We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable bolt hole close to the city.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable bolt hole close to the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Being stuck living out of town it's nice to have somewhere to crash, especially if you are faced with a $100 cab fare home. So to find somewhere good to stay in the city. The diamant is therefore agood find. The beds are comfortable and the service is friendly. While the rooms aren't massive, they are modern clean and tidy. Downstairs the O bar is a stylish wine bar with a good menu and a heartily recommended bistro style breakfast that knocks spots of your average hotel buffet. This is going to be a regular stop in town for me and I can wholeheartedly recommend it to you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robkielty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Robkielty
Thank you for choosing Diamant as your weekend stop and for taking the time to post a review.
I am happy to hear that you are pleased with the service, quality of food and like our beds. Since your last stay with us we have even made them better and now have Microcloud bed toppers on all of our beds!!
Again, thank you for your time and if you need help with your next booking please don’t hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    256
    125
    34
    26
See reviews for
38
226
69
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at the Diamant Hotel in Brisbane for 4 nights during a work trip. I found the staff and service to be very good indeed. The room was tidy and quiet at night.

I would definately stay there again if I was visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear John
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us in January.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Good Staff & Restraurant & great area - Rooms very tiny though! Twin room had minature single beds!
Generally clean but i did have a very dirty glass left in my room before check in - Was dealt with very promptly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back quite dark (but quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boybandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Boybandlad

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
I am very pleased to hear that you were impressed with staff and service at the Diamant and apologise for the dirty glass in your room at the time of check in. It is good to hear that staff dealt with it promptly as soon as this was brought to their attention.
Kindest regards and happy travels.
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Not that easy to find, parked in the street and walked down the road and here it is. Good access/lifts no hotel parking but an arrangement with car park across the road. Room was more that suitable for a overnight stay. No noise from other room or the street :)
Clean, tidy and everything worked. A 10 min walk to china town resturants.
No complaints, but I only paid $90, so I got more than I probably expected

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear traveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are " Just The Thing" !
We loved having you here too and are looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon!!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Not a bad stay, just nothing special. Very small room even though we were upgraded to the "premium room"?
When I opened the door to the room an unpleasant odour came out, not the nicest way to be greeted. Hard line to tread, sometimes air freshers make you feel sick but maybe they could leave the windows open from time to time to air the place out?
Other than that the room was clean, the bed comfy, good location of hotel, short walk to cbd; pretty good value all told.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear UrbanQ

Thank you for writing the review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
We agree, our location is perfect. Positioned on a tree lined quiet street just minutes to anywhere in the CBD or just a short cab or train ride to anywhere else in the City.
I am sorry to hear that there was a bit of smell issue at the time of your arrival and only wish you would have let us know at the time as we would be more than happy to organise an alternative room for you. I have passed this on to our Executive Housekeeper and she is currently addressing the issue.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Diamant soon.

Kind Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The comments that the rooms are a bit small are indeed true, but we found everything else about this hotel to be nice.
-Rooms run around ~$200/night, about par for other CBD locations
-Easy walk to Queen Street (we found a walkway through the buildings across the street to a lift that could take us up from and down to Central Station, avoiding a climb up the hill)
-Free day pass to Fitness First gym 3 blocks away was a major plus since we like to work out on the road
-Free breakfast at the adjacent restaurant made this into a good value
-Quiet surroundings (especially on weekends)
-Friendly staff who did a workaround to check us in early

Since I can't find other hotels in the CBD area with free gym access, I'll be staying here next time I'm in Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Jojufa
On behalf of all the staff at Diamant Hotel Brisbane thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so glad to hear that you have taken advantage of the Fitness First access we provide complimentary to all of our guests. I believe their knowledgeable, experienced and friendly staff compliments Diamant’s excellence in service we are so proud of.
Again, thank you so much for a great feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at the Dianat Hotel in Brisbane on November 9, 2011.

A very small,dark room. Very well appointed and clean.

And at the price we paid, $240, it was the most expensive accomidation we stayed in our 15 days in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Traveller

Thank you for posting the review of your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane.
I am sorry to hear that you have found the accommodation to be expensive as we pride our self’s on providing highly competitive rates for the current market in Brisbane and Australia.
Again, thank you for your time and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for the best rates available on your next trip to Brisbane.
Kind Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#62 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#57 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#73 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#27 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#70 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Property: Mantra Terrace Hotel
Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a Hotel Room or Studio Suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing