We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to culture and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West End Central Apartments
Ranked #32 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to culture and restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I needed a place to stay in West End that was near to the finish of the City2South fun run that was held on the weekend. West End Central Apartments was very convenient, just 100 meters from the finish at Musgrave Park.

The room was clean and spacious with a balcony that faced towards the city. The in-room spa bath came in very handy after the run. But it is the location that is the real strong point of the apartments. Located above some very good restaurants (Japanese and Vietnamese were superb) and a short walk to the West End Markets and also the Gallery of Modern Art, Performing Arts Centre and the wonders of Southbank.

I'm already planning a return for next years City 2 South fun run and any other runs around the CBD or West End.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CareerTravelRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We agree, we have great restaurants virtually on the doorstep and location is perfect for exploring the city. Not all our apartments face towards the city, so please make sure you request a room with a city view when you book and we will do all we can to accommodate your request.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    90
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
41
45
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is only a short walk from the train station and there are supermarkets and plenty of restaurants nearby. If you don't mind walking it is also only a short walk from the city centre. I stayed in a studio room, and it was very comfortable. It is relatively affordable considering the location and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassLee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Brisbane.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean and well presented apartment. Friendly reception staff welcomed us upon arrival. Room clean, tidy and well set out. Surrounded by so many restaurants ... Within 5 mins walk. Just perfect.... Planning to come back with my family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dgmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you next visit Brisbane.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last year, two of the times with the new management. The night time manager has absolutely no customer service skills and is incredibly rude. I was some information when I booked my room regarding sofa beds which was wrong and I got the blame for it. The manager would not accept that the person who took the booking made a mistake and I was called a liar. I have recommended this hotel to so many people but now I feel very different. The door handle to our bedroom door fell off in the middle of the night. We were given 2 towels for 3 adults, 1 child and a baby. The aircon remote did not work so we could only turn it on and off by the wall switch. I will never again stay at this hotel. I really hope the night manager sorts his stuff out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clockington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have checked your booking and confirm the room and rate you booked was based on three people using existing bedding. Whilst the booking made via another booking site indicates that the number of guests staying would be 3, it appears from the notes on the booking that you made contact directly to amend the booking to include 1 additional child however as there would be extra cost had advised the sofabed would not be required and the booking was allocated accordingly. Our staff are guided by the requirements specified in the booking and on the basis of the notes would have presumed the child was young enough to share existing bedding and it was unfortunate that the situation was not able to be clarified earlier as you arrived outside our normal reception hours. The points you raise have been discussed with the night manager who acknowledges that the situation could have been better handled and I understand that you were provided with a rollaway, which on this occasion was at no additional charge. We were not aware that there were any issues with the door handle or the air-con remote and these have now been addressed and we have reminded housekeeping staff about ensuring each apartment has sufficient supplies for the number of guests occupying a room. Thank you again for making us aware of these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The one bedroom apartment is ideally located in the happening westend area with lots of food and bar options available. Easy walking distance to Suncorp stadium and convention centre.
The rooms are in are clean and in good condition with a very comfortable beds and great pressure in the shower. Every room as a balcony, which is great to sit on and watch the night life. But once you close the door you can't hear anything.
Free parking and a friendly helpful staff. I have stayed in these apartment on 4 occasions and every occasion has been great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We agree, the location is fantastic and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Brisbane.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My daughter and I had tickets to the ballet on Saturday night. We booked into West End at 2pm and found the staff extremely pleasant. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and pillows delightful. Everything was so clean and the location was excellent.
Less than 10 mins walk to Qpac & Southbank, meant we could go out for an explore and an early meal and walk back to change for the ballet.
Well Done to all staff.
Highly recommend this apartment if you are looking for somewhere convenient and reasonably priced in the Brisbane.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd level - overlooked construction of new building so it may not be good during the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Being located in a go-ahead area, the noise of progress is inevitable, however we are definitely looking forward to a return to more peaceful surroundings once the construction next door is completed later in the year. Where possible we do try to accommodate requests to be placed in one of the many apartments located on the opposite side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Nsw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Will be staying there again. Very handy to Southbank, museums, art galleries.

Only complaint is coffee in the room. It was supposed to be complimentary, but it said I didn't look good first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We agree the proximity to the SouthBank cultural precinct great and we hope you find the coffee is more complimentary when you stay next time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.3 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#20 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morgan Suites
Morgan Suites
#13 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Apartments
Parkview Apartments
#40 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Apartments
Arena Apartments
#1 of 127 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#61 of 127 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Central Apartments

Property: West End Central Apartments
Address: 220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation, offering a choice of studio rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Close to Brisbane Convention Centre, QPAC and Brisbane CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West End Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing