We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly average”
Review of Il Viale

Il Viale
Ranked #358 of 4,328 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointingly average”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Not sure where everyone else was dining, but we found this restaurant to be overpriced for very average food and Noisy with the traffic and trains. Table wasn't set even though that was the one they put us at, then no serviettes offered. We ordered chilli oysters (so hot that even my husbands asbestos mouth didn't enjoy) and the zucchini flowers which I expected to have lovely light batter and it ended up being thick and oily :( Main meals were also disappointing, both off the specials board. Spaghetti with crab so ordinary that I couldn't eat even half of it and the veal with prawns so-so. Ran out of water and took ages to get more, coffee bleh, don't bother! We paid $120 for this meal with 2 beers and overall we thought it was overpriced by about $20 - $30

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianemackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A last minute NY's eve outing with friends led us to Il Viale - half way between our homes. It was a meeting of friends, the location unknown but convenient ended up being a pleasant experience. The service was generally good. The location was popular with all ages, including multi-generational family groups, represented giving it a real community feel. Ambience and decor were very pleasant with a lovely courtyard set up under the delicate foliage of a spreading poinciana tree currently in flower. Now the food....A Fritto Misto shared entree was (apparently) delicious. The mains were on the whole generous servings with a couple of comments: a chicken schnitzel that was delicious but could possibly have done with a little more flavouring; a spaghetti (final treatment of being oven baked) that was tasty but a little too oily for personal taste; a spaghetti pescatore which was delicious. Desserts were very limited (only 4 with one being Gelato) so that was disappointing. The two consumed were considered okay. We would all revisit and would recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Italian Grande food”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Food fantastic , service excellent, will return for a third try asap a birthday celebration with 10 people yet service was prompt and fun all meals were very well recieved and the propritors had a tiramisu cake made for desert which was to die for. Coffee I could leave but the rest a 10 out of 10

Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & wine”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We ate entree & mains, with a couple of glasses of wine. The staff were attentive and the food was delicious! Would definitely recommend. Also, go for the specials board - I had Linguini with Bugs and it was amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great little Italian place run by Italians!!! best Italian in Brisbane since Romeo's shut down. You must book always full on weekends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Viale also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Il Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing