We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't see what other people are complaining about”
Review of Waterloo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterloo Bay Hotel
Ranked #50 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't see what other people are complaining about”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place is great! Only $120 a night for a modern, clean, large room. Free internet (granted you do need a cable; they provide one but it's a bit short).

Premises are clean, it's attached to a bit of a leagues club that has a fantastic beer garden. Pub isn't too bad and there's a bottle shop on site!

Restaurant is awesome, great food, get in before 6pm and you get 20% off!

Dead close to Moreton Bay with a decent walking track.

All in all fantastic value if you're looking for a cheaper place than in the CBD. I was travelling as a single however I would have no hesitation whatsoever bringing my kids here.

Manager was a bit surly, but apparently the 'accommodation girl' was on holidays when I was there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain-awesomeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloobay, Marketing Assistant at Waterloo Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We have completed several upgrades to the Hotel including bed linen/pillows, the Fig Restaurant and the Beer Garden, so we are glad you liked all the changes. You will also be happy to know we are in the process of installing WIFI across the premises. We hope to see you next time along with the kids, who can enjoy the xbox games room and ourdoor play area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    15
    3
    15
See reviews for
20
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at a motel unit at this hotel whilst attending a nearby function. The rooms are quite average and need some attention. On entering the room you need to pull the wardrobe door towards you to insert the key holder into the power unit to activate power for the rooms – very poorly designed particularly when entering at night.
The bed is a small double bed which was quite comfortable with low level pillows. We were told there were two additional pillows in the cupboard but only found one – reception is not manned after hours.
There is a flat screen TV with a reasonable size frig. Coffee/tea is provided together with two pieces of bred for toasting, and some cereal.
The room has double doors which open up onto a small balcony designed to sit out side or for smokers.
Bathroom is very small with the hand basin only being half size (no plug in basin). There is no wifi in the unit we stayed in nor was there a telephone in the room. Bedside tables were provided but without any bedside lamps so if one partner needed to get up in the dark they had to navigate in the dark or put the overhead lights on. The cover from the smoke detector was missing.
The property is located about 45 minute drive from Brisbane airport and it is a short walk to the waters edge. There are not many restaurants/shops near the property but quite a large shopping centre within 15 min driving distance.
The units are adjacent to a large suburban motel but we were not disturbed by the patrons leaving late at night- very quiet and peaceful.
A short drive down to the foreshore and turn right there is a lovely seafood cafe that does a great selection of breakfasts at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloobay, Marketing Assistant at Waterloo Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We hope you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and plan to return soon in the future. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the quality of the room you stayed in. You will be happy to know we have recently upgraded all of our rooms with new linen and pillows, giving a fresh and classic look. We are also in the process of installing WIFI across the entire complex. And don't forget next time to try the Fig Restaurant and Bar, located on the Hotels premises, which has a brand new menu. We look forward to you returning to stay again at our Hotel. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for just the one night and it was ok. The room had everything we needed, fridge, TV, Aircon, Double bed and Shower/toilet. It is neat and tidy but a little run down. It's close to everything in Wynnum including just a stroll to the the Bay. Check in though was a little bit of a joke. As I walked in to the reception there was a man on the phone just around the corner. He came out after I made a bit of noise asked for my my name while still on his call, handed the key and then continued on with his conversation? No signing of credit card details or info on where the room was. The following morning at around 7am there were workers making quite a racket outside our room with leaf blowers, hedge trimmers ECT. Very annoying for that time of the morning. Overall I'd have to say if you can find another place to stay then do.

Positives were that the rooms were kept tidy and prices were very good.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with the share bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Booked the $90 double room on wotif.com and read free wifi and ensuite which was great as my partner was doing training nearby and needed to study online. Checked in around 5pm and had to wait in the games lounge for the hotel manager. When he showed us the room we were taken through the back way which was noisy and polluted. The room was bleak and dirty and a shared multi-sex bathroom, only a semi cubicle wall blocking people watching you in the shower. I said it reminded me of rape stories. We came downstairs to complain and were told we were wrong, everyone says it is misleading but they've checked it time and time again. We were told they had a motel room for 1 night which had a bathroom and could then have an apartment for the remaining nights which also had wifi, so that's what we did, latching the door securely! When we went to eat the restaurant was closed and no staff could tell us where to go. We ended up with chips from the bottle shop as we didn't know the area and felt unsafe. The next morning we went the move rooms and were told that they only had 1 night for us rather than 3... And that no wifi anywhere! Walking round the neighbourhood to find an alternate place I found nothing (except a take away 50m down the road)... We ended up booking in the city.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloobay, Marketing Assistant at Waterloo Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We apologise for your unpleasant stay at our Hotel and appreciate your feedback. You will be pleased to know that since your stay we have come under new management and have made several positive changes to the Hotel. All of our rooms have been upgraded with brand new linen and pillows. Our restaurant has also been refurbished and is now open seven days a week for lunch and dinner until 9pm. We are also in the process of installing WIFI across the complex for guest convenience. We hope your next visit to our Hotel will be a pleasant one and we look forward to your company once more. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Dalby,
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Found this place through Booking.com and read most of the reviews, lots of warning there but checked their website and googled the area, it looked ok so I booked the loft room for 2 nights. Got in there late at night and didn't know where to park. We see the vivid sign "Hotel" but can't find the reception or driveway to it so my husband parked by the street and walked into the very noisy bar, lots of people drinking and someone was able to find the person that takes care of the hotel reservations and such, took the money, gave us the key and never saw him again. We've been in places where we felt unsafe but understandable given these are in developing countries, first time we felt unsafe in Australia just because of the area and the layout of the hotel. Called the front desk, no answer. No service, no WI-FI. We didn't check ourselves out. There's no one in the reception anyway to check us out so we just left the key in the room and took off. I don't really count it a "FAMILY friendly place".. it's mainly for people who like to gamble, drink and party and go wild. We'll never stay here again.

Room Tip: for this hotel, go for the one bedroom with loft and patio, and always read the reviews.. do a thoro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollypops3on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We booked a budget room as we only needed a place to sleep and at $90 booked this place. Was lucky that the toilet was just across the hall as the cheaper rooms don't have amenities in there. Thankfully the air con worked as it was quite hot. I would bring my own pillows as they are quite small and flat. Overall for the price we paid it was ok

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
5.7 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 157 in Brisbane
2,116 reviews
8.1 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manly Hotel
The Manly Hotel
#34 of 62 in Brisbane
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Queensport Hotel
#47 of 62 in Brisbane
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wynnum Anchor Motel
Wynnum Anchor Motel
#84 of 157 in Brisbane
51 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri la Gardens
Shangri la Gardens
#95 of 157 in Brisbane
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Bay Hotel

Property: Waterloo Bay Hotel
Address: 75 Berrima St | Wynnum, Brisbane, Queensland 4178, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers looking for modern accommodation surrounding Brisbane will love the Waterloo Bay Hotel in Wynnum. Conveniently located 500m off the shores of Moreton Bay, guests can spend their time enjoying the beautiful Wynnum esplanade, strolling and cycling the pathways. Visiting the many shops nearby or spend day trips touring the Brisbane CBD or nearby Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast beaches. All within very easy reach of the Hotel. Built in the late 19th century it has both an historic charm, and all the amenities and services you would expect from a contemporary Hotel. Our Hotel rooms are beautifully upgraded with a fresh and classic look at very competitive rates. The Fig Restaurant, based in the Hotel, boasts a modern Australian menu where you can enjoy a pleasant meal surrounded by a lush canopy of trees. The Fig Beer Garden or Sports Bar is another option where you can enjoy a drink, watch a game, or try your luck in the TAB or Gaming Lounge. A bottleshop is also located conveniently on the premises, with weekly specials. You never even have to leave the complex to be entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterloo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing