We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad mix”
Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Aurora
Ranked #78 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good and Bad mix”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is our first time staying at this motel. We had high hopes but this never motel never met them.

The check in staff were nice and helpful considering we were checking in late. They also escorted the pizza delivery bloke to our room which was great.

We found the room a little hard to find as the corridors were dark and there was no signs to tell us which room numbers were which direction.

Our room itself, was large for a 1 bedroom apartment and was nice at first look. Upon looking further the drinking glasses in the cupboard were covered in marks and were uninviting. The motel furniture showed signs of age (deck chairs freying, bits missing from bottom of laminate on cupboard). The kettle left much to desire and was quickly put back into the cupboard to not be seen again. We also thought it was odd that the curtains had no block outs.

In saying that - the water pressure was great and the bed was very comfy until the early morning sun woke us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShinyPascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora Tower. I apologise for the shortcomings in the cleanliness of your apartment. I will speak with the executive housekeeper as a matter of priority. On the condition of the apartment otherwise please be advised that we're presently progressing through a substantial refurbishment programme which should be complete by June all going well. Thank you again for your feedback. This is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    194
    127
    56
    44
See reviews for
95
136
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have stayed here a number of times here before and the standard seems to be slipping. Arrived into my 2 bedroom apartment and the balcony doors were wide open (no explentation was offered on check-in). Was meant to be a 2 bedroom but 1 bedroom was locked. Cream carpet is disgustingly filthy, no explanation or apology given on check-in. Only upside, reported to reception and they came up to room immediately and did what they could. Disappointed that my company does a lot of business at this property but I seem to have been given a sub standard room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirtlesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm sorry to hear your stay was not entirely satisfactory. On the open door, sometimes we do leave the doors ajar a little for arriving guests, weather dependant obviously. On the carpet, please rest assured this will be replaced in due course in conjunction with our ongoing refurbishment. I apologise for this shortcoming. When next you stay with us please be sure to ask for an already refurbished apartment. Thank you again for your feedback. This is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found the 2 bedroom apartment very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and being able to arrange parking was very convenient. The location is fantastic and walking distance to rail etc. will definitely stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora Tower. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your apartment comfortable and location convenient. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Oaks Aurora again in the not too distant future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It has been a pleasure staying here. We booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment up on level 44. The apartment itself has plenty of room. Everything is clean. Then the views are something else again (with a lovely big balcony)
Absaloutley stoked we stayed here. It's also in a good spot. Close to everything. Staff are professional but very down to earth and helpful. This is the first review I have written but after going through hundreds of reviews trying to find a decent and reasonable place to stay I believe Oaks Aurora deserves mention. Thank you so much for helping making our stay in Brisbane a great one!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the apartments and the building as a whole clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Had made it clear on my booking that i want a higher floor with a nice VIEW only to be put onto a room facing the BOEING building,i know request cant be guaranteed but what disappoints me is that i was originally at 29th floor only to find out the erasure on the registration paper with a new floor which went downgrade to 10th ( i still have the copy of it).The skinny guy asked me to signed first before going to back office with d new floor number...not a good start for sure. Dont put pics of your hotel room wit a nice view if ur not willing to give it to a guest who nicely asked for it.
If your coming from their parking space and getting in on 1st floor,make sure to be prepared going thru a stair. Its a problem if your by yourself with a heavy rolling luggage since chances are no one will be there to help u. Manila is the only front desk staff i find nice,approachable and friendly compared to whoever that Sharon or Sheree or whoever that was that i cant remember since she's in hurry, sounds robotic and seems like u have to pay her to give a smile. I myself work as a front desk receptionist at a very harsh environment and i know how a staff should be if u chose and sign to work in hospitality.

There's a list of DO's and DONT's that will be handed to guest upon arrival like no "parties on the premise" . Last night of my stay in Brisbane and there is this room fairly close to mine that has some teenagers who had organized a party wit loud music and drinks. I didnt bother calling d front desk since i have no time dealing wit another nasty approach.

But cant deny the fact that i find the location and door security pretty good. It might be just an apartment for management but im sure guest including me would like to feel like they were being look after as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoppaholicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I apologise first and foremost that you were not accommodated in a river view apartment such you requested. Like you said, we cannot always honour special requests however we do always endeavour to do so. I can see that you were originally scheduled to stay in a river view apartment. Unfortunately circumstances arose that resulted the relocation to an alternative apartment. Please rest assured we do try and accommodate special requests. For future reference, you're able to reserve guaranteed high floor river view apartment on most if not all websites. For the stairs, there a few steps from the carparking area to level 1 however from there you can use the lifts to access ground floor. Goes without saying if you ever need assistance with luggage you only need ask either via the intercom or direct at the front desk. I apologise you encountered noisy neighbours whilst staying with us. Had you reported this incident we would certainly have asked the offenders to curb their behaviour. As is evident from the literature provided at checkin that you referred to, we practise a zero tolerance policy to disruptive behaviour. I'm pleased to hear you found the buildings location convenient. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good in value. We liked it. has got everything you need in the room. A little pricy.
2 blocks away from Queens st mall and just off riverside. So a lot of choices for activities.
We stayed a couple of times already. Will return for sure if required.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous31081980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay. Likewise I'm glad you find the location of the building convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Found location excellent ,staff ok,
Bathroom especially shower dirty with mildew round the edges, only one bathroom in 2bedroom unit
No internet wifi available in building hotel expensive for what you get would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you found the location of the building convenient. We certainly are central to Brisbane CBD shopping and dining among other precincts. I apologise if there was mildew in your shower. We're working through a programme at present whereby we're replacing grout and silicone in the bathrooms so this will arrest the problem. For your information we do have two bedroom / two bathroom apartments. These are available on request at time of booking. On the internet facility, we do have WiFi available in the foyer and alternative service available in the apartments . Information for both is available from the reception desk. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#54 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Property: Oaks Aurora
Address: 420 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing