We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET AND TRANQUIL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton
Ranked #1,079 of 2,124 Speciality Lodging in Queensland
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“QUIET AND TRANQUIL”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Lillyponds when they were recovering from the effects of Tropical Cyclone Oswald, but that didn't deter from our enjoyment. Our hosts, Andrew and Anna, went out of their way to help us settle in. The park is probably aimed at a more mature clientelle and playground facilities for kids are limited. There are a number of permanent residents, but they are quiet and friendly.

Bathroom and toilet facilities are spotless and well serviced.

It is a joy to be awaken by the dawn chorus of Kookaburra's, Lorikeet's, Magpie's etc. We had rain every day, but that was fine, it was that tme of the year, so rain was to be expected.

Wifi access is limited and digital TV signal very limited. The Park does provide aerial cables to allow access to an analogue signal.

It was a gentle walk to the local Pub which is renowned for its great value meals, and the bread from the local bakery was superb. There are many little eateries in town and others just a short drive to Flaxton and Montville.

The local IGA supermarket is well stocked and is open early.

For those who enjoy a bushwalk there are many options available.

We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you have a bigger van, drive through site 4 provides the easiest access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately our visit to the lilyponds cabin was during a rainy period, limiting our time to use the outdoor facilities. Cabin entrance stairs were not within building standards as there wasn't any landing between steps and front door. Bathroom ceiling covered in mildew/mould & not the cleanest facilities. Very poor park map that was unreadable with guest bbqs not listed. Cabins are located near very ugly poorly maintained long-stay "caravan's/shantys" which certainly takes away from the appeal of the otherwise pretty park. Free wifi is apparently available in hotspot area in the park communal room if you can manage to access it- many guests hog the small space & wifi doesn't work even outside the door or in close vicinity of the location. No mobile service due to the mountain range. Location very nice though and close to the mapelton lilyponds park which is lovely with a fabulous playground for kids. Boutique stores and Cafe close by. I must add that I liked the parks nature focus and lists of resident frog and wildlife species- fantastic to see!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76JUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Phoned and booked a site for our caravan. We had a beautiful site amongst avocado trees, when we woke up each morning all we could see were trees and all we could hear were birds.
Very quiet, well run business. Andrew and Anna were most welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Make sure you visit Abby (very friendly on site dog) and taste the avocadoes.
It was hard to leave after 4 very relaxing days. Although we were self sufficient, did use the BBQ area and the amenities block. Not the most modern you will find, but I guarantee the cleanest you will find. Would certainly recommend you consider Lilyponds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Beach
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Couples Retreat Cabin ($129 night) recently. It has a bedroom (bed comfy), kitchen/dining, lounge room with TV, bathroom, dressing room and verandah. The kitchen facilities are adequate, everything was spotlessly clean, and we enjoyed our stay. It's a family-run park with a bitumen road through it, and gravel paths. It was chilly when we stayed, and the cabin heating was excellent - a very efficient heater (and cooler??) in the lounge room, and an oil-filled heater for the bedroom. We enjoyed a few avocados from reception. Pleasant folk to deal with.

Room Tip: I think the Couples Retreat cabin is the pick of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Lilyponds over Easter weekend. We made booking for 2 nights in a cabin. Late on the afternoon of our arrival, we realised that we weren't going to make it that night, so I called out of courtesy to inform them of our movements. 45 minutes after talking to them, we decided to make a dash for it. On calling back, they said they'd already resold the room. On arrival the next day I inquired if they would charge me for the night even though we were not able to use it. They refused to refund the second night. Morale of the story: don't bother doing the right thing by them, if you've paid for it keep the booking.

The cabin was smelly of stale food, they REALLY need to clean the exhaust filter. Otherwise it was clean, albeit basic. A heater and fan were available. It was a duplex cabin, which meant that every time our neighbours moved, talked, ate, or used the toilet, we knew it. Duplex cabin would be best suited to a family using both halves.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a duplex cabin unless you're neighbours are part of your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellynita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My family of three spent three nights here in a campervan, and loved it. It was beautiful. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The park is shady - it is set in an avocado orchard. The facilities are old but very clean. The kitchen is well equipped with appliances, as well as dishes and pots, detergent and dish towels. There is a BBQ area with free gas barbecues, and an area where you can make a fire. Firewood is provided for free.

We stayed here when we visited the Australia Zoo. There are a lot of nice nature walks and small towns in the area, so we stayed longer than expected. We'd recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We'd seen a travel show segment on Lilyponds, which looked great, but were not sure of our travel plans so kept it in mind if we were in the area. We contacted them at short notice while we were on the road and booked a cabin. Very friendly and helpful reception on the phone and it turned out that Anna was just as friendly when we turned up a couple of hours later.

The park is in the quiet village of Mapleton on the Blackall Range and is set amongst semi-rainforest with cabins, caravans and tents scattered throughout the park. Another reviewer has commented on the musty smell in the cabin. As the park is in a high humidity rainforest area (it rained the 2 days we were there), this is to be expected so it didn't bother us, nor was it a problem at all.

The cabin was immaculately clean and perfect for the 2 of us although it could accommodate 4 people. We were initially a bit concerned there was no air conditioning (for environmental reasons which is fine) as it was hot and humid. But once we found the fans in the cupboard we were fine.

The cabins have plenty of room and all the facilities you'd expect to find in a well appointed motel room. But the gentle sound of rain on the roof and the sounds and smells of the rainforest made it special. My son and I had the best sleep of the whole trip.

Although there are laundry facilities in the park, we needed a laundromat where they did the wash and fold. Anna kindly phoned around the local area to find a full service laundromat for us... very helpful and appreciated.

The excellent service didn't stop there though. Our "check the cabin before we leave" system broke down and after checking out and on the road a few hundred kilometres away we received a call from Andrew that we'd left some clothes in the wardrobe. Very kindly they posted the clothes home and it all seemed to be no trouble although I know it was. Thanks Anna and Andrew.

By the way, Montville down the road gets all the tourists and has the over-priced eateries but there are a couple of excellent restaurants and cafes in Mapleton. The Italian pizza one is particularly good.

If you want a relaxing, quiet and different park with owners who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one... Lilyponds is the place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustOneThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queensland hotels
0.7 mi away
Mapleton Cabins & Caravan Park
1.0 mi away
Tanglewood Gardens
Tanglewood Gardens
#4 of 4 in Mapleton
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eden Lodge
Eden Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mapleton
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
508.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
212.5 mi away
Raintree Motel Biloela
Raintree Motel Biloela
#6 of 8 in Biloela
25 reviews
266.1 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton

Property: Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton
Address: 26 Warruga Street Mapleton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,079 of 2,124 Speciality Lodging in Queensland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilyponds Holiday Park offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for everyone visiting the wonderful Sunshine coast hinterland. With a range of modern, self-contained cabins, budget bunk rooms, caravan sites and camping, Lilyponds has an accommodation option for every budget. Situated just 4 km north of Flaxton, and only 13 kilometers inland from the Bruce Highway. Lilyponds Holiday Park is the perfect place to base yourself while you explore the magnificent sunshine coast hinterland and a great place to relax, rejuvenate and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lilyponds Holiday Park Mapleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing