We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, helpful, friendly, and central!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Hill Gardens Apartments
Ranked #81 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, helpful, friendly, and central!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a great place to stay in Brisbane.My husband and I were in Brisbane for a business/pleasure trip. We had a really lovely 1 bedroom apartment with all the amenities you'd need for 10 days. Staff were welcoming and helpful and always at the other end of the phone if we needed anything. The place is about a 5 minute walk from the central station and is really close to some great restaurants, grocery store, and a bakery. When we go back, we'll definitely be staying here again. Thanks to the staff there for making our trip so wonderful! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKibbin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thankn you for this very comprehensive report. We look forward to your return visit.
Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
6
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a large property - its very green and is a bit like a rain forest in the city - the down side is all the steps you walk up you walk down - if your fit and or not in a rush its fine - but if your frail maybe this is not the place for you.

I have now used this property about 4 times and will continue to return - Sue and her partner are always keen to help - good sense of humour.

The property is large and so the managers i guess don't see inside every unit all the time - yes the bathrooms are a bit dated - and i have observed a bit of mould i guess - but the beds are a dream and you feel like you are at home - air-conditioning in the main area - i found on my last trip it was hot and just having a fan in the bedroom wasn't the best but I slept and it was good - ill keep coming back here because of the repore i have with the managers.

Some one mentioned Toilet paper - well yes i guess it can be a problem - but there is a supermarket within 3 minutes walk so whats the big deal.

I agree the swimming pool thing is funny - people do tend to gork - especially when whales are at play there - but hey get over it i say,

All in all - this is a good experience - id even stay here full time if the situation arose - beautiful gardens and location - the steps keep you fit and it does feel like home - even with a spot of mould.

Give it a go - price is ok - if you arrive after hours there is a series of steps to get you into your unit and there is always a mobile number you can call after hours.

I have noted twice now that the managers have advised they will not be on site and if there are any problems call the mobile - Good enough for me.

Room Tip: If you dont like the steps ask about a ground floor - they will help if they can - but there are sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your writing as you are obviously a regular visitor.
We do have a statement on our websites regarding our steps and lack of elevators, as well as a statement about the 'starter pack' provided. We always hope that propective guests read these as we hate to disappoint. Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I approached a four week stay at Spring Hill Gardens, following our relocation from the UK with a little trepidation after reading a couple of rather unflattering reviews concerning cleanliness and friendliness of welcome.

I need have had no such concerns. Our two bedroom apartment was well equipped, best knives I've ever found in rented accommodation, everything in good working order and best of all CLEAN.

Our welcome from Sue and Wayne was great, Sue does a wonderful job of ironing out any problems and Wayne's efforts ensure that the gardens,pool and apartments are beautifully kept.

The whole complex feels secure, very important if you are a woman staying alone at times during your visit.

Location is brilliant, no more than 10 minutes stroll into the city,down to the riverside walk, train and bus stations. In fact close to everything. Good supermarket, bakery and little shopping complex 5 minutes down the hill, rather slower coming back up with bags though.
,
I didn't use public transport, as it was easy to walk everywhere but bus services in the area are frequent.

Only tiny blip with the apartment we had was the 4:15 dustcart, but great night sleep until then and I suspect that in other parts of the complex you wouldn't notice this. Part of being in the city I suppose.

No hesitation in recommending Spring Hill Gardens as good value for money, great location and warm welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqui81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are pleased that you felt comfortable and safe here - thank you for writing. Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

It was great going to an apartment this size after staying in hotel rooms. 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen plus a comfortable lounge area. Probably a 10 minute walk to the main hub of Brisbane.
Compendium a little unfriendly we thought which made it seem a bit unwelcoming but place was very reasonably priced and practical. !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
The compendium has ben updated since your visit and we think it is more user-
friendly. Thanks for your comments. Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macquarie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

most welcoming. we were stuck on very short notice and received the 2 story , 2 bedroom. immaculate. best bed i've ever slept in . beautifully kept, tasteful, no problem with any wish. just a bit awkward with the pool, everyone watches!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we had the 2+ bedroom. awesome!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby1grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Our split-level two-bed two-bath units are rather distinctive and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one. Thank you for your comments. Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a serviced apartment located centrally in Brisbane. It's cheap and good for a short get away if you are tight on budget. It's got all the facilities you need e.g. stove, washing machine, fridge etc... However you get what you pay for. They scrimp on toilet paper and will only provide you with no more than one roll even if there are more than one person. 1 towel per person, no extra towels provided and will charge you if extras are requested. The pool is tiny as, do not be deceived by the pictures on the website. It's only good for dipping your feet and not for a swim. Customer service is good and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaNpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We don't think the pool picture is exaggerated - it isn't a lap pool by any means, but it is used regularly for swimming, not just toe-taps! We have a statement on our websites regarding the starter pack of amentities provided and are sorry you found that disappointing. Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This accomdation is terrible. I stayed for a few days for business as it was supposed to be good value for money. However I believe the reason why the accomodation is so cheap is because it is so poor. I felt like I was staying in a retirement village. The rooms were dirty, the bathroom was full of mould, the iron was held together by masking tape, the ironing board was just the frame (no cover or foam) and to top it all off the fridge freezes! The service was poor from the check in, the staff seemed to be as gloomy as the rooms. I would not recommend anyone to stay at the Spring Hill Gardens appartments. Don't waste your money, it's not even worth the cheap price.

Room Tip: Do not book this accomodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toaster0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprill11, Manager at Spring Hill Gardens Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are sorry you were so disappointed in your accommodation here. If any or all of the issues you have listed had been brought to our attention we would have dealt with them. If indeed there were that many problems with your apartment we would have moved you to another.
Sue & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trilogy Residences
Trilogy Residences
#63 of 129 in Brisbane
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frisco Apartments
Frisco Apartments
#43 of 129 in Brisbane
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Hill Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hill Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hill Gardens Apartments

Property: Spring Hill Gardens Apartments
Address: 101 Bowen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Hill Gardens Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hill Gardens Apartments specialise in providing apartments for corporate clients who appreciate both the quiet environment and close proximity to the city centre. Spring Hill Gardens is a three and a half star apartment complex ideally located within the Spring Hill corporate precinct. Set amongst tropical gardens, the fully self contained one and two bedroom apartments offer pleasant and trouble-free inner city living. FREE WiFi internet access available in all rooms (download limits apply). Central to everything Brisbane has to offer, Spring Hill Gardens is a short walk to Central Railway Station, the CBD, Fortitude Valley, bus links and river ferries. Spring Hill Gardens is a three story walk-up. Stairs are involved in accessing each level. As there are no elevators this accommodation may not suit families with young children, or some adults. Units are serviced weekly. A starter pack of soaps, detergents, toilet paper, tea and coffee is supplied, after which guests are expected to purchase their own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hill Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing