We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful place”
Review of Kookaburra Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kookaburra Inn
Ranked #14 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have booked a double room 1 day before arrival for 3 nights and we didn't realised that Brisbane was nearly booked out because of the cricket game. We were lucky that we found this hostel and that they still had 1 room left. Firstly I was really concerned about booking into a hostel. I thought about teens, dirt, noisy & parties. But this hostel was excactly the opposite. Really quite and great location only 10 minutes walk away from the city, no parties and absolutely clean. When I called I had Wendy the owner on the phone and she was amazingly friendly and she told us that there is a airport shuttle service for $15 p.p. which brings us straight to the hostel. We followed her advise and we got picked up by John the funny bus driver who dropped us off. It was already 8 pm in the evening and Wendy came out of the building to welcome us warmhearted as she saw the bus. I found this wonderful and I felt like returning back home. I must admit that I was totally surprised by the cleanliness. It is a old building, but great maintained. The sleep quality was ok too, because Wendy banned all bunk beds in the hostel and we had a nice and comfortable doublebed. This hostel is absolutly great value for money and I would prefer staying there rather than in any other 4 or 5 star hotel. Well done!! We are really impressed!! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussietrotter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with the Mrs.
She is known to be a little fussy but didn't have a single complaint about the Kookaburra, which only made my stay much more pleasant.
Friendly staff (and security, slept safe with big Diesel about), pleasant gardens, the building may be a little old but was constantly being cleaned, so pretty much spotless.
The parking permit was also an added bonus, as was the free wifi with excellent service.
As for location, probably about a 10 min walk to the Valley, and same for the city. A little hilly but nothing too strenuous.
Also very quiet, I found the vibe around the place to be courteous when it came to the other guests.

Room Tip: Upstairs for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lobskaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Only stayed here for a couple of days with my friend but had a great time. Room was nice clean and comfortable. I stayed in a second floor pretty much quite all night. the only thing i didn't like is the smell of a dog pee but aside from that everything's are good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Are D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

You've got what you paid.
This hotel is a back packer style hotel, but give the maximum value of your money spent.
It is clean, nice and specially quiet in the night because not in the core of CBD.
Yes, It is not in the core of city centre, but in walking distance to the adjacent Railway Stations.
Either you want to go to Fortitude Valley Station in 15 min walking distance, which is in the neighborhood of Chinatown, or 20 min walking distance to Central Railway Station in the mid of Brisbane CBD. 7 min walk is a distance to supermarket, "Subway" and Bread shop.
From these two railway stations you can go straightaway to Roma Street Transport Centre where a choice of transportation are available, including to Brisbane Airport and Gold Coast (and Gold Coast Airport) by trains. And by the train network you can reach buses hub and also Ferry terminal and use them as other transportation modes to see Brisbane at an affordable costs.
The Owner/Manager is really friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Except if you unluckily have a noisy neighbors, the rooms upstairs are quiet and will give you a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed our stay here, we stayed two nights and then another when we returned from noosa. This place I great, really nice and cosy and perfect for friends sharing or anything couple, the air con is very refreshing and the FREE version wifi is super fast!

Rooms are simple but comfortable and you have your own fridge in your room, bathrooms basic but clean. The staff are a very friendly couple and a couple of helpers too (the very friendly dogs!) they saved us a few $ and a walk by arranging a airport pickup service for us, which was great.

The place is about 10-15 minute walk into town and maybe 5 to woollies.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We found The Kookaburra Inn a really delightful place to stay. We booked literally hours before we arrived and when we did arrive were greeted by a very friendly and helpful owner; Wendy. We had booked a double room which was a good size, clean, with a fridge and freezer box, a sink and a comfortable bed. Bathrooms where modern and clean and the kitchen was well equipped and clean with free tea and coffee.

There is a small communal area with DVD’s to watch, TV and a selection of games and books as well as an outdoor barbeque area and washing machine and dryer.

Close to the city centre the Valley and the City Cat the location was really good and there is a supermarket, chemist and bottle shop just down the road.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to our traveling friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A very homely and comfortable stay, ideally suited for the budget traveler who doesn't wish to forfeit comfort and security. My girlfriend and I stayed in a private double room which was perfectly adequate. The fridge in the room (with an icebox) was very handy, as was the sink. The clean, fluffy white towels were also greatly appreciated.

The kitchen was perhaps a little cosy but we didn't ever have to fight over it so there wasn't a problem. It was very well-equipped with everything we needed. The free tea and coffee facilities in the communal area were great.

Furthermore, the free wi-fi is super-fast!! By far the best connection I've seen in Australia. You can easily make a Skype call without the usual noise and interference; something which we appreciated greatly when contacting our families back home.

The shower room on the ground floor of the main building was very modern and clean. The location is very good, only 10 minutes' walk into the CBD. Those who whinge about the hill could perhaps benefit from the exercise; it really isn't that far.

In summary, we had a very comfortable stay which offered welcome respite from the sleepless chaos of the hostel dormitories further up the coast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#152 of 169 in Brisbane
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#17 of 143 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breeze Lodge
Breeze Lodge
#12 of 143 in Brisbane
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Inn

Address: 41 Phillips Street | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kookaburra Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the peaceful surrounds of inner Spring Hill, the Kookaburra Inn is a unique experience in the heart of beautiful Brisbane, Australia. Travellers alike have enjoyed the serene grounds of the Kookaburra Inn for many years, whether they are relaxing in one of the courtyards, enjoying the secluded privacy of the inn or simply enjoying the may ammenities that make the Inn a little more homely. The quiet leafy surrounds is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the rest of a guest house with the convenience of a local capital city. Alternatively, you’re located in the heart of the River City and you can explore the many attractions that Brisbane has to offer, all while calling the Kookaburra your home base! Come and enjoy this unique atmosphere as we provide that little something special for your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kookaburra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing