We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but you get what you pay for in Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was returning from Katherine prior to V8 weekend so rooms were not available at the usual place I stay at so spent 1 night at Luma Luma.
It is dated but it was clean, unfortunately there was issues with the electrical & the air-conditioner didn't work after returning back to the room later in the evening, luckily a fan was working although I had to man-handle the switch as it was broken.
Room is quite noisy as it was overlooking Knuckey Street, but I had to get up early anyway to catch my flight.
Was able to park the car in the on-site car park which was a bonus.
The staff were friendly & accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Badger01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean room with all the facilities you need, including a kitchenette. Staff were very helpful and friendly too.
A lot of the reviews on here complain about the price - Darwin is expensive! Apart from staying at a backpackers I don't know of anywhere else you'll get a good size room/unit with ensuite and kitchenette, plus a balcony with a great sea view and located in the CBD for under $200 a night. We'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edstar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is great if you're after something cheap in the city. I couldn't fault the cleanliness or service although it's a bit dated, our room was fresh with modern furniture.
Highlights... Price, location, cleanliness and service.
Lowlights... No block out curtains so our room was quite lit up as it faced the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KattyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Prior to my business trip to Darwin I read the reviews about this "Motel/Apartment" and must say I was expecting the worse. It was a pleasant surprise to find the place freshly painted, room clean and whilst the furnishing a little dated was serviceable. The complaints about musty smells - untrue. The complaints about stained sheets - untrue. Complaints about the pool - untrue. The complaints about rude staff - untrue. In fact, most of the complaints I read were over the top to say the least. But then again, some people complain about 5 star hotels for the sake of complaining. Yes the car park is a accessible from the street as are every Motel car parks I have stayed in. At least the car park is monitored by security cameras. Likewise every motel I stay in is accessible from the street. Perhaps the portable hot plate and toaster in the kitchenette could be renewed and the furniture updated but for the price this is not a bad place to stay. It is cheap by Darwin standards but that doesn't seem to come into consideration by the complainers of the world.

Room Tip: I stayed in 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Darwin for extended periods with mixed feelings about my stay. Then, due to a shortage of accommodation in the city, I was booked into The Luma Luma Holliday Apartments. It was a stroke of luck. Yes, it could do with a face lift but the price reflects that. What the Luma Luma has over the other hotels that I have stayed at in Darwin is the staff. Extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The kitchenette is adequate but could do with updated appliances. The rooms are basic, spacious and the staff keep the room clean and tidy daily. I feel right at home at the Luma Luma.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay, its an excellent view around sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerardButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If I had paid a budget price for my stay in this hotel I probably wouldn't have quite so much of an issue with the facilities.
Unfortunately I was paying full rates, and I left feeling ripped off.
As soon as I entered my room I noticed that the chain latch securing my front door (which can be accessed by the general public through the unsecured lift off the road) had been installed backwards, effectively rendering it useless. I demonstrated this by latching it and then wiggling the door, which opened with no effort at all.
When I brought this to the attention of reception staff they didn't seem to understand why I had a problem. Worse, it could have been completely rectified with a screwdriver and 60 seconds of effort, but alas, "management" weren't prepared to do that.
So they moved me to a different room, with two single beds rather than a double and the same enticing 1980's decor.
The bed was uncomfortable and difficult to sleep in, which was okay as the scraping of furniture on the floor upstairs, as well as the enthusiastic bedroom antics of the couple next door, heard through the paper thin walls, made sleep elusive anyway.
One night was enough for me.

Room Tip: If you'd like a good room, book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WizardofAus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

These apartments are beautifully maintained in classic early 80's condition, which may be the last time anything was dont to maintain or clean the rooms, the light fittings and bathroom hardware are perfectly matched to the dated look, at least the prices are up to date - at around $190 per night they are about the same as you would pay for a lovely modern apartment elsewhere in Darwin.

The air-cons are a fantastic advert for their manufacturers, still basically working after 20 years by the look of them.

The beds would be at home in any 3rd world prison, and it must have taken a special effort to find such dated and disgusting furnishings.

I can also recommend the light weight remote for the TV, very easy to carry to the couch, although the lack of any batteries, while saving weight, does render the remote problematic.

The TV in the second bedroom is obviously a SMART TV, it flickers and loses signal every 3 secs which helps stop you from falling asleep as you lie on your bed watching.

The hotel comes with an environmentally friendly car park - its so small and the spaces so tight that its really only useable if you have a Vespa.

Unusually for a hotel, its also pet friendly, the grease on the stove being a source of sustenance for the tame and obviously well fed cockroaches.

A final plus is the concrete bunker with the pool in the middle, totally unshaded, you will get a great tan in about 3 minutes and you are assured of not being interrupted by any other guests. It also makes up for the lack of a bath in the room as the water would surely be the same temperature as a hot bath.

Room Tip: Rooms across the road at the Mantra Pandanus are not much more and 30 years newer.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.5 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 35 in Darwin
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#11 of 35 in Darwin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 35 in Darwin
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Address: Corner of Woods Street & Knuckey Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £32 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing