We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but apartments dated”
Review of Mantra on Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Mary
Ranked #71 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The apartments are situated in a convenient location within the city and within walking distance to restaurants and bars. The hotel was quiet and comfortable however the rooms were a bit dated. Facilities such as the gym were adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisbanetraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest, ,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M On Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your comments.

We welcome all feedback to help us to ensure that our rooms & service is consistently meeting our guests needs. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the standard of your room, however, I would like to inform you that all rooms are currently being fitted with new soft furnishings.

We thank you for taking the time to review your stay and hope we get the chance to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very central location convenient to many attractions in the CBD. Apartment was fully self contained and more than adequate for a short stay, clean and comfortable, everything you would need. Pool and gym area was clean and well maintained.

Staff were friendly and efficient at check in and nothing was too much trouble. Accidently left my key in my apartment however reception was manned 24 hours and after producing ID was quickly provided with a second key.

I had not booked parking and whilst I was able to secure a park would recommend pre booking parking if required.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. I note your positive comments and you are correct, we are certainly in a great location to access the CBD and we pride ourselves on our excellent facilities.

We are happy to hear that our staff were attentive and helpful. We constantly strive to attain and maintain high standards of service and hospitality and I will pass on your kind comments to our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M On Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked a room at M on Mary for my mum and myself and had an absolute amazing stay. The staff members were courteous and helpful with any needs we had, always checking to make sure we were having a great stay. Our room had the most spectacular view, being able to see from the Story Bridge all the way around out towards Toowong and Mt Coo-tha as well as a great high view of the City. The rooms were incredibly maintained, tidy and beautifully furnished. The location is a perfect spot in the city, close to the CBD and a ten minute cab ride to Southbank. Check in was quick and easy no hassles at all. Had a nice late check-out and weren't chased out of our rooms like most hotels. The stay was absolutely pleasant and the staff and feel of the hotel felt like a very interpersonal stay. I would highly recommend d staying here and will be return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your view, you are right we do have some amazing city and river views. I am also happy to see that our staff where able to meet your expectations as we strive to provide quality customer service, and I will pass on your kind comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Apartment was very clean, other than the bits of vinyl coming off the aged couch, we could not fault the facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Quite enjoyable. Location in the city was excellent. Thank you for the experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with us at M on Mary.
We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and the proximity to everything in the city. We apologise that the sofa was not up to standard however we are actively replacing sofa's in all units which should be completed shortly.
We hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at M on Mary to catch up with friends and to run in the Mothers Day Classic at South Bank. Access to the restaurant and to the start line was excellent, also the CBD is a stones throw away. The apartment is smallish and I am not quite sure why they have the tiny extra room ( staff quarters ? ;) )

After the run the step up into the bath tub to have a shower was annoying! Do people still bother with baths on short stays ?

Will stay again for the convenience rather than the ambiance.

Room Tip: Go High and on the southern side for a view over the Botanic gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark0polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback! I’m delighted you found our location so convenient, we are in a wonderful spot which is as you said a "stones throw away" from the CBD's café's and shops.

The staff quarters is a study, an added bonus for our corporate guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip, having stayed a couple of times in the past. It is a great location for the centre of Brisbane - lots of cafes and restaurants close by, as is the Queen St mall. The apartment has a well equipped kitchen which makes self catering easy. As in most central Brisbane locations, depending on which side of the building you are on, it can be quiet or noisy (due to construction noise, air condiitioning units etc). I was lucky with this room and could comfortably sleep with the window open. Justine on the reception desk is a gem - she was very helpful with every request I had, and was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area.I stayed in a deluxe room, having upgraded from a standard. (I found the standard room to be a little claustrophobic- all the windows are either up very high or are frosted so you cannot see out). The deluxe room had heaps of space, a generous balcony and would be very comfortable if you were staying for a week. As mentioned, it had a good kitchen plus laundry facilities - handy if you are travelling for a while. The only small point I have - and this comes from a colleague who is not overly tall - the bathroom has a shower over the bath, and it is quite a high step over to get into the shower. My colleague found it quite difficult to get in to the shower without sitting on the edge of the bath - not a comfortable thing to do, and potentially dangerous if you had limited mobility.
The location, cleanliness and staff service would see me stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room - more space, more natural light, plus balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Becca,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. I’m delighted you found our location so convenient, we are in a wonderful spot so close to some great café and shops. Please note I have passed on your comment regarding the safety of our bathroom. We appreciate all feedback!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

One bedroom apartment in the city – can fully self cater – a good location a clean tidy small apartment. A reasonable night’s sleep without too much external noise – all up, a good stay. We really didn’t need too much assistance, quick check in, quick check out. Nothing 5 star but a very comfortable 4 star stay.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet - usually high is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Sorelegs,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M On Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback regarding our rates, we strive to provide value.
Please note that our rates are monitored daily by our in house reservations team and we are constantly updating our packages to include extras such as parking, Wi-Fi, spa treatments and breakfast in order to provide the best value for money for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and hope we get the chance to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#60 of 170 in Brisbane
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#62 of 170 in Brisbane
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#58 of 170 in Brisbane
820 reviews
0 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 170 in Brisbane
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Mary

Address: 70 Mary St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly M on Mary Apartment Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Mary offers you stylish accommodation close to Eagle Street Pier and Queen Street Mall. You can choose an apartment with your private balcony boasting views across the city skyline or Brisbane River. One and Three Bedroom apartments are complete with everything you need; they feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, in-room Wi-Fi and a LCD TV with Foxtel. Onsite you’ll find a heated outdoor lap pool, gymnasium, sauna, a BBQ and recreation area, Aquarius Health & Medispa as well as a 22m indoor heated lap pool, and a gym with fitness classes suitable for both men and women. The Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) and the Performing Arts Centre are just across the bridge. Or hop on the City Cat and take in the sights along the Brisbane River. Having fun is as easy as heading to Fortitude Valley to enjoy live music and a collection of amazing boutiques and funky designer shops. (*limited Car parking availability fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing