We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Very poky little room and probably a bit overpriced if i was paying for it but otherwise great stay. Awesome restaurant downstairs, nice staff and yummy fudge in the mini bar. Much nicer and more cozy than the big hotels if you can live without the extras

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrycharade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Cherry

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with Diamant Hotel Brisbane.

Great to hear that you loved our little property and were pleased with service received. Locally supplied and yummy “Dello Mano Brownies” are not just any brownies , but the ultimate chocolate and brownie experience and I am so happy to hear you loved them too. Let me know if you need contact details in case you need to stock some at home.

Again, thank you for your time Cherry and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    258
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
38
228
69
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and were so impressed with the service. I had read that the rooms were quite small, but found that our room had everything that you need. We found that the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff far outwayed this small complaint - besides how much time do you spend in the room anyway? I loved all the little touches in the room - T2 tea and Robert Timms coffee. And the beds are amazing! Like sleeping on a cloud.

When I booked the hotel I made a passing remark to the receptionist that it would be like a romantic weekend away and when we arrived we found that they had left a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room. It is little touches like this that make it so memoral.
Unfortunately I can't remember the names of the staff but I truly hope that this feedback gets passed onto the relevant people as the staff here show how it should be done.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat07899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Kat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your experience at Diamant Hotel Brisbane!

I have passed your feedback to all the staff members that made your stay with us so memorable. They are very grateful for you taking the time to acknowledge their friendliness, professionalism and dedication to delivering unique and personalised service at every opportunity.

Very pleased to hear that you liked the setup of our cosy rooms and all the little touches including tea and coffee selection and quality of bedding.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your husband stay with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon! Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly when you have your next City stay planned as we always offer best rates and availability direct.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very comfortable room and helpful staff and safe area. The city centre is walking distance but if you don't feel like walking the free city loop bus runs every 15 minutes and stops close by. For those on a budget the rates are much cheaper than the surrounding larger hotels and there are a number of good, reasonable cafeterias in the area especially through the arcade opposite. Astor Terrace is a pleasant tree lined street.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Valda

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and safe stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful.
We certainly love our tree lined street as well!

All the best and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just spent a week in this hotel on a business trip paid by work. The room was quite small as per the other reviewers had mentioned and the pullout desk was definitely served no purpose as it only pulled out by a few centimetres at best. Definitely not the place if you spend a lot of time n your hotel room.

The pros:
* the bed is super comfy, it will guarantee an excellent night sleep along with a bunch of nice comfy pillows.
* The tea provided in the room are a range of tea from T2 and you get a lot of choices too from English Breakfast, China Jasmine, Chamomile etc. The coffee comes from Robert Timms, so those combination are definitely hit the right spot.
* Staff are very friendly and nice, although it would be helpful if they notified me when I checked in that there is no housekeeping person available after 5pm. I spent ages ringing them only to get busy signal and not til I called the reception that I was told that there is no one there to answer the phone after 5pm.
* restaurant was ok, although limited choice on Room Service.

The Cons:
* Extremely small room. I can lay on my bed and reach the fridge without getting up and I am not even a tall person with short arms... :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Little QT,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable week with us and list of pros you have mentioned has outwaited single con being the size of the room. Please keep in mind that we have few room types available on the property ranging in size. Feel free to contact me directly when you have your next Brisbane trip planned and I will take you through some of the other room types and take this con right off the list 
I believe for a week-long stay Diamant Suite would be more suitable and might be more to your liking and make your stay with us even more comfortable.

Looking forward to hearing back from you once you have your next Brisbane trip planned and welcoming you back to Diamant.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Small rooms very much offset by excellent staff and very good service.
Dinner at OBar was reasonable, but breakfast was Very Good.
My wife and I had a great time and would come back again.
Note - this is not a hotel for staying in the room. If you are out and about the small room size is not a factor, otherwise great value and the breakfast and coffee at OBar were very good. The in room tea quality was a hit with my wife.

Room Tip: Premier or suite for a little more size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Kenan,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.
I am very pleased to hear that we have managed to impress your wife with tea and coffee selection in the rooms and so often mentioned and recognised personalised and friendly service provided by our loyal staff.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant on your next trip to Sunshine State!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms were tiny and smaller than they look online, and parking is a little exorbitant. Despite advertising a 'workspace' the desk included kettle glasses and condiments which left little to no room for 'workspace'. The Internet login instructions don't work on mac. Not such a great place to stay for a week of work - but that meant I found out why it was also one of the nicest places to stay. The saving grace are the lovely beds, the fantastic staff, and the bar and restaurant downstairs. I normally leave the restaurants at hotels and find other watering holes elsewhere but after a few days I realised what a good thing I was on. The bar is open space and nice to have a drink while you work, seemed where half the surrounding office staff had 'meetings', and the food was fabulous. I was there at the end of a heat wave and a Hendricks is exactly the drink of choice.
I'm actually moving to Brisbane reluctantly, but this ended up being a lovely introduction in the end thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reschndler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Reschndler,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.
I am glad to hear that we have managed to make this a top stay for you ,even though you found our rooms to be quite compact, and impress you with bedding, fantastic staff and our quirky little Restaurant on the ground floor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to O Bar for the “meetings” once you move to Brisbane and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly should you need accommodation leading to your permanent move to Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

yes - a great hotel, with a modern look and feel. I especially liked the bathroom - contempory design with a good shower. I found the reception staff welcoming and helpful. the next door eatery and bar was also good - ate there for breakfast and it was perfect for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dokoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Dokoo,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!
I am very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the reception staff welcoming and liked look and feel of our lovely little property on Astor Terrace!

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and please don’t hesitate to give us a call direct when you have your next Brisbane trip planed as we would love an opportunity to welcome you back to Diamant.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#55 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#68 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#27 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#70 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Property: Mantra Terrace Hotel
Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a Hotel Room or Studio Suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing