We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manly Marina Cove Motel
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond Unimpressed”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The Manager rang us at 10.04am asking when we would check out (check out time is 10am) & informed us that we had to pay a further $50 as we were now checking out late! Gets worse, then without informing us uses our credit card details from the original booking to charge the $50 without authorisation from us. We only discovered this 3 days later. Beyond outrageous behaviour - No we could never recommend them & we never will. They do not deserve a rating at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLB182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    41
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
28
48
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for the wedding "abelchy 18/11/13. Motel could be so much more with better managers. The couple were reasonably pleasant but gave the impression of just not being interested. One wedding guest was having problems obtaining a cold drink from the machine, the gentle sat behind the desk and just watched her for at least 5 minutes, she, in the end had to ask him for assistance, service, yeh right. Another guest went to ask for pool towels to go for a swim, this time the lady manager said she would send them up to their room later and remained sitting, when advised they planned to swim straight away, she, reluctantly got of her chair and obtained two towels from the store room right next door to the office, could she not have done that in the first place? If the managers can't handle a full facility they shouldn't be there. We actually found the motel quite quiet and really didn't see many other guests apart from our wedding party?? The setting but couple not good managers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tpgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear wen255117,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in November 2013.
We strive to deliver superior customer service and make each of our guest’s stay as memorable and pleasing as possible.
I am very sorry to hear of your experience and that we didn’t meet your expectations in all areas.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Manly Marina Cove Motel.
Kind regards
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at the Manly Marina Cove Motel for a conference being hosted at Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron. The accommodation is across the car park from the yacht club and I would highly recommend it to people who may be sailing in a regatta there. The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verygoldcoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Verygoldcoastgirl,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we take great pride in our property and welcome all who might be visiting or doing business in the Manly/Wynnum and Port of Brisbane area.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I would recommend the Manly Cove Motel if you are looking for modern affordable accommodation perfectly located on the Manly marina. The rooms are immaculately clean and spacious with free WiFi, quiet air-conditioning and pay TV. There is an added bonus of having a bathtub in the well sized bathrooms, fresh milk provided upon entry and free secure car parking. The motel is very quiet with comfortable beds and bay views from the patios. It is located in a great area with child friendly parks and plenty of dining options all within a 10-15 minute walk.
The rooms are serviced daily and the staff are wonderful. The friendly managers Rob and Lyn are always happy to assist in anyway and gave excellent dining recommendations for the local area. There is also the option to eat in your room with meals available at reception, to heat in the provided microwave.
I was pleased the Motel closes the pool area after 7pm. At other Motels I have been kept awake at night due to the noise coming from other guests being loud in the pool after hours. It is great to have a quiet rest without any noise from other guests.
As a frequent traveller, I have a rule to never stay in the same accommodation service more than once, though I have just returned from my third stay at the Manly Marina Cove Motel and am planning my forth already.

Kerry Merchant
Brisbane QLD

Room Tip: For bay views choose one of the rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Kerry,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It brings a smile to our face to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our managers and cleaning staff and how hard they work in making sure each and every detail is taken care of, so as to deliver a premium product for our guests.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit.

Kind regards,
Karin Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A good room, a tuned in television, comfortable bed and then I am generally happy.
The place is a great location but having a nice restaurant might be a bonus.
I truly dislike the teeny square bathroom basins which have been created by some daft architect - they don't do anything for me... but then I guess that is fashion.
The motel charge a fair price as a walk up. Reception is a bit limited and that fact they give you a form signing your life away in a 'contract' stating you wont steal the television is most off-putting!! Yes I do know some people are thieves! but I am not one!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear JeffM,
I am very glad you found the Manly Marina Cove Motel and left feeling refreshed after staying at our beautiful property.
One of the great advantages of our property is that it sits on the grounds of Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron and our guests are able to enjoy the Bistro at the clubhouse.
Alternatively, a short 10 minutes walk along the boat harbour is Manly Harbour Village where there is a large choice of restaurants available.
Thank you for your valued feedback and I will consider reviewing our terms on the check in register.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Karin Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in early November for a wedding. Numerous guests of the wedding stayed at this motel who had flown in from overseas and requested either an early check in or a late check out. All guests were told this was not available unless they paid an additional fee of either $50 for 2 hours or another nights charge.

Considering half of the motels capacity was booked with wedding guests the motel management showed no consideration or flexibility!

I also asked on the morning of the wedding if I could park the wedding car which was taking the bride to the ceremony in one if their undercover car parks and was told absolutely not as these parks were only available for 10 minute parking. When I questioned why there was another vehicle parked in these parks for over 24 hours I was told by the manager that this was her car which was occupying 1 of these 2 parking bays!

After much debate and asking if they would rather the bride arrive at her wedding hot and sweaty they reluctantly allowed me to park the vehicle in the remaining bay. At no point did it dawn on the management staff to relocate their own vehicle and allow guests to use these two parks.

Some of the worst customer service I've ever endured!

However, the rooms are quite nice and were clean and comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ABelchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ABelchy, Thank you for your review, we value your feedback. I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Manly Marina Cove Motel.

I have investigated your feedback and the managers have advised the weekend in question was particularly busy with two wedding party groups and a 60th birthday group. Management was inundated with requests for early check-ins and late check- outs and where they were able to, the requests were accommodated and guests were checked in earlier than our 2pm check in time. Unfortunately, we are only a small property and not all requests are able to be fulfilled. Similarly, late checkouts are not always able to be accommodated as rooms need to be turned over for the new arrivals.

As there is limited car parking on the premises and as noted a busy weekend, it was an unusual circumstance that the portico was not vacant. It is often difficult to accommodate every guests’ requests when there is limited spaces available and management is mindful that if they are good enough to provide this for one guest then they should do the same for every other guest.

Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Karin Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for my nieces wedding (3 nights), very quiet & comfortable with large rooms & lovely little deck. Heated plunge pool & thank goodness for air con (very hot 3 days). Super comfy bed & friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xnetballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManlyCove, Director of Sales at Manly Marina Cove Motel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear xnetballa,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay while attending your niece's wedding.
The motel is very quiet as it is ideally situated on a pocket of land away from the busy street.
The convenience of air-conditioners in each unit with individual controllers allows our guests to set their desired temperatures.
Once again thank you and we look forward to you returning soon.
Kind regards
Karin Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#32 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manly Hotel
The Manly Hotel
#37 of 61 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wynnum Anchor Motel
Wynnum Anchor Motel
#82 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri la Gardens
Shangri la Gardens
#92 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bay Air Motel
Bay Air Motel
#1 of 3 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Marina Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Marina Cove Motel

Property: Manly Marina Cove Motel
Address: 578a Royal Esplanade, Brisbane, Queensland 4179, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manly Marina Cove Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manly Marina Cove Motel is a 4 star motel located in the grounds of the Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron where Brisbane meets Moreton Bay in Manly, Queensland. The quiet location offers great views over Moreton Bay and is close to many major road networks as well as the domestic and international airports. The motel is a 5 minute walk to Manly Harbour Village with a variety of restaurants and cafes. The location is ideal for corporates travelers doing business in the nearby business & industrial precincts in Manly, Wynnum, Lytton, Hemmant, Port of Brisbane and Brisbane's Bayside. Resident managers - Sue and Paul Petersen look forward to welcoming you to the Manly Marina Cove Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Marina Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing