for three adults and the bathroom was average. The weather was humid and the aircon kept us cool and comfortable. Reception was always helpful and the breakfast was ok. We had a hire car for a few days and the onsite car park was convenient but several times it was hard to find a space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was smaller then it looked in the photos, but comfortable and welcome after 38 hours straight travel from Billings Montana to Darwin. Early morning walking along the Esplanade was wonderful and refreshing. Clean and well organized room. But when you pay this much for a room I would have expected the breakfast to be included. It was a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,978 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015 & 2016! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing