We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment style accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great apartment style accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at Mantra Pandanas in a one bed room apartment for a 5 night stay. The location of the Hotel is in the CBD a few streets back from the Esplanade and the main street of Darwin Mitchell Street. Easy walking distance.

The apartment itself was great. It was very spacious in the living room area and the bedroom was in the central part of the apartment. Having said that it does not have a window. This is great if you like your rooms pitch black at night for a good nights sleep.

The facilities in the room are what you would expect of apartment style accommodation. The rooms do look a bit tired in upkeep, for example, the wood was cracking on furniture, they walls have marks and dints on them from luggage. For a relatively newish hotel in Darwin, it hasn't been very well kept on the accommodation floors. This is evident when you step out at your floor.

Other people have mentioned the aircon is not up to standard. I can't fault the aircon, it did what it was suppose to and kept my room nice and cool.

I would stay here again. Staff are friendly and the lobby is well kept. You will notice a large number of workmen, mining staff staying here, however this is the same for all of Darwin. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello kurps, many thanks for posting your review and it was great having you stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the experience overall and that you would choose to stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    288
    132
    42
    22
See reviews for
64
232
43
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in June, arrived in the middle of the night, check in was very easy and quick. Nice clean rooms. Breakfast was included, very simple buffet style, staff not particularly friendly, on both days. Easy walk to centre of town, supermarket, restaurants, and down to the wave pool and wharf front. Not too far to walk yo catch buses to various attractions. It would hav been a nice stay except it was spoiled on our last morning on checkout. We ordered breakfast to take away on our last day as we were being picked up at 6.30am for a day tour to Kakadu. Hotel breakfast was only available at 6.30am. Anyhow we never got our packs because of a staff stuff up with our order. Our tour bus was on time at 6.30 so we went without our breakfast packs. We should have double checked the night before!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi PatriciaBall and many thanks for posting your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall but sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with breakfast which I have addressed with our team. Our full buffet breakfast is available from 6am every day and you can even sneak in for a coffee before that. Breakfast packs are always available at reception for pick up and we are sorry that this was not communicated to you. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got back last night from a fantastic stay here at the mantra the apartment and place is fantastic. The only down side is the fact that the pool isn't heated . The weather was so warm and nice but at one stage everyone was sitting around the pool but no one would go in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello ADJM, good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for posting. We agree that even though the weather is warm the pool can be a little cool for some this time of year! Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel was nice. Room was nice and comfortable. Was ruined by cold showers our whole stay. Reported to hotel and received excuses. They are happy to take your money and offer nothing in return. I don't mind spending more money to stay somewhere nice! But cold showers ! I feel ripped off ! I even paid to upgrade my room as it wasn't what I booked. Was not even offered a discounted price because of cold showers my whole stay !! Would never stay again !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello Alanna69, many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking time out to post your review. Whilst it was great to read that you found our hotel nice and comfortable we are sorry that you experienced issues with the water temperature. Each apartment has an individual electric water tank with a 25L hot water holding capacity and with the current cooler weather particularly in the morning; the cold replacement water coming in takes longer than normal to heat up by the tank element. We do apologise for this and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back one day. Best regards Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room was beautifully clean, modern and of a good size, with a comfortable king size bed. We booked with Wotif and got a three night special which included breakfast and parking which was just perfect. We had no complaints and would definitely stay again at the special rate! Great quiet position with an easy round the corner walk to Woolworths, Post Office and local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzziewoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi suzziewoozie,
Thanks for posting such a great review and for choosing to stay with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed the experience and took advantage of our weekend special deal. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked a room at "Signatures on Knuckey" after being impressed with how it looked at the Stayz website.

Little did we know that the "Signatures on Knuckey" hotel did not exist. All the photos of it, and the building shown on their website were of the Mantra Pandanas apartments in Knuckey Street in Darwin.

This would not have been too much of a problem, as the Mantra looked nice, but oddly enough this does not mean we were staying at the Mantra either.

We were banned from speaking to Mantra reception, even as the room failed to meet all expectations, and the Stayz contact never answered his phone. Return calls were rare and when they did occur, there was never any help forthcoming.

According to the Stayz website boasted "The fully air conditioned apartment is equipped with everything you have in your own home. Cook up a storm in this fully equipped modern kitchen including all cooking utensils as well as an array of electrical appliances".

What it in fact had was a microwave, toaster and hotplate. Not even an oven. Complaints were met with rudeness (although I notice they have since changed their website to remove the false comments about the kitchen being fully equipped).

As we were staying there for a month it was important to have good cooking facilities.

When we arrived we complained about the false advertising, and the false use of Mantra Pandanas photos and Mantra Pandanas amenities.

The kitchen had no ventilation, causing smells to linger, and we were told by the "managing director" that if we didn't like it they would refund the money (knowing full well of course that we wouldn't be able to get accommodation in Darwin for one month in the peak period.

When we declined and asked for a better room we were told nastily that if we didn't leave he would get the police to evict us (despite us having already been forced to pay in full up-front).

We are both aged in our 70s and were not expecting such cruelty from staff working out of the Mantra Pandanas building.

Eventually we accepted our fate and they brought us a saucepan, two frypans and three plastic containers for the microwave to add to the hitherto almost non-existent kitchen utensils.

They promised to bring us an electric frypan, which never eventuated.

We had to argue to get a remote control to enter the Mantra Pandanas car garage, despite having parking included on our booking.

The first night the remote control did not allow us access.

When we pressed the 'help' button we were told by the not so friendly Mantra staff that because we had booked through Stayz that they would not help us and we should park in the street.

Luckily a kind guest saw what was happening and came to our aid.

Wifi in the apartment never worked, despite numerous calls to Stayz and numerous assurances that it would work. The apartment used a cheap router that was never built for such a commercial application. In any event, using the internet was not an option while staying there.

The photo on the Stayz website showed two pools, but we only ever found one of those pools. Lord knows if the other actually existed.

The one that we did find was freezing cold (which is not easily done in Darwin) and impossible to swim in. We were forced to travel to a public pool in Nightcliff. We asked about the pool, but nothing was done.

My son wanted to drop a card off with us at reception, but because we were staying at Signatures on Knuckey, rather than Mantra, he was informed that reception would not pass on a business card for him.

Any other good hotel would have done this for anyone staying in their building, but for the Mantra manager Abhishek, no favour was so small that it could not be refused.

All in all I advise people to avoid Mantra Pandanas in Darwin, and don't be duped into thinking that Signatures on Knuckey is a hotel. It isn't. The pictures on their website are cobbled together from the Mantra website, and the relationship between the two is never made clear.

Staying at Signatures on Knuckey inevitably means staying in the Mantra, but staying in the Mantra does not mean you are treated like a Mantra guest.

One thing is for sure though, staying at the Mantra was an experience I will never forget - for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cromer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Cromer45,
As you were unfortunately not a guest of Mantra Pandanas we have requested that Tripadvisor remove this review. Whilst most of the serviced apartments within the complex are managed by Mantra Pandanas, there are some which are managed by an independent operator with absolutely no affiliation to Mantra Pandanas and do not benefit from the Mantra product, services and facilities. We politely request that you contact the independent operator directly for a response to your comments. Kind regards Dave Pearson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our visit was in early June. Hotel was well positioned for access to main part of Darwin. Mini bus availability for transport to the markets was cheap and a regular service. Woolworths was a 5 minute walk.
A good selection of restaurants was nearby.
Our studio apartment on level 7 was more than comfortable with a kitchenette with everything required for meal prep if required. Appliances were modern and the apartment clean.
I was disappointed with the pool area, which was situated in a completely sunless area and the water was very cold. The side spa also was not working and the snack machine didnt work either. Towels were not provided for the pool in our room and you had to access towels from the gym before entering the locked pool area. There is no snack bar or drink bar at the pool area.
Morning breakfast was adequate and a good selection of hot and cold available. More fresh fruit would have been appreciated and the hot water and coffee pots were situated directly under an air conditioning vent with a strong fan, which made the water/coffee cool off, so a HOT coffee was never on the menu.
The bed was really big and comfy and a large ensuite with a great shower with the bedroom area separate to the living area. Washing machine and dryer also provided.
We tend not to like Air conditioning, so turned it and the humidifier off and opened the sliding door to the balcony each night. The temperature was comfortable doing this, although I would think it wouldn't be in the height of summer and you would need the air con. The only problem with turning it off was that the motor of a nearby air con unit from the hotel over the road was noisy, so it was more difficult to sleep with the motor humming away during the night.
Room service was a bit slack on our last day as they took away our dirty towels, but didn't replace them. Our request for towels took a while and then we only got one towel and two hand towels which wasn't very good when we were trying to get ready for a night out. We had to wait another 15 mins for another towel!

Staff at the front counter were friendly and very helpful with advice on what to see and do and how to get around Darwin.

Having said all this, we enjoyed our trip to Darwin and our stay at the hotel, just don't expect 4-5 star.

Room Tip: Studio apartment on level 7 was comfy and private. We had room 724 and from what we could see it cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOBTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi MOBTours,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for writing such an informative review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked the location and our friendly and helpful staff along with your modern and clean studio apartment with a big comfy bed, large ensuite and great shower. It was also good to read that you enjoyed our good breakfast selection and thanks for the tip on the over efficient a/c vent which our maintenance team have now adjusted. Sorry for our housekeeping team not replacing your towels and glad you eventually received them. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing