We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Village Taigum
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chermside Motor Inn(Brisbane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
73
81
31
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
81
31
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrisbane entertainment centrecafe on sitecontinental breakfastlocal shopping centrebreakfast packthe cottagesrainbow lorikeetsrented a carlady at receptionshuttle busquiet staybrisbane airporttea coffee making facilitiesdouble bedtoilet and showeran early morning flightsunshine coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very good rooms. We had 2 adjoining for the price of one. Nice shower though small. Stock of coffee and tea. Refrigerator and air conditioner worked well. One of the beds had a bit of icky fluid spill down the edge of it. Not sure what it was and really did not want to know! We told the front desk and offered to clean it ourselves. They let us. :( ( I wanted to change rooms but was over ruled by my husband and my adult son~ lol but true) It was almost time for us to go home so I know they just wanted to make nice, nice and they felt a move would jeopardize our free wireless. Other then that and the location of the pool it was nice. The pool is surrounded by mini mobile homes. Seriously right smack in the middle of them. Would not have been creepy if each home did not have a window or two that faces you and overlooks as one swims or sun baths. Upside is they must have VERY strict rules about keeping their area clean because all of them were :). There was a neat little cafe right below us which set up the free continental breakfast which was very nice! Staff were very friendly and we LOVED the birds in the AM ~ just amazing congregation of Cockatoos and Lorikeets around the big bird feeder in one of the centrally located huge trees.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review for our property.

Your comments are greatly appreciated. The accommodation cabins around the pool are our Studio Villas which are for our short stay visitors (minimum two nights). They are popular with couples and families with small children who want to be close to the pool.

I agree the birds put on a lovey show and are beautiful to watch.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here for 2 nights, in one of the villas but it was definitely a bargain! The staff at reception were most helpful for me (never been to brisbane before) with trains and bus schedules, maps and the easiest way to get places and were very polite! Definitely recommend staying here, for the price, you have everything you need, and they have a convienient store at reception if you forget to bring anything!! So surprised and will certainly be back!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank vannz_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Living 4 hours from Brisbane we decided to stay here the night for an early morning flight and we both agreed at how nice this place is! And my Fiancé expecially loved the fact that the TV channels actually work! We agreed that we both enjoyed staying here and would recommend it again. However, I think next time we need to bring our own pillows as we both are suffering from a restless sleep and sore necks from the pillows which to seem to have been good quality when were bought but are now alittle worn out from use. Thank you again, we will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessieleigh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and great to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We have taken on board your comments about the pillows as we have had some supplier problems. We have now changed supplier and the type of pillow we place in the rooms. Hopefully next time you will enjoy a better sleep experience.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Easy place to get to from Brisbane airport if you have a car. The included breakfast is fine and the motel rooms are nice and clean. I grudge paying the credit card fee, though, when few other places charge it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank youngja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review for our property.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay but was somewhat puzzled by your "clean but impersonal" comment as we pride ourselves on the high level of service that we offer. My apologies if it was not to your expectations.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a villa as it was a much cheaper option than staying in hotels. Location is a 5 min walk to buses, shops and a pub. 15/20 min walk to train station. Rooms are very basic but for the bargain price they are you could not ask for anymore which also included a brekky in the cafe in the grounds. Reception was very friendly and helpful. Rooms had air con and the pool was a hit with everyone. For the very cheap rates we were happy and will return in the future. Grounds were also very clean and well maintained

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, that are very much appreciated.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay, your daily breakfast and our property, wonderful news!

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews