We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home ! ”
Review of The Collingwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Collingwood
Ranked #24 of 60 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home ! ”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Many thanks 'trip advisor' for directing us to this little gem of home comforts in Bris-vegas. The rooms are better than many boutique hotels, the welcome is five star with sprinkle of old friend and your hosts Tim and Rachel are those rare hosts who actually understand the concept of a service industry and delight in enhancing your visit.
Note: we are Gluten and Dairy free and all requests, without prior warning !!! Not just accommodated but actually catered to and did I mention without prior warning just because they're considerate and considered hosts!!!
Brilliant !!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimonTheMentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Collingwood is a purpose built B&B that ticks all the boxes - tastefully decorated rooms with ensuites and private balconies, beautiful breakfasts, very convenient location and exceptional hosts who do everything possible (without being intrusive) to ensure you enjoy your stay. We'll definitely be going back next time we're in Brisbane!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Being b&b owners ourselves we know just who difficult it can be running one. Tim and Rachel do a superb job, exceptionally clean and well appointed room and within walking distance of the city centre what more could you want. Only had breakfast once during our 2 day stay in Brisbane,as our flight for NZ was early the next morning, it was lovely. Tim and Rachel gave us good advice as to what to do during our brief visit to the city and recommendations as to where to eat locally, the area has lots of restaurants. On their advice went to the Il Posto, italian restaurant which was very good so much so we went back the second night!

If you stay here you will not be disappointed, we know.

Best wishes.

Jim & Josie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1myd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a meeting over the weekend. The location us amazing. Plenty to explore and try while the accommodation was clean and oozes class. The hosts are great, very willing to give you advice on the area. (There is lots to see and do). Loved it

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tapfue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had the chance to stay at the Collingwood for 3 nights on our Australian adventure. We absolutely loved the place; Tim and Rachel were fantastic hosts!! we enjoyed great conversations, exchanged stories and were welcomed very warmly .
The room is great and takes elements from top 5 stars hotels without losing its charm.
The breakfast was served to us every day on the veranda and Tim made sure all we could wish for, was on the menu. The location is superb and the area is ever so nice.
I cannot recommend enough The Collingwood Brisbane and hope to get the chance to stay there again on our next Australian tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine coast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a classy and sumptuous B&B.
the owners are delightful, you feel like you are friends being welcomed to their home.
I wish I'd found it earlier, rather than stay in sterile hotels.
It was exceptionally clean, comfortable and had an upmarket Hampton's" decor.
Maybe I shouldn't write this review, because selfishly, I want to make sure it's not booked out!!!!
It is in Paddington which does mean a drive into town, but then again the top of Paddington (which I might add usually has no parking,) is a great shopping hub.
Staying at the Collingwood means you have easy access to divine gift shops,; Shelter Interior has fab interior items of high quality and the men's gift section is wonderful; Novel Lines is an unusual eclectic book shop, stocking old and new books. There is an antique centre and a lovely antique furniture shop. Galleries, other shops and cafés all of an exceptional high standard are just a walk away.
If you stay Monday to Thursday you can go to the renowned friendship restaurant "Montrachet" just book in advance.
I will be returning and can highly recommend "the Collingwood" to anyone wanting to stay in a home away from home, in a trendy inner suburb of Brisbane rather than the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Tim & Rachel were perfect hosts on our 3-night stay. We enjoyed the friendly conversation while we tucked into a delicious breakfast each morning. A great way to start the day.
It is a convenient location - close to a great choice of restaurants, cafes & interesting shops. With Rachel's help we became familiar with the local public transport - a short bus ride to Brisbane - then to the train station or ferries to South Bank & beyond.
The rooms are comfortable, well equipped, love the opening windows & ceiling fan.
Clean, modern - but with character.
Thanks Tim & Rachel!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back yard which was lovely. Any one of the 4 rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnAW480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.9 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#15 of 159 in Brisbane
622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Heal House
Heal House
#6 of 60 in Brisbane
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brisbane Milton Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Grove Manor
Grove Manor
#7 of 60 in Brisbane
70 reviews
4.0 mi away
Number 12
Number 12
#4 of 60 in Brisbane
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood

Property: The Collingwood
Address: 32 Collingwood St | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingwood encompasses the elegance of a residential Bed and Breakfast with the facilities of a boutique hotel. Located only around 2km from Brisbane’s CBD in the heart of Paddington, one of Brisbane’s historic suburbs, adorned with renovated Queenslander style homes set on steep hills. This urban retreat offers a myriad of experiences for the most discerning of travellers. Guests are able to enjoy the classic architecture, contemporary design and well appointed comforts, whilst being only a short stroll from specialty stores, award winning restaurants and cafes, art galleries and the antique markets. The Collingwood… an elegant and friendly boutique accommodation experience within an artistic village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing