We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no trouble in River City”
Review of iStay River City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
iStay River City
Ranked #41 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There's no trouble in River City”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a great place to stay when you are in Brisbane. You are centrally located to the downtown core of Brisbane. If shopping is important, you are close to major shops and the high end shops are within a 5 minute walk. You are also close to the Botanical Gardens, the ferries, pubs, entertainment and public transportation.
These are "serviced apartments." You do not have daily maid service, but you do have cooking facilities, a fridge and in-suite laundry. Great if you are staying for a more than a night or two.
If you have no desire to cook any meals, there are coffee shops, pubs, and restaurants within a two block walking distance.

The staff were very friendly and were very quick to respond to any questions we had.

Being an "old guy" the title of my post refers to an old movie called the "Music Man," where they had "trouble in River City." On my experience in Brisbane there was "no trouble in River City."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments. I am not aware of the movie “Music Man” though I will now be viewing it. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced all the services our central location has to offer. I will certainly pass your kind words onto the rest of the team. We do look forward to welcoming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    170
    96
    68
    35
See reviews for
135
91
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at iStay River City over Easter 2014. The rooms were well fitted out and the view from the large balcony was excellent. Serviced rooms are an optional extra.There is no restaurant in the hotel, but plenty to choose from nearby.

Room Tip: The best views are from rooms ending in 01 and 07 (eg 2801 or 2807)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay, we are very central to all amenities the city has to offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My first visit to an Oaks hotel in Brisbane. Was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment. The complex probably had the best rates of the Oaks group in Brisbane, but does not have daily servicing included. (Not an issue for me)

Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, and kitchen adequately equipped. Supermarket is very close by to stock up supplies, but there are many places to dine nearby.

Only downside of the room was that the windows looked into the office next door, but of course, better views can be obtained at the higher room rate. Also, there is not much of a desk to work from.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RRY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments. I glad to read that you found our apartments clean, spacious and comfortable. Being central in the heart of the city does mean some of our units face another buildings; guests can upgrade to a two River view apartment at a additional cost though we do have other units with city views; moving rooms does depend on availability. Please call us direct upon your next visit so we can look into allocating you a city view. We look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went to Brisbane on a 3-week business trip. On the allowed budget I found iStay River CIty, in the middle of Brisbane CBD. It is nicely located, easy access to office, restaurants, train station. The hotel is a serviced apartment, although not newly built, it is clean and have everything we need for weekly or monthly stay. Highly recommended for business stay.

Room Tip: Get the room facing Mary Street or Albert Street for nice view. Avoid rooms facing the other buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidThamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments. I really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, many of our repeat guests always comment on how central we are to all their needs and I am glad that you agree. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our recent stay in Brisbane was enjoyable but the iStay was nothing special. The room and balcony size were great but that was were it ended. The dishwasher didn't work, there were limited kitchen facilities, the toilet was in the strangest position in the bathroom and the room often had a strange sewage coming through. Plus the bed was VERY firm! My husband had to move to the lounge for more comfort. Luckily we didn't spend much time in the motel but won't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments, I do regret that your stay has put a negative perception on our company’s product, we do strive for 100% guest satisfaction and by reading your email it’s disappointing that we failed to provide this during your stay. I am happy to read that you found the room and balcony a good size. I do apologise for any maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Please if given the opportunity please contact me directly so I can personally look after your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was chosen by another party, so it wasn't our choice. However, when we got there we found out there was no wireless internet (really? it's 2014...). They do have hard wire internet, which got stuck in my computer since it was circa I don't know when. The kitchen utensils were dirty and the entire floor smelled like garbage even though we mentioned it to the front desk daily. If you want daily housekeeping it's at an exorbitant additional rate, so don't even think about it. Oh yes, and bring your own towels - you'll get two thin bath towels. There were a few good factors, the size of the rooms were nice (although actual bedroom was tiny) and the balcony was huge (although with a tiny table and two chairs). I would never stay here again, I'm sure you can find something better on air bnb. The staff was friendly but as it's not really a hotel you can't expect too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merestarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City. I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay. We are having WIFI installed in our building very shortly and I sorry it wasn’t in place prior to your arrival. The iStay brand offers an unserviced rate, which enables our guests to get the best possible rate by only paying for what you need. We are well advertised that we don’t supply: Hand Towels, Face washers, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion. Laundry Powder, Scourers and Tissues though we can provide these for a small fee; feedback from our past/regular guests has been very favourable.
We do welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Southport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at iStay River City in March whilst attending a conference at the Brisbane Convention Centre. We had a great room on the 32nd floor, which was modern, had everything that we needed and had a great view. We found all of the staff very professional and the hotel has great facilities. Many thanks to Ben and his team for making our stay enjoyable :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou for your correspondence regarding your recent stay at iStay River City Apartments. I really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our apartments modern. We recently have just finished a partial refurbishment which included carpets, paint, ceiling fans and curtains. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 159 in Brisbane
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#53 of 159 in Brisbane
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 159 in Brisbane
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#61 of 159 in Brisbane
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#67 of 159 in Brisbane
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#58 of 159 in Brisbane
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay River City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay River City

Property: iStay River City
Address: 79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay River City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iStay River City overlooks the Botanic Gardens and the CBD, and offers centrally located Brisbane accommodation. Hotel apartments at iStay River City are known for their contemporary style, convenience and amazing views. With a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, each boasting full length windows, full kitchen and laundry amenities and balconies averaging 20m² to really take advantage of the views and alfresco lifestyle, iStay River City is the choice of discerning business and leisure travellers. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "IStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your iStay River City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay River City Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing