We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic boutique accommodation in handy location - five stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Collingwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Collingwood
Ranked #24 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chic boutique accommodation in handy location - five stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

After deciding that I didn't want to stay in a standard bland CBD hotel for a recent business trip, I was thrilled to find The Collingwood on Wotif. My experience during my stay, from the first impression on their website, friendly efficient check-in, stunning bedroom and ensuite, fresh and plentiful breakfast and interaction with the lovely owners, was exceptional all around. The living and dining area and bedrooms are tastefully furnished and finished to a very high standard - portrayed very accurately on their website and brochure. The owners are charming, hospitable and discrete - going beyond the call of duty to ensure my stay was comfortable. I would highly recommend The Collingwood to anyone looking for something a bit special.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed at the Collingwood after it had only been opened a few weeks. We were thoroughly delighted with our choice. The rooms were extremely stylish and possessed all those extra touches that make your stay so luxurious; 500 thread count linen, plentiful supplies of good quality toiletries, current glossy magazines and a well supplied drinks fridge and Twinings tea and proper coffee supplies. We also felt very welcome and the hosts made a wonderful effort at making breakfast a convivial and gourmet affair, very impressed with the range of continental breakfast items available. The furnishings were a stylish mix of antique and modern and really did echo the well travelled experiences of the owners. The location is excellent too, close to funky cafe's and eclectic boutiques.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaem002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

The Collingwood was new, modern, comfortable and most elegant B&B. The breakfast was generous with choice of fruits, cereals and bread. The room had a nice relaxing balcony. Great location with eateries within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elixr-syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

This was our first experience of a B & B in Brisbane.
We must have been one of the very first guests as it has only just opened.
The hosts, Tim and Rachel, were very welcoming and went over the top to make our short stay very comfortable.
The house from the outside looks quite old but we found out that everything was in fact brand new and created in an old style to blend with other houses in the area.
Its in a great location, just a few minutes from the city in a quiet street. Being from the Gold Coast, we arrived by car but can imagine for an overseas visitor a car would not be essential as everything in the city is so close.
The accommodation has been very carefully planned and would compare to anything found in a superior hotel. Free internet acccess was a boon as we had left the dongle at home and we enjoyed the breakfast provided in the morning.
Can thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#3 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grove Manor
Grove Manor
#7 of 61 in Brisbane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood

Property: The Collingwood
Address: 32 Collingwood St | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingwood encompasses the elegance of a residential Bed and Breakfast with the facilities of a boutique hotel. Located only around 2km from Brisbane’s CBD in the heart of Paddington, one of Brisbane’s historic suburbs, adorned with renovated Queenslander style homes set on steep hills. This urban retreat offers a myriad of experiences for the most discerning of travellers. Guests are able to enjoy the classic architecture, contemporary design and well appointed comforts, whilst being only a short stroll from specialty stores, award winning restaurants and cafes, art galleries and the antique markets. The Collingwood… an elegant and friendly boutique accommodation experience within an artistic village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing