We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation for six”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Founda Gardens Apartments
Ranked #72 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I found Founda Gardens by default, after enquiring about another property. It looked good on the website and rated well, so we went ahead with the booking for 2 nights. The location was ideal for us, as we were looking for something nice not too far from the QPAC (to see War Horse) which could accommodate our family of four, my recently widowed father and my husband's father. Four bedrooms would have been ideal for us, but we settled for three. Sheryl and Sharon were very pleasant to deal with and helpful via phone and email, and in person. The apartment was very nice, although there were a few things I thought could be improved on for the tariff. There was a problem with the main TV in the lounge room which could not be resolved, despite Sheryl and Sharon trying their utmost. It was important to our visit, as my husband wanted to watch the State of Origin final the following night, on his birthday eve, causing him a great deal of angst. To their credit, Sheryl and Sharon arranged another larger TV by the following afternoon, and saved the day. Positives: location, spacious, nice view, fairly well appointed, 3 bedrooms, nice staff. Negatives: TV not working for the first night, single bed frames not long enough for my 6'4" son, single beds uncomfortable, bedspreads ala budget motel, only lounge seats for four in an apartment for six, ensuite shower not super clean/drain smelly, gauze doors flimsy and dusty, only two sachets of dishwasher powder... However, the good features by far outweighed these minor annoying details.

Room Tip: check details, there may be an apartment more suited to your individual needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracySM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our second visit to Founda Gardens, and it was even better this time. The apartments are still well kept and very clean.
The car stayed in the carpark again as we walked or caught the city cat or bus everywhere. There is now a cafe and 24 hour jetts gym at the end of the street which is good. These apartments are so large and well stocked perfect for a week long stay.
We are looking forward to our next trip to Brisbane and we will be booking at Founda Gardens again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

As I was going to be staying for a long period I was looking for an apartment that was spacious and was comfortable.
Founda Gardens ticked both boxes. It's more like a home than a hotel. There plenty of space Comfortable lounges good sized kitchen. Great balcony

The on site staff are extremely friendly and will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

My only complaint would be the dishwasher is a pain to use and could use an update. Also the wifi is extremely over priced and should be free considering the price of the room.

The location is great with easy access to the bus into the city and is excellent if you want to ride a push bike into town as I did every day.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Fieldzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was lucky to find this apartment at short notice, after I had to check out of unsatisfactory accommodation. Most other places were already booked. I ended up with a lovely sub penthouse with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly, always willing to help out. Great views of Brisbane and the river, close to Park Rd shops and transport. Very happy lot have found this and will be hopefully staying here again for future trips. The furniture was much nicer than the usual found in serviced apartments, so many have really cheap and uncomfortable lounges or beds, these were lovely. My only minor quibble is the bathrooms were all internal with no natural lighting, but that's the nature of these buildings and more than made up for by the awesome views and wrap around balconies .

Room Tip: I was offered a price reduction without needing to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurningLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

we have just left Founda Gardens after staying in a two bedroom apartment for the last two weeks.

My husband was looking at transfering to brisbane and will be based in Milton, which was just up the road so he could walk to and home from work every day. We have decided to take the job and hope to find long term accommodation around this Auchenflower area as it is so convienant to everything.

The apartments themselves were very large, clean and comfortable. So close to public transport and the park road cafe strip. We loved the walk along the river into the city and used the city cat a few times.
The managers were very good, made us feel at home and helped us with questions about Brisbane and the area as we had a lot to think about in making our decision wheater to make the move.

My husbands company will pay accommodation for us for the first 6 weeks while we look for a permenant lease or buy a house when we move up in March and we have already asked to stay at Founda Gardens. We are looking forward to going back agin.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Not all the same, apartments are all v different in condition, we only stayed in 26, did see 24 and it was lovely

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
founda, Manager at Founda Gardens Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank you for your feedback, this allows us to continually improve our standards.

We do have two different types of 3 bedroom apartments at Founda Gardens. Apartment # 26 is a standard apartment while apartment # 24 is a Sub Penthouse apartment and is a superior apartment.
Please be aware there is a price difference between these different types of apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the 3 bed sub penthouse apartment. Very comfortable, everything you need is there, the location is ideal, close to public transport, shopping centre - stunning river views. Having stayed in many self catering apartments around the world I was pleasantly surprised at how well the apartment was fitted out, right down to a full laundry in the unit complete with dryer. Highly recommended to anyone looking for accommodation in Brisbane, very close to the Wesley Hospital. Rae and Sharon couldn't help enough to arrange accommodation for us at very short notice after we had to vacate our house for a few days while urgent repair work needed to be done.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#141 of 168 in Brisbane
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#41 of 168 in Brisbane
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#76 of 168 in Brisbane
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#95 of 168 in Brisbane
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairthorpe Apartments
Fairthorpe Apartments
#56 of 139 in Brisbane
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis Apartments
The Oasis Apartments
#64 of 139 in Brisbane
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Founda Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Founda Gardens Apartments

Address: 14 - 18 Dunmore Tce | Auchenflower, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £95 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Founda Gardens Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained and serviced apartments located only 2 kms from the Brisbane city Centre and also near Milton and Auchenflower. Founda Gardens Apartments can offer something to suit your every requirement. Our large air-conditioned two bedroom apartments sleep four (size: 126m2), and large three bedroom apartments sleep six (size 142m2). We also have a three bedroom Sub Penthouse apartment that has views of the Brisbane River and city (157m2). There are two bathrooms, two balconies, a full size kitchen including dishwasher, full size fridge with freezer, oven, 4 hotplates and microwave. They are fully furnished including pots, pans, crockery, cutlery, sheets and towels, washing machine and dryer, iron, vacuum cleaner, etc. A complimentary secure car park is provided for a two bedroom apartment and two car parks are provided for the three bedroom apartments. Complimentary Foxtel is provided in all apartments. Wireless broadband internet is available for an extra charge. The complex has a salt water swimming pool and barbeque area. We are close to the Wesley Hospital, Park Road coffee shops and restaurants, transport nearby including City Cat ferry, train, and bus, 5 minutes to the CBD and University of Queensland. All apartments are designated non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Founda Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing