We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but practical” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
Ranked #140 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Hobart
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Basic but practical”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I had a late evening arrival and early departure for business in the northern suburbs of Brisbane so the Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport seemed fine. Room was certainly clean, bed comfortable, facilities OK - but everything was very basic. Basic extras like bed-side lights and tea-making facilities weren't there - so overall comfort wasn't great. There was nothing that made you want to stay in the room for longer than you needed. But it does provide a practical, low cost alternative to travelling into the city.

Room Tip: Request ground floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    249
    346
    171
    112
See reviews for
195
293
209
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

First the pros: the rooms are very clean, it is close to the airport (which in Brisbane is not very close) and the bed was comfortable. The lady at Reception the next morning was pleasant enough. It is cheap compared to the other accommodation 'close' to the airport.
Now the cons: the rooms are tiny, it is very noisy, it is so basic there is not even bedside tables with lamps - just a ledge at the side of the bed and a large fluoro on the wall. There is no proper hanging space just a peg with a couple coat hangers. The airconditioner was very noisy and there was not even a basic wall mounted hairdryer in the bathroom. Fortunately previous reviewers had warned me of this so I took mine just for this one night. Interestingly their website lists hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities and bathrobes as room amenities. Ha! There was no bathmat and also nowhere to put your toiletries in the tiny bathroom other than a small shelf (the one in my room was broken) so I had to use the closed toilet lid.
I stayed here as I was arriving on a late flight and wanted to be close by but it was still well over $20 cab fare so could have stayed somewhere cheaper with better facilities in the city for a bit more of a cab fare or even caught the city shuttle which is what I will be doing next time.
With regards to all the food vending machines, tea coffee etc. they are locked away at night so if you arrive on a late flight - bad luck! The all you can eat breakfast is very basic but fine if you can eat anything! If you are gluten intolerant do not pay for this as there will be nothing you can eat and there are no dairy alternatives either.
I read the warnings on Trip Advisor but decided to stay anyway as it was close (I thought) for my friend to pick me up next day and it had a late cancellation policy which is very useful when travelling with certain unpredictable airlines. However I will not be staying here again under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Request Ground floor if you have lots of bags and no help - there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here just for one night as I arrived late into BNE. Small room, but clean, comfortable and with enough vending machines to serve your travel needs, especially when you need a quick dinner, or even lip balm, travel adapters etc. There is a microwave for you to heat up anything you buy from the machines, and coffee and tea are provided. Breakfast is so-so with simple "continental breakfast" items. Don't expect too much in anything as it is a budget hotel after all. They do not oversell on the site, so what they say is what you get.
Hotel is near the airport, so if you drive a rented, you should be able to find it easily. Not for long stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLEESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed at ibis budget hotel near the Brisbane airport on numerous occasions, every time I have stayed the staff have been wonderful and the bed has been very comfy.

Pros:
Very clean, linen provided, comfy beds, great service, a lot of resources available - urn for hot coffee or tea, vending machines with freezer meals, cold drinks, hot drinks and also toiletries and a few technology things like phone chargers, usb etc.
There is also a quaint area to sit and eat meals. There is various businesses that deliver meals to the hotel also.

Cons: The rooms are small, however adequate space to store suitcase and for an overnight stay.
Also, this is more a comment towards the customer service of ibis hotels in general (not the budget hotel at Brisbane) however, I was on the phone for over 45mins to try and book one damn room which was so frustrating. I would have called the hotel directly however it was out of office hours.

Also there is a shuttle available which is an excellent service it costs $15 for 4 people which is a pretty good deal and it is more convenient and equal price as a taxi.

Room Tip: rooms on the floor level are good as the hotel doesn't have an elevator, is okay to walk stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a budget hotel so I didn't have high expectations to begin with.
If you need food - your out of luck. Apart from a vending machine in the lobby you will waste the money you save on catching a cab to take you somewhere to eat.
I found the receptionist very unhelpful and the rooms lacking everything but the bare basics. I did not even have a hanger to hang up my shirt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#36 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
1.2 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#94 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Airport Clayfield Motel
Airport Clayfield Motel
#75 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Airport Admiralty Motel
Airport Admiralty Motel
#101 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport 85 Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
Address: 18 Navigator Pl | Cnr. Nudgee Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia (Formerly Formule1)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule1 Brisbane Airport Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing