We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give Peewees a pass” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pee Wee's At The Point

Pee Wee's At The Point
Ranked #1 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Give Peewees a pass”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had Dinner at Peewees friday night and cant explain my depth of disappointment. The highlight was the garlic bread...
Everything else was bland and flavourless... both entrees and two mains , which had us both reaching for the salt.
Was supposed to be a treat for the girlfriend after she had a tough week.
gave dessert a miss as we couldn't handle any more disappointment!
We paid our bill..then expressed our disappointment and said we would not be back,and thought a restaurant that cared would call us... yep still waiting...
My advice would be to stay away ....unless you like throwing away a lot of cash for something quite average!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank OafOaferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    214
    91
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A brilliant evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a great night, the staff, just great, the food is amazing and the view with the sun setting is just fabulous. The atmosphere is wonderful and I fully recommend spending an evening here, it will be hard to beat this place for a great night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb! Memorable food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

For our last night in Darwin, we decided to make it special, so booked well ahead at Pee Wee's. Great decision!

The croc tail was nice but not having eaten croc before we did not know what to expect. The tempura mud crab was delicious! For mains we had fish and the pork belly - this was "to die for". We also shared a side of tasty wok veg. Although the portions were not huge, we seriously considered not having dessert as we were feeling quite full. Then we saw the dessert menu and could not resist... we shared the lime curd verrine! This was the best dessert I've ever had, pic uploaded.

Yes, it is a little on the expensive side but the location is superb, the food is excellent and the wait staff very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. Will come back again when in Darwin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JannieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Fabulous Location & Fabulous Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Whilst in Darwin on holiday, I had noted that Urban Spoon had rated Pee Wee's very high and as it was my friend's birthday we felt a need to dine somewhere special. From the moment we arrived we felt that it was indeed going to be a great evening. The staff were helpful and attentive ( but not at all pushy or intrusive ), the menu was varied and interesting and thus it took both of us a little time to decide the Entre Vs Dessert dilemma. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and wine selections and no dish envy was had as we both selected the same. The location and restaurant layout took advantage of the local view and breezes. Our evening was truly delightful, it was indeed value for money and I can only think recent reviews stating it wasn't have not experienced fine dining in other states. We will both definitely go back again when next in Darwin. YUM

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeverLongEnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“For the price it should have been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I dined here last night. The setting was stunning and the views magnificent.

We ordered the tasting plate for 2 as an entree. This was mixed for us. The pâté was devine, but the rare beef on crostini was average, as was the sashimi mackerel. There were meant to be blue cheese tartlets, but they had run out and hence served the mackerel instead.

For the mains we ordered the eye fillet steak and the chicken kiev. Both were fantastic dishes, although the eye fillet needed a lot more jus served with it.

For dessert we had the chocolate sl*t and vanilla creme brûlée. The chocolate dessert (it would be rude to spell out the actual menu name) was very nice but the brûlée had a funny consistency and was not as nice as we would have expected, or have been served in previous visits.

I had sparkling water all night and my partner had 2 jack Daniels and the meal came to $220. For the price we paid we would have expected every dish to be fantastic, but unfortunately this was not the case. Had our meal come to less than $150 we probably would have scored the experience Very Good but for $220 we could only give this a score of average.

Helpful?
Thank sezzy_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pee Wee's At The Point also viewed

Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Pee Wee's At The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing