We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to stay but paper thin walls and strange management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Minto Colonial Hostel
Ranked #72 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap place to stay but paper thin walls and strange management”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and chose Minto because it was cheap and had a good location.
When we arrived there was no one to greet us but a message saying where we could find our room. This didn't bother us at all though.
Our room was next to the bathroom on the main floor. It was clean with a tv and fridge. There was a living area with a good sized tv next to the kitchen. The kitchen was good spacious and had fantastic facilities.
Our sleep was very average. the Walls were really thin and were woken up early every morning by the interns staying at Minto who had to leave. This is an old colonial house so it has charm but you hear every sound outside your room. The noise got even worse when a large family stayed near the end of the week. The kids were up very early kicking a ball on the landing!! Ridiculous!
The staff were very strange. Nathan and the older guy never bothered introduce themselves which we thought was utterly rude. The woman was only slightly better. It took her 2 days to introduce herself and the rest of the time she was very quiet. She did show us how to use the oven!
The location is good. We loved Southbank Park. Absolutely gorgeous place with great food outlets and only a 10 minute walk.
We used the ferry at SouthBank to get to the main shops.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luce_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
20
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This hostel is run by an extremely rude owner who has a female sidekick who has no communication skills whatsoever and is scared of him.
On arrival we were met by a group of intimidating rough young men who had been drinking- the owner was no where to be seen-our name and room no had just been left on a board- the men told us where our room was -it was in the kitchen- very small and like something out of a 1930s film
The owners sidekick eventually turned up and said oh you found your room then she then disappeared -no welcome or anything
I later asked her if there was a tv available for the room and she disappeared and then returned with the owner-an extremely rude older man with a massive chip on his shoulder-and he gave me a lecture about how rooms in hostels in Australia do not have tvs - which is not true as we had stayed in lots of private rooms in hostels and most of them had tvs,
Thr room we had been located in the kitchen was totally unacceptable as you could smell all the cooking smells and it was next to the sink-so every time someone used the taps it would wake you up-you just could not get any sleep.
We decided that we would have to speak to the owner and politely asked if we could be moved to another room-he then threatened to EVICT us-stating that there was another hostel down the road that we could stay at
We were so shocked-I am still really angry about it today and I feel that if one of us had been male he would never have spoken to us in this manner,he said I CANT FORCE SLEEPING TABLETS DOWN YOUR THROAT.
I told him that he had no right to speak to us in this way-he said that he was trying to help us-and then starting telling us all about his sad life and about how he sleeps in a different room in the hostel every night and that he had had complaints about the room before
We slept there that night because we were shattered- but we didnt sleep at all-the next day he came creeping round us and said that we could have a room downstairs but that there were moscitoes down there.
We stayed in the room because we didnt have the energy to move our stuff and had an early flight the next day-this was the worst experience we had encountered-this man has got serious issues that he needs to address-one of the first ones should be that you do not intimidate female travellers just because you think you can get away with it.
My advice would be stay well away from this hostel-it is also up a very steep hill and miles away from the shops-he also provides no transport to or from the airport.
Stay away.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at the Minto student house because of its good reviews. I have no idea why this place gets good reviews at all! We had an awful experience!

When we got there, there was a sign stating your name and your room number - no reception, no welcome. What's funny is that it says a phone number to ring if there is no one at reception, but there is NO reception!

We were put in a room that was in the kitchen, like a kitchen cupboard really. You could here EVERYTHING going on in the kitchen - if someone ran a tap it was literally next to you. We asked the woman who works there if it was possible to move to another room due to this issue- she went to get the owner who walked in and rudely stated that he was 'taking us somewhere else.' No sorry, nothing about if there was another room. He spoke to us like we were stupid - he was so insulting. He said it 'wasn't his fault he couldn't force sleeping pills down our throats' and we had other 'issues' going on.

We were totally shocked by this and have never been spoken to like that, especially when we were paying guests. He then stated that as we had booked online we had paid less than we should have anyway so should basically shut up. It said on the welcome sheet in the room to ask for any help or if we had any questions but when we did he threatened to evict us. What a joke. When we asked him why he spoken to us like that he couldn't respond, and we did not know what to do. As two women on our own we felt very threatened and in total shock.

The owner sleeps in one of the rooms every night - whichever is free, which was a bit creepy, and the whole place has a strange atmosphere which some quite strange characters - it did not feel safe.

As for the place itself, it is on a very steep hill and Coles is about a 30 minute walk. There is a train station about 15 minute walk away but you might as well stay somewhere central in Brisbane as the area is dodgy and not nice to walk around.

We regret ever booking this place - I am still in shock about how rude and insulting an owner can be to its guests - absolutely disgusting and out of order.

Please consider how threatening and disgustingly rude the owner can be before booking this place. I don't want him upsetting anyone else like he did us.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dancingqueenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I will always remember my stay at Minto with nostolgia. Its a good place to come and experience a bit of australia. With the lovelely early morning birdsongs I heard one morning, I also enjoyed the other wildlife, possums,scrub turkeys native and fruit bats and even a blue tongue lizard that aparently lives there and makes an appearance regularly and yet I could walk to cbd and everything else I wanted easily. If not transport was so close it just made my life easy. I stayed at Minto for 2 weeks after moving to brisbane before I found a place of my own. It feels like home as soon as you walk in the front door, a bit of history in such an old building restored beautifully. Thanks Nathan and Don for being such wonderful hosts. p.s The free internet really helped as I was on it 24/7 looking for things to do in brisbane and a house of my own to rent. I ended up choosing an old qld'er similar to Minto to call my own.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cos1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I stayed in Minto for one night on our way up to Hervey Bay. Its a beautiful house located about 15 minutes walk from the city. Overall the house was pretty clean. Our room had bunk beds which wasn't ideal as they a bit small. The room was also located right beside the kitchen with the pipes to the sink running right near my head, effectively when anyone turned on the tap we were woken up.

Towels and Tea were provided which was a nice touch and there are laundry facilities. There is also lots of free street parking outside. Overall its a good place to stay as long as your room is not beside the kitchen!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed at minto with my girlfriend for 3 weeks. We really had a good time and enjoy reminiscing about the time we had at minto. We booked a double bed room which was huge, the bed was good and we even had an own tv and fridge in our room. Theres a huge fully equiped kitchen where u can prepare your meals. In the big living room you can chill out and watch some tv, eat, study or what ever. We used to eat outside on the porch watching the city.
It is pretty quiet and here are just living a few people but kind people so you can rest if u want to or otherwise chat with your housemates.
The city is around 10 minutes by bus and 20 minutes walk away whereas the bus stop is just 50 meters from the mintos away. So pretty comfy.
It just takes around 5 minutes by bus or 20 minutes walk to go to the next big supermarket (coles), which is sorrounded by heaps of caffes and restaurants. Otherwise there is a small supermarket on the opposite of the minto where you can buy some stuff, just in case of need.
The only beach in brisbane is just 10 minutes walk away and is very beautiful.
Taking everything into account this was the best place i've stayed at. We will never forget the time we had here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bampfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere and very pleasant, clean rooms made this an enjoyable stay. The host was incredibly forthcoming, even driving us to the train. Thank you for making us feel right at home!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeinsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somewheretostay Backpackers
Somewheretostay Backpackers
#89 of 129 in Brisbane
6 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Vista Inn
Harbour Vista Inn
#7 of 16 in Castries
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Somewhere to Stay
Somewhere to Stay
#86 of 129 in Brisbane
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gonow Family Backpacker
Gonow Family Backpacker
#113 of 129 in Brisbane
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Isla House - PA
#65 of 129 in Brisbane
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minto Colonial Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Colonial Hostel

Property: Minto Colonial Hostel
Address: 61 Gladstone Rd | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Minto Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minto is a delight to the senses. Enjoy the colonial charm, feel the breezes on the veranda or chill out in front of the TV in the common room. We at Minto are committed to providing clean, comfortable accommodation approaching guest house quality. Other features include a fully equipped huge Chef's kitchen & fast wireless Internet (a small fee applies). A stay at Minto will ensure a pleasant, harmonious place to stay and study in peace. 14 mins walk from the excitement of some of Brisbane's best nightlife, 10 mins walk to South Bank rail station. A short walk to the Convention centre and CBD, 50 meters to the bus & 100 m to convenience stores and restaurants and take-aways are close by. The on-site caretaker is available to facilitate pleasant day to day operations. Please note: Bathroom facilities are shared; 3 bathrooms between 12 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Minto Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing