We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss”
Review of Hanuman Restaurant

Hanuman Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 405 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$67
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hanuman Darwin first opened its doors in 1992. Originally located at the Bennet Street end of Mitchell Street, the restaurant moved to its current location late 2007.We are delighted with the new setting. As part of the Holiday Inn Esplanade complex the restaurant incorporates a beautiful deck dining area and stylish cocktail bar.With seating for 90 people outside and a further 90 inside, be prepared to immerse yourself in a truly exotic experience. The furnishings, tableware and artworks have been sourced from around the world and the lighting will take your breath away.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While this place can provide an exceptional level of quality and service, there have been a considerable amount of times it has tasted like a buffet than fine food. I would say around 30%. However when they do well it is well worth it.

Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,284 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Disgraceful service, food was average at best and If I wanted to be insulted I would go to the mother in laws.

Bar / wine manager took our order for a $120 bottle of wine , returned to say they did not have any, which she should have known being the manager.
We then asked for some starters whilst we look at the menu , she had a real problem with only taking part of our order and forced us to order mains while she stood there glaring. She wrote our order down and then says "so you want a double cheese burger and fries to go with that? " which I really didn't understand as we ordered 3 of the 4 most expensive dishes on the menu.
The rest of the night she continued to be rude and provided some the worst service I have ever experienced.

Thank Kade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After visiting many restuarants in darwin over the last 5 years entertaining and being entertained by interstate guests we had become accustomed to "average" at best food and service and had accepted that as the norm for Darwin, however our night at hanumans made up for all of them. The food was fantastic and the service was the best we've encountered in all our dining experiences. No lengthy waits for food or drink refreshments. The staff were well equipped with knowledge of the menu, even explaining how the dishes were prepared as they were served. Special thanks to our waiter Gavin,his attention to detail and genuine interest in ensuring we enjoyed our dining experience was second to none. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sharon M,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We work hard to provide good food and friendly, attentive service to our guests. We are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations. Your experience has aptly reflected the dining standards we do our best to consistently offer.

We have shared your feedback to Gavin and with the rest of our team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In a group we had a banquet meal and it was terrific.
The service was fantastic and the wine list was extensive.
You must try when in Darwin

Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear ddh04,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We always try to put our best from the conception of the meals to their service at your table.
We are delighted that you have had a memorable dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our Daughter wanted to go to the Hanuman when she was Holidaying fro Brisbane so we organised a Family outing with her Partner. The food was just devine, Entrees the trumpet mushrooms, oysters, fish and garlic naan. Mains were Beef Vindaloo (exquisite) Chicken Tikka, Beef Masaman, Tandoori Chicken, Fish fillets, steamed Bok Choy and steamed rice. 3 or 4 bottles of Shaw and Smith and a superb evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samesdifd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear samesdifd,

We take pride in providing a distinctive combination of authentic Thai, Indian and Nonya cuisine and good, personalized service to our guests. We are delighted to hear that the evening with your family has been an enjoyable one.

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanuman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing