We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”
Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Aurora
Ranked #78 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply great”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good in value. We liked it. has got everything you need in the room. A little pricy.
2 blocks away from Queens st mall and just off riverside. So a lot of choices for activities.
We stayed a couple of times already. Will return for sure if required.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous31081980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay. Likewise I'm glad you find the location of the building convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    201
    132
    57
    45
See reviews for
102
139
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Found location excellent ,staff ok,
Bathroom especially shower dirty with mildew round the edges, only one bathroom in 2bedroom unit
No internet wifi available in building hotel expensive for what you get would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you found the location of the building convenient. We certainly are central to Brisbane CBD shopping and dining among other precincts. I apologise if there was mildew in your shower. We're working through a programme at present whereby we're replacing grout and silicone in the bathrooms so this will arrest the problem. For your information we do have two bedroom / two bathroom apartments. These are available on request at time of booking. On the internet facility, we do have WiFi available in the foyer and alternative service available in the apartments . Information for both is available from the reception desk. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We've stayed at the Oaks Charlotte but decided to try this one on Holiday. Really liked the apartment. Had a full sized fridge, washer and dryer and a bath with shower over. A dishwasher which was the single tray type and gas hobs/oven.

The bed was a bit hard but I find that in Australia.

Comfortable, spacious and felt like home after a few days. The staff are exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation comfortable and well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 49th floor - wonderful view. Arrived very jet lagged after 22 hour flight and they managed to get me into an apartment early which I really appreciated. Apartment was very clean, spacious and freshly decorated. Well equipped - washer, dryer, hair dryer etc. balcony area clean and pretty spacious and complete with barbecue. About 3 minutes walk from the river with its restaurants and the CAT to speed you up and down. There's no advice on where to eat or shop for food in the apartment which is a shame. Pool was larger than it looks and always pretty much empty. Gym is surprisingly well equipped - not just aerobic machines but weights too. I'd stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dandydees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities well appointed. Having stayed on the 49th floor you would have had a fantastic view from your apartment and balcony. Thank you once again for your feedback this is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

When it comes to Brisbane, I think residential apartment building solve your purpose just fine, I've been traveling to Australia for about a decade now but when it comes to Brisbane I prefer the Oaks Aurora for everything it has to offer, its just worth it, starting from the convenience of the location, the price value for the rooms, the view from the balcony. Everything is in place.

BR
Harminder Sethi

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent and previous stays at Oaks Aurora. Your feedback is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked an apartment for 2 nights as a cheap offer came up on wotif.com. The advertised room had a spa bath. Ours did not. We didn't worry about saying anything to reception as when we had checked in they seemed not to care and were very unhelpful with parking (the guest parking was full so they suggested we park the car in a private car park elsewhere- no specific instructions of how to get to one, offer to compensate for higher rates or even an apology for the inconvenience). It ended up costing over $80 to park the car in a Secure car park for 48hours.

The room was also meant to have a river view. Instead, the view was of the rooftop of the next door building. The apartment was nice though. Nothing special, but clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

Pool area was nice but relatively small. We went in the pool but kids started splashing around so we went into the spa. Then a party of 5 joined 2 minutes later so decided it was time to go.

Great location for access to eagle st pier

Overall- don't expect to get the exact description of the room, be prepared to be told to park elsewhere by unhelpful and uninterested reception staff. But hopefully your room will be nice and clean like ours :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4078andbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I’m sorry to hear your stay did not live up entirely to your expectations. If I can respond to your comments for future reference in the hope that you’ll stay with us again. With regard to your spa comment, we don’t have spa’s in any of our apartments and such we’ve never advertised them. I’ve checked the wotif.com website just now and I can see no reference whatsoever to spa’s in our apartments. For the parking, we do have plenty of parking available however we always recommend you book this facility. There is very specific reference to this on wotif.com and most if not all other websites we advertise on. When booking on wotif.com or other websites I recommend you make special reference to carparking in the comments field. Alternatively you can call ahead. For the river views or lack thereof, we can guarantee these views if you book a ‘river view’ room. There are a number of options available on wotif.com and other websites. More often than not these attract a slightly higher tariff. By all means you can submit a special request otherwise however we can never guarantee special requests will be met. Otherwise, I’m pleased to hear you found your apartment clean and comfortable and the location of the building convenient. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora Tower in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed on the 37th floor. Very well spaced apartment and great to have a washing machine.

Got in late and had not eaten, went down to see the staff about place opened after 9pm in the area and they were not very helpful. This is the only down part of the trip.

Nice room, very quite, gym was good. Pity it is not linked to a rewards program.

Overall, would stay again.

Room Tip: Bring some extra washing powder...only get one satchel. Air con was hard to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manlai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and the facilities convenient. I'm sorry to hear the staff weren't more helpful with dining options in the area. I will pass your comments on and ensure this is repeated. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#61 of 159 in Brisbane
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#58 of 159 in Brisbane
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#53 of 159 in Brisbane
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 159 in Brisbane
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 159 in Brisbane
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Property: Oaks Aurora
Address: 420 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing