We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD STAY FOR NIGHT OUT :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Limes Hotel Brisbane
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“GOOD STAY FOR NIGHT OUT :)”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I whenever in Brisbane like to do a night out in the city, on a couple of occasions we have chosen to stay at the Lime Hotel due to its location. The hotel itself is nice and clean. The staff have ALWAYS been friendly and very helpful. I have noticed the last few times being here that the rooftop bar has really taken off and on the weekends it gets quiet packed and obvisouly with that - comes noise. The rooms are small however given the hotels location and the fact that it has a rooftop bar the rooms are really just for those that plan on going out most of the time and not staying in. If you are wanting a quiet romantic relaxing weekend then no this is not the place however if your wanting to party the weekend and head out on the town then yes this is a suitable place to stay. My husband and I are not young and we dont go out clubbing but we like to go out for a nice dinner and then to a bar. We have found that on the times we have stayed here the noise has never been an issue.... in saying that we have never had a room close to the rooftop or near the lifts - sound does carry down through the lift. In ALL honesty I can't fault the hotel at all. It really depends on what you are staying for on whether you will enjoy or not - its not a hotel for families, work trips or quiet chilling romantic getaways. Outside of that its fine! Clean, funky, modern, welcoming staff - we have enjoyed our stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimesHotel, Front Office Manager at Limes Hotel Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Jasmine N,

Thank you for taking time to post your review and it's great to hear that Limes Hotel has been always the perfect hotel for your weekend night out in Brisbane. We look forward to welcoming you back and have a great festive season.

Kind regards,
Henry Herdian
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    80
    33
    12
    15
See reviews for
8
92
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As this was the second time we stayed at the Limes we knew to expect some noise from the hotel bar. As we had booked a courtyard room we were not so concerned. Unfortunately what was not told to us was that it is the noise from the bar next door that echos round the courtyard and room all day and night. Noise from people using the lift going to the bar is very loud as well and uncontrolled. Slamming of doors can also be disturbing. Having double glazed windows and a door that didn't have a big gap at the bottom would have helped. I am writing this as I lay awake in the hotel.

Housekeeping seemed slack, used towels stuffed in the wardrobe on arrival, stray items left in the room. Light not working. Not given/told about Fitness First voucher or whether we were able to use the spa pools on the roof.

There seems to be more concern paid to the bar patrons than the hotel guests. No warning about the noise from Alfred and Constance when we checked in. Not 4 star by any means.

Past it's best and will never stay again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahNZ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimesHotel142, General Manager at Limes Hotel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi SarahNZ49,

I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with your second stay at Limes. All our guests and especially our return guest are very important to us and I’m disappointed to hear we failed to live up to your expectations. The roof Top Bar is during the Christmas season very busy and noise levels are higher due to it. Whilst we try to contain the level of noise filtering through the hotel we have failed on this occasion.

With regard to the towels in the wardrobe and stray items I have addressed this with Housekeeping department.

The pools are free for Hotel guests to use when there is no function on the roof top and I do apologise if this and the Fitness First Voucher was not explained upon check in. I’m currently reviewing the check in procedures with all staff to prevent this from happening again.
Thank you for your comments. It is through critic that we are able to improve services. I would like to extend an invitation to you to come back to Limes Hotel should you choose to.
Please do not hesitate to contact me. Thanking again.
Kind regards

Magnus Hojden
General Manager
Limes Hotel
info@limeshotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Would not return to this hotel.

The noise from the rooftop bar carries through every single room in the hotel. I stayed for three nights and every single night the noise went well beyond when I wanted to sleep as I was working the entire stay. The staff are lovely but ineffective as its very clear me priority is the bar and not hotel guests, they keep "asking" drunk party goers to keep the noise down which of course doesn't occur. Loud music and groups of people singing well into the night (2am my first night and midnight the other nights) with drunk people spilling into the street and yelling well after that.

The rooms are extremely small and kind of depressing, a lot like being inside a shipping container and about the same size.

There is a bizarre smell that comes from the bathroom that is quite unpleasant and overpowering, possibly something wrong with their plumbing or some mildew etc.

After all that, basically everything annoyed me at this hotel. There is no desk to work, the staff have very little idea about the area, and the sheets each night came with a different stain (one so large I have no idea how housekeeping wouldn't have seen it). There is a cafe next door but none of the restaurants in the area like there are with emporium. There is not a gym. You cannot get access to the pool as there is always a private function on. Bathroom is not particularly clean (but not a pig sty either)

If you are going to a function at the bar then perhaps stay here. If you are going to Brisbane for any other reason stay at Emporium.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maverick2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimesHotel142, General Manager at Limes Hotel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi Maverick2020,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations.
I understand there was noise from the roof top bar during your stay due to Christmas functions at the rooftop bar and would like to apologise for the inconvenience. This should have been brought to your attention upon booking and I’m sorry if this was not explained. The rooftop bar is a lively part of our business especially during our weekend but also part of the success of our Hotel; however I believe we could have done more to reduce the noise during your stay.

I’m glad to hear you found our staff lovely, unfortunately on this occasion they seem to have not been able to reduce the noise and I’m looking into what can be done to handle situations like this better in the future. I do think the staff is knowledgeable of the area around us and we do continuous training on concierge services with staff, so I’m investigating who will need more training on this part.

Finally in regard to the stains on the sheet; we pride ourselves with the high standard of our Housekeeping and we inspect every room before check in however we seem to have failed picking up on this. Although all our sheets are inspected and clean they should be free from stains from Laundry Company at all times.

The room price is inclusive of a Fitness First pass, situated around the corner and I’m sorry if this was not explained upon check in.

Finally in regard to the smell I’m having a plumber looking into the pluming in the room you stayed in. I can assure you that the drains are cleaned on a weekly basis.
I understand you are not interested coming back to Limes Hotel however I would encourage you to give us another chance to prove we are a great hotel in a great location so please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to come back to Limes Hotel.

Kind regards

Magnus Hojden
General Manager
info@limeshotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a 4 star hotel that caters for a young party crowd. I did a mid-week stay (Thursday) as I was going to a Jill Scott gig at the Tivoli. For this, Limes location could not have been better. A 5min stroll had us at the front door, which was preferable to taxis or parking issues. Noise wasn't a problem as we returned from the gig at midnight, by which time the rooftop bar had quietened down.

Bouquets: Friendly staff, good linen, funky decor
Brickbats: Overpriced, tiny room, foyer door difficult to negotiate with luggage, off-site parking, ridiculously big pillows (ended up sleeping on the decorative cushion!)

I wouldn't stay again. Much better value to be had in the Valley at Spicers Balfour and Emporium.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimesHotel, Front Office Manager at Limes Hotel Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Global2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Limes Hotel. Our location is indeed a great advantage when you need to see a gig at the Tivoli. It is with regret that I read that you believed the price for your stay to be too high. Limes Hotel offers many great deals and the sooner you made a booking on our website, the better rate would be. I will also convey your comment about the pillows to the relevant department head to ensure this is addressed.

We do hope you reconsider staying with us in future and please don't hesitate to contact me in person so that I can look after you.

Kind regards,

Henry Herdian
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at Limes Hotel last Friday night 25/10/13. I had a working engagement the following day with an early start so needed a good night's sleep. Upon my arrival the front desk receptionist recommended that I participate in the evening's festivities on the fourth floor (Night Club) as I may otherwise not sleep much. I didn't really pay any attention to this remark as I thought it was a joke. When the evening's festivities began in earnest at 11pm I realised that it was not a joke. I did not get to sleep until 4 am when finally the thumping sound of extremely loud disco music came to an end.

The receptionists were pleasant and helpful and showed me where I could go and get breakfast but I would never return to this hotel on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights @ the start of September, we expected noise and we got it, as we were out ourselves it didn't really bother us. The room we had was clean comfortable maybe a little small but that did us fine. The only thing we didn't like was going out for breakfast & being questioned about where we were going? They must have lots of ppl staying past check out, just know who!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelonround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Although the hotel & the rooms are clean & modern, don't expect a good nights sleep over the weekend! Although we were warned by the hotels booking staff that it can be loud at night, the noise is intense until the rooftop bar closes at 3am. If you're planning on a big night out this hotel lives up to it's boutique status & the rooftop staff make a mean cocktail however if you're looking for a quite night, try the Emporium.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHI_STU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Brisbane Fortitude Valley
0.3 mi away
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
#50 of 159 in Brisbane
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 159 in Brisbane
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#12 of 159 in Brisbane
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limes Hotel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limes Hotel Brisbane

Property: Limes Hotel Brisbane
Address: 142 Constance St, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limes Hotel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of 8Hotels and the first Australian member of Design Hotels, the Limes Hotel is located in the hub of Brisbane’s nightlife, also known for its trendy cafes, shops, bars and restaurants - Fortitude Valley, more commonly referred to as “the Valley” by the city’s locals. You will be warmly welcomed by their attentive hotel staff, comforted by styled guestrooms and embraced by a new hotel experience for Brisbane. A stunning yet simple urban retreat, Limes is complete with open-air roof top bar and intimate roof top cinema. Whether staying for a night, a drink, a movie or all of the above, Limes presents an accommodation experience for business or pleasure. Featuring 21 rooms to cater for the independent traveller, Limes rejects the 5-star norms opting to focus on guests’ primary travel requirements in styled lodgings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Limes Hotel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing