We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst room in the house?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #50 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“worst room in the house?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Friendly staff and good decor, but the room barely accommodated us and our suitcases. No balcony, nowhere to sit except the bed, bars at the window and a noisy street scene. Downhill into the city, not as much fun on the way home.
Good? free gym entry at Fitness First
Bad? small and the bar/restaurant was as pricey as the town centre bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonediggerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Bonedigger Yorkshire,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.
Your feedback and observations are very much appreciated!

I am sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations and you were disappointed with room size and would like to thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff and quality service they provided.

Please don’t hesitate to contact our friendly staff next time you have a Brisbane visit planned and they would be more than happy to take you through other room types we have available that you might find to be more to your liking.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    275
    127
    39
    27
See reviews for
39
240
78
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very friendly staff who informed me as soon as I arrived that I had been upgraded. Great! Got to my room and I did wonder if they had made a mistake because the room was pretty small but the bed was a king and very comfortable - possibly one of the best hotel beds I have slept on. While it was compact, it still had all the necessities - it may have been a bit confining if there had been 2 people sharing though.
The biggest issue for me was noise from the bar and restaurant that wafted up from the alleyway to the side of the hotel. I ended up turning the A/c on to drown out the noise.
I had a bed and breakfast package and the breakfasts were better than the standard hotel fare.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't overlooking the alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBond55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear MBond

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review! Your feedback and observations are very much appreciated!

I am glad to hear that although you found our rooms compact, you were pleased with comfort, presentation, cleanliness and service provided.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had to attend a conference and this accommodation was booked by the company.
The foyer is cute but small with the reception desk being almost too small for the 2 staff working there. They were so close together when dealing with guests at the same time it made it difficult to hear "your" receptionist......it all just became a jumble of words. We stayed in what was one of the larger rooms, the smaller rooms must be in a cupboard. Once 2 of you were in there, plus your luggage you could not turn around. Tiny desk, tiny cupboard - that was taken up by the ironing board - really really small! Bed was fine - good mattress. The lighting in the bathroom was truly bad, no way you could do make up in there. No where to put "your" stuff - just a sink and a shelf. The shower recess was wide enough, but not tall enough for my 6'2' husband - could not get his head under the shower with out crouching.
Breakfast was ok - fairly expensive for what was served.
The biggest issue is the parking - we were directed over the road to a parking station - $65 for overnight parking - RIP OFF!

Room Tip: Ask to inspect first - rooms are crowded if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Deb

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this stay. While we focus very much on providing quality and personalised customer service and present our property and rooms with every desire to achieve customer satisfaction, we understand that our style of property is not to everyone’s taste.

I would also like to use this opportunity and point out that we don’t have on-site parking but have organised discounted rates with nearby Secure car park at $28.00 per day for all of our guests. The rebate voucher does need to be collected from reception before departure for this rate to be accessed.

Again, thank you for your time Deb and all the best for your future travels.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Spent 1 night at Diamant Hotel in Brisbane. Nice quiet spot but close to transport. The bed was so so comfortable. We got an upgrade too to a Premier room. V lucky! Yes, the standard rooms are small but we weren't interested in floor space. Tiny balcony but served its purpose for somewhere to sit and sip champagne! Bed fabulous, breakfast down stairs was sensational and staff excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Kim

Thank you so much for visiting Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!
So glad to hear that you had a great stay! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the guest service, food and bedding at Diamant Brisbane. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Having read other's reviews of this hotel, I didn't have high expectations as most of these reviews focused negatively on the small room sizes. If that's the only criteria for rating a hotel then it's not so great because the rooms and balcony are small although the bathrooms are relatively spacious. The room, a premier room has a king bed, a flat screen TV, built in wardrobe (with fridge inside) and not much else. The beds are comfortable, very comfortable in fact and the room is modern and clean with a nicely decorated bathroom. It has everything we needed for a weekend away.
The hotel is situated within a very short walk of central station and about a five minute walk to Queen Street Mall in a quiet area of the city.
The small bar/restaurant served a very good breakfast both mornings with the best poached eggs I've ever had (seemingly very simple but very easy to mess up).
The best feature of this small boutique hotel however has nothing to do with the food, the decor or the quality of the rooms but is the staff who offer something that the bigger hotels do not, SERVICE and always with a smile. From check-in to check-out, nothing was too much trouble for the staff of this hotel and everything asked of them was done with a smile, they are a real credit to management. Due to the excellent service we received on this visit, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and it will definitely be my first choice when I next travel to Brisbane :))

Room Tip: Choose premier room or better as the rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Jen

Thank you for your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback and your valuable time that you took to share your great experience with the public. Our everyday goal is to inspire, surprise and positively influence the experience of our guests at every opportunity and I am so glad to hear that we have managed to deliver and exceed your expectations. We hope to see you, your friends and family soon, please do not hesitate to contact us to assist in any future travel requests or to simply stay in touch.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great Location.Clean, good shower & comfy bed.The rooms are very small.We paid a lot more for a balcony and it just wasnt a space we could use just to small.Not worth the extra cost .Outdoor space is important to us.So for that reason we would not stay at the Diamant in Brisbane again even though by 8 Hotels is a hotel group we normally choose.

Room Tip: Forget the balcony to small and no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Ratchel

Thank you very much for being loyal guest to our group and staying with Diamant Hotel on your recent trip to Brisbane. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to make your stay truly enjoyable due to the size of the rooms and would like to use this opportunity and suggest you try one of our Diamant Suites should you decide to give us a second chance.

Again, thank you for your time and loyalty Ratchel. I trust you will be well looked after by 8 on your future travels throughout Australia and do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Brisbane as well.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for four nights and had a delightful experience. The one bedroom apartment was clean (serviced daily too), comfortable (especially the beds which were amazing!) and quite modern. It is also located only five minutes from the CBD but away from all the busy city noise.
The highlight of our stay was definitely the staff, who were amazing from the start and did everything they could to ensure our stay was a good one. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Emily,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and found the beds very comfortable and staff to be amazing. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback! We pride ourselves on providing unique, personalised and friendly customer service and I am so glad to hear that this service was a highlight of your stay with us!

Again, thank you for your time Emily and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant. Hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#53 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Property: Mantra Terrace Hotel
Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#47 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a Hotel Room or Studio Suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing