We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tully river rapid boarding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tully River

Tully River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.09*
and up
Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch
Ranked #686 of 1,912 things to do in Queensland
Attraction details
1 review
“Tully river rapid boarding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Was looking for rafting but than came across rapid boarding.
After a small educational swimming course where you learn what to do if you fall in the fast flowing water we got to the boarding part. Everyone got some wetsuit pants ,knee and shin protection, lifejacket, fins and a board. And than we went down the river down some rapids. The water was cold but because your active al the time peddling you get warm in no time. Was a great experience and great guides that made sure everything went well.

Helpful?
Thank Katinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Wild ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Early pick up at 6:30pm, then picking up backpackers-as they were arriving into their hotel.
2 hour ride to the location.
5 hours of awesome runs, cliff jumping, body surfing over rapids and exploring Baron Gorge National Park.
Drop off time is 5pm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Extreme exhilirating rafting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Make sure you book this trip from mission beach. Best trip we've had! Except for the lunch, not enough for hungry guys after a big paddle. But the thrill is just amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I did the extreme white water rafting in Tully near mission beach and for my first time i can honestly say it awesome, one if the best experience i have had in Australia. it was an exhilarating experience from start to finish, there wasn't a boring moment of the day. the best thing about this experience is that it is so varied from rafting down the rapids, to swimming down the river, to jumping off cliffs and even flipping the boat occasionally. the staff were amazing, they all have experience rafting and are friendly but professional. would highly recommend it to anyone doing the east coast of Australia.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank srmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Make sure you do white water rafting in Mission Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I was on the Extreme White Water Rafting. It is a really good activity to do whilst you are in Mission Beach, our guide Dave was great and the rapids were really good. You get to jump off rocks at various points into the water and swim down the river enjoying the rapids. My GoPro got some great shots and videos of the day.

There is a lunch as well which is simply BBQ food which is all you need.

I will warn you that even though the guides are there for your safety and they do take it very seriously, this is not an activity for the faint hearted, there will be times the boat flips over and you will get caught under water either by the boat or the power of the rapids. You need to be a good swimmer and be prepared to be hit by rocks.

It was an excellent day and I would recommend to anybody.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tully River also viewed

 
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Tully River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing