We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Park Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Park Apartments
Ranked #105 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in this third floor apartment for two nights over a weekend. There was a lift and the apartment had a view across the reasonably busy road to parklands but was very quiet at night. The rooms were pleasantly furnished and the kitchen had all necessary equipment in good condition. The beds were comfortable. Walking into the city took about fifteen minutes through the mix of historical Queensland houses, hospitals, apartments and offices that is Spring Hill. Being Brisbane, the walk involved quite a few steep hills but there is a bus service very close. Secure, undercover car parking is included in the tariff.
We only saw the proprietors at checkout and reception is only open for a limited time each day and I would suggest that they make a city map available in the apartment so that guests can find their way into the city. There were good instructions to find shops and cafes in the area. The location is convenient to many of the Brisbane attractions, especially if you have a car. A convenient base for an extended visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm04999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
16
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed for three nights in a 1 bedroom apartment during the winter - this place was great. It got a little chilly outside which is unusual in Brisbane, so I was pleased to be able to stay toasty. Secure car parking in the basement was included in the price, a big consideration for me. Central but quiet, a 10 minute walk to the lights of town. Friendly staff, all was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We wife and I stayed at the City Park Apartments for 5 nights in March, while visiting friends who emigrated from the UK to Brisbane several years ago.

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment (flat 20) for £91/night which seemed fantastic value for the facilities. The room had a large balcony with table & chairs, a well equipped kitchen with fridge, cooker, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer. Pleased to find that all the room was stocked with things like dish washer tablets, washing up liquid & washing powder. Towels were also provided for the bathroom.

The block has a secure underground garage, which we didn't use, and a swimming pool, but this was a disappointment - tried to use it but the water was cold and the surface covered in leaves.

The office was staffed every morning by a very friendly husband & wife team. On our first day we reported a few initial problems and requests which they resolved the same day – cleaning the balcony, providing hairdryer & scissors, a plug for sink, replacing a light bulb in a lamp.

Location of the block is convenient for the city, with the free city loop bus stopping a street away, but we also found it was very pleasant to walk into city centre through very attractive Roma Street Gardens.

Providing you're not expecting hotel type service, then this is a great value well equipped apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorkingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Brisbane’s City Park Apartments are in a good spot – right on Spring Hill Victoria Park – and a pretty good value for money. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t go back, as I got the sense that the proprietors really don’t like having guests, as guests might muck up the place.

We had booked a studio, so were pleased to find they had assigned us a two-bedroom/tw0-bathroom unit. After we spread out and showered we dicovered a note left on the kitchen benchtop that instructed that we were to use only one bedroom and one bathroom. Oops! We had already showered in each bathroom.

In the morning, I was quizzed on this at the front desk, and when I admitted that we had used both bathroom before seeing the note, I was roundly scolded: “You only paid for a studio, what did you think?” What I thought was that in my life I had been upgraded to larger suite dozens of times, but never, ever, had I been told to use only half!

This “litle thing” put me off the whole stay. The proprietor turned a big positive – a substantial upgrade – into a significant negative, adding a guilt trip to boot.

But then, looking around the partment, I realised that the place was littered with subtle threats, for instance, about surcharges if we didn’t take out the rubbish, used too mauch water, or didn’t “clean the kitchen”.

Anyway, for the cost it wasn’t a bad place, although the locks were wonky, the fridge seal didn’t seal , the louvers around the washer/dryer were caked with a lot of dust, and the loungeroom carpet had a distinct musty odour.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmilingKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
215 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Decent roomy apartment in a slightly out of the way location. The decor looks a bit dated, too much carpet and heavy fabric for such a hot city.

Air conditioning was great. Shower was ok but shower a bit feeble. Also only changing the towels once a week seems odd considering you need to shower twice a day in Brisbane heat. Also some really tough conditions for extra charges - not emptying your bin, not 'tidying the apartment' etc.

The reception staff were great, very friendly, but only there a few hours a day.

Would recommend if you want an unattended apartment stay, but if you need hotel style servicing like getting your bed made and towels changed then you'll need to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get one high up at the back to avoid road noise and noise from other apartment balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was our home away from home for many months June 2012.. It was fantastic for our needs.. Close to the hospital (needed for daily visits) Close to town and resturants.. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic Luci was awesome with all our needs and requirements met..I noticed a comment about the Manager not being around.. Well they are self contained units not a hotel !! We found her very welcoming and bubbly and very friendly.. She went out of her way to help me with all the documentations and requirements needed for the hospital and government rebates etc... For all our future visits we will defineately be staying again.. We have since stayed in the studio apartments and 1 bedroom apartments for shorter stays and found all of them to be clean, well set up and the security parking underneath is a bonus.. Thank you Luci for all your help..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My partner and I stayed in a lovely studio apartment. Although close to the city the walk back is tough because of the giant hills. Taxi is only about $10.00 from the cbd. Everything was clean and comfortable. The secure undercover parking provided peace of mind. All in all couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debsie960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#119 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tribeca Apartments
Tribeca Apartments
#129 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#106 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#101 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#72 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Apartments

Property: City Park Apartments
Address: 251 Gregory Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Park Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your City Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing