We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spring Hill Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Hill Mews
Ranked #73 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Aussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Just read some reviews regarding this property. I agree with some, but others appear to be biased. It’s not a Hilton and you get what you paid for. As a matter of fact, I have found this is one of the best places near Brisbane CBD area.

I am a regular traveller to Brisbane and have stayed in quite a few different units of this property. May be lucky but I have found no cleaning issues that concern me much. Occasionally some curry cooking smells in some units may need to be treated thoroughly though.

I agree that this place could be better if all furniture get upgraded. The rooms are spacious and well designed, but the carpets and sofa in some units look a bit dull and worn out. Having said that, I have found all units I stayed already have new furniture and several have had new carpet and sofa replacements. According to the managers, they are in the process of replacing all furniture and carpets.

The managers are very friendly and always responded promptly to my requests if any. My advice is to inform the managers of any maintenance issues rather than talk to cleaners. Overall I think the managers deserve to be complimented on their good works.

Room Tip: some rooms have split levels, check when you place booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
24
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is the most expensive apartment I have used in my trip to Oz, and it is the least satisfactory. The main room (on the ground floor) is so dark that electric light is needed all the time.There is little evidence that cleaners have done any cleaning recently. Several items need mending - a failed light in the main room, loose towel rail. Carpet and sofa are worn out. The owners seem not to care about the low standards.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, which is very dismal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I normally stay int eh city centre in Brisbane, but with everything booked out for some event or another, I drifted up into Spring Hill for the night. It was hardly a great inconvenience - just 15 minutes easy walk into Queen St.

The apartments themselves are certainly not new, but they are reasonably maintained and quite spacious. There is a small pool and good parking.

I didn't use the internet, but it has WiFi available through an outside provider for some ridiculous charge.

Service was good, efficent and friendly, and they were happy for me to leave my car there (free parking) the following day while I worked in the city.

As a business travller, Spring Hills Mews will probably not be a regular stop for me, but it's a decent back up when things are busy in the city. If I was to travel to Brisbane with my family, the spacious apartments with plenty of bedding would start to look quite attractive, I think.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula NSW
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for five nights in a one (1) bedroom apartment (No.37)
Whilst it was adequate, we will not return.
It is a shabby property with a very low standard of maintenance,
The bathroom drains smelt with stains and cracks in the grouting and tiles.
Poor quality carpet that looked dirty. Sheets and towelling were poor.
Clearly the management are doing an inadequate job and the individual owners are uninterested in their rental returns.
Can I suggest you seek somewhere else. We are for our trip in 2012.

Room Tip: Seek another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I was a bit concerned about some of the reviews on here relating to cleanliness but since I was only staying overnight I thought I'd take a chance and the price was reasonable given the alternatives, which were either on a busy road or upmarket hotels in the CBD. There was nothing to complain about here - quiet location, walking distance of CBD, helpful staff. My apartment was fine - no musty smells - perhaps the other reviewer was unlucky. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Whilst the management of this establishment is very friendly and helpful the facility itself was dissapointing. The apartments are old and tired and we expected more for our money. The location is excellent with easy walking access to the cbd of brisbane. We have stayed in a number of apartments in brisbane across the years and we believe u can do better for your money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed several places in Spring Hill / Brisbane previously, and this is the most pleasant place. The small frontage a bit deceiving, but inside has four little building blocks and a beautiful garden and a pool. Our family stayed for a wedding and booked two apartments (a two bedroom and an one bedroom units). Both apartments were very clean, spacious with brand new furniture. The staff was very friendly and helped us checked in early so that we could prepare ourselves for the wedding. It was a pleasant short 3 nights stay, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.We4 highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJY2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#121 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sedgebrook on Leichhardt
The Sedgebrook on Leichhardt
#131 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hill Central Apartments
0.4 mi away
Frisco Apartments
Frisco Apartments
#43 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hill Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hill Mews

Property: Spring Hill Mews
Address: 27 Birley St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hill Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hill Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing