We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place in a stylish neighbourhood”
Review of The Collingwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Collingwood
Ranked #23 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2011

A perfect bed and breakfast when we stayed recently to attend a family wedding in Brisbane. Tim and Rachel are attentive hosts - even providing some bubbly while we waited for our lift. A cool box was eagerly provided for our trip out to the hills.
The surrounding neighbourhood is stylish and we can recommend the local dry cleaners and hairdressers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonesailor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at The Collingwood for nearly a week and loved it. Our hosts, Tim and Rachel, were lovely and provided us with a wealth of information not only on Brisbane but for our future trip to South America! The breakfasts are great and we looked forward to catching up with Tim and Rachel each morning to review the previous day and what we should do that day. The Collingwood is situated in the district of Paddington, which is in itself a super area with some great bars and restaurants and a place to easily hang out for hours in the coffee bars watching the world go by. It is relatively easy to get into the CBD by bus, or even walk if you are feeling energetic. There are some lovely little touches as well, such as the welcome drink, that go to make The Collingwood a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoeandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We first stayed at the Collingwood in June 2010 and yes, we have been back 4 times since then. Tim and Rachel are amazing hosts - friendly, engaging, charming and yet very professional in the way that they look after their guests. I cannot praise them enough. Even being "repeated guests" *after the 4th visit ,their service whether it is full house or just the two of us, is impeccable. On two ocassions, they surprised us with a small bottle of "bubbly" which was most welcome. He even remembers that I like drinking earl grey tea and it is always in the room when we visit. Tim has such a wealth of information about places, food etc. and is always helpful with various suggestions for dinner etc. The rooms though average in size are beautifully fitted and the beds are very comfortable. Don't worry, we have tried at least 3 of their 4 rooms!!!! There are only 4 rooms - all with ensuites. I have been meaning to write a review but was worried to "praise the Collingwood too much" in case it gets too popular and we can't get a room in future. Jokes aside - this is a great place to stay - it feels like home especially the wonderful ambience in the guest lounge downstairs and Tim and Rachel's ample, fresh and simple continental breakfast. We used to stay in hotels when we visited Brisbane and were a bit hesitant about "guest-houses" or "B & B' as we really treasure our privacy. However after our first visit to the Collingwood, , whenever we plan a trip to Brisbane, we just book with Tim and Rachel without even contemplating a "Sterile hotel" room. Well, who would when you get such amazing consistent service,warm, friendly but unobtrusive hospitality plus a good night sleep. Thank you Tim and Rachel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disppointed50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Collingwood for 2 nights in February, and we couldn't have been happier with it. I had booked our stay based on tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are beautiful, and our bed and linens were so comfortable. The food at the continental style breakfast was delicious and of the best quality - very memorable. Best of all though, were Tim and Rachael, who were such wonderful hosts, offering great restaurant recommendations and lots of help with directions, travel plans, etc. Two of our best dining experiences while were were in Australia were suggestions from Tim, including one that was in Melbourne, where were were heading later in our journey. There was a huge rainfall the second night we were in town, and Tim was even so thoughtful as to make sure that we were taken care of for dinner, even going so far as to offer to make us dinner that evening, as we hadn't rented a car for our stay. The Collingwood was without a doubt the best accommodation we experienced during our 2 weeks in Australia, and Paddington was also one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libra419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Beautiful designed house, excellent rooms, great hosts and located in a wonderful neighborhood. We felt home right from the first moment.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marclerche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Perfect location. Thoughtful owners. Beautiful residence. The Collingwood is such a lovely place to be in every regard. Everything about it is boutique and personal. My girlfriend and I loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeGraySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My only disappointment was that we only got to stay one night!

Location was great and we dined at a lovely local restaurant recommended by the owner Tim who couldn't do enough to help. Our room was excellent and the bed was so comfortable it was a struggle getting out of it the next morning.

Will definately stay there again when we're back in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
2.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,470 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood

Address: 32 Collingwood St | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: £126 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingwood encompasses the elegance of a residential Bed and Breakfast with the facilities of a boutique hotel. Located only around 2km from Brisbane’s CBD in the heart of Paddington, one of Brisbane’s historic suburbs, adorned with renovated Queenslander style homes set on steep hills. This urban retreat offers a myriad of experiences for the most discerning of travellers. Guests are able to enjoy the classic architecture, contemporary design and well appointed comforts, whilst being only a short stroll from specialty stores, award winning restaurants and cafes, art galleries and the antique markets. The Collingwood… an elegant and friendly boutique accommodation experience within an artistic village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing