We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Village Taigum
Ranked #25 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a self contained villa for a family of five, very spacious but some of the furniture is a bit old. Was one of the coldest nights Brisbane has had in July for a long time and the heating wasn't adequate, any other time would have been ok.

Found the staff lovely and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic simple but made things easier for a family holiday, brought our own lactose free milk but found out they did have some! something you don't find in many cafes.

Will stay again, hopefully when warmer and can use the pool!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jkateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to share your experience at our property.

Both your fellow travellers and our staff welcome your feedback.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here because it had good reviews and we needed an overnight stay before our flight. The hotel advertising said it had free internet which we rely on for maps and directions as this was our first holiday in Australia. All we got was a shrug of the shoulder from the woman in reception who didn't seem bothered one way or another. When we got to the room the carpet was filthy with black marks all over it and there were hundreds of ants crawling around the inside of the window frame...the following morning we enjoyed the delights of a very minimal continental breakfast..I guess you get what you pay for but we do expect to get what they promise and and a clean room...I would suggest a new carpet for room 12 and some pest control. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank dalan1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property.

We welcome all comments regardless of their nature although it was disappointing to read that your stay was not to your expectations.

A room rate of $139 AUD which includes free WiFi and a House Breakfast (both from the cafe) and located only 20 minutes from the Brisbane Airport is quite reasonable. I am unsure about your comments regarding the WiFi, but I have checked the audit log and the WiFi was operational and being used by guests during the time of your stay. There may have been a setting issue with your device that our Front Desk Staff were unable to rectify.

This area of Brisbane enjoys the benefits of a sub-tropical climate and this also attracts flora and fauna of a great variety. Unfortunately not all of these insects and animals are welcome especially inside your accommodation, but they visit us regardless. As ants are very prolific and pest control is an ineffective preventative approach we have insect spray available at the Front Desk for this purpose.

You have also made comment about the carpet in your accommodation which I have addressed with the staff concerned.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff very helpful, room was quite old but adequate. WiFi very poor, could not access emails or update my ipad( only a small update was required. Powdered coffee at breakfast, a coffee maker would have been more suitable. Every else was OK

Room Tip: get a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CodgeandMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post a review for our property.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you have shared your experience with your fellow travellers, much appreciated.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a huge disappointment. I booked this location for 3 reasons, availability for my entire stay, free wifi, and continental breakfast. When I checked in I was told the wifi was down, strike one. They told me it could come up anytime. They gave me $20 to use on the computer in the office, it's $2 for 15 min and takes 1 min or more before you can even open a page. Wow, 2 1/2 hours to use during office hours for a weeks stay. Took me several days to find out there was unlimited free wifi at the coffee club in the local shopping center with purchase. No one in the office knew of anywhere with free wifi within walking distance.

The breakfast, strike two: worst continental breakfast I have ever had. Your choice of toast or cold cereal. For those that are lactose intolerant, choice is toast! It's in the cafe linked with the hotel, so in my opinion, crappy breakfast choices leads to purchasing one of their overpriced options.
The bed is very old. When you sit on it you can feel the outside frame of the mattress. Also, headboard not attached securely, so any little movement and the headboard moves shaking the glass vase on the attached end stand. Don't know how many times it sounded like glass breaking when I was getting into bed or resituating to get comfortable.

You're probably wondering why I stayed after finding out how disappointing this place is. I'm on Holiday from the USA, with no car and no internet to find another place. If this was in the USA, I wouldn't have spent one night after finding out about the wifi.

If given a choice---DO NOT STAY AT THIS LOCATION! They do no have what they advertise and do a VERY POOR job trying to make up for it. Got the impression from the front office 'you're here, so we don't have what we say, you can always purchase what you expected to be free, deal with it'

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. Call before booking to make sure what is advertised is really offered an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HMarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property.

The intent of writing a review is to give your fellow travellers a true reflection of your stay with the intention of detailing your individual experience at any given property and or place. I have read your review and you have failed to give a true reflection.

There are some matters that you have raised which I will respond to and clarify.

Firstly, the free WiFi; at check-in Front Desk Staff explained to you that the WiFi was down. This service is provided by a third party and beyond our control as to whether it is available or not. Staff explained this to you upfront that we were unaware as to when the service will next be available. Furthermore we offered you a full refund for your accommodation as the WiFi service may or may not be available during your stay. And, as a goodwill gesture, we gave you a $20 credit for the internet desk which you gladly accepted.

Secondly, your accommodation included a House Breakfast at our cafe. There is a selection of breads, cereals, juices and hot beverages. Unfortunately, if a guest requires special dietary needs they maybe required to purchase specific items from the menu or self-cater in their accommodation. A breakfast option that is "included" cannot realistically cater for all dietary needs of all guests.

You have also made mention of the bed in the villa that you stayed in. The bedding is this villa is approximately 12 months old and of a commercial standard and quality. If there was a maintenance issue (with the bedhead) it is best raised with staff as soon as possible rather than after you have checked out. Staff would have attended to and rectifies this matter during your stay.

Lastly, what we advertise is a clear representation of our property. I personally dealt with your matters numerous times at the Front Desk or was present whilst other staff attended to you and your queries. At no point was I rude to you and nor were my staff.

We welcome all comments and thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just went back for another set of shows at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre; second stay at this motel. Colonial Village is the most convenient option when you don't have a car. They organised a shuttle service to and from the shows. Public transport is right outside or just around the corner, and cheap and easy to use (with a GoCard). The staff (front office and cafe) are always very friendly and helpful. For any future shows at BEC, I won't even bother looking at other accommodation.

Loved the BLT at the cafe so much I had it three times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwidebinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Colonial Village.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay whilst attending a show at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre. Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Firstly I will just justify being "central". Whilst actually reasonably far North East of the CBD, the location of the property relative to the Freeway that feeds the Sunshine coast, the Gold coast as well as the airport means that it is actually very fast to get almost anywhere while still being reasonably quiet and relaxing. It is about 40 minutes to Dreamworld, 50 minutes to the Gold Coast, 50 minutes to the Sunshine coast, 15 minutes to the airport and 15 minutes to the CBD.

The staff were friendly and welcoming in all interactions we had.

The villa we stayed in (Standard Villa 1) was what we needed for us being my wife and I and our two children (3 and 5). They are basically about 3m x 8m rooms that are separated quite effectively by a curtain so that the "parents bedroom" is cut off from the rest of the living space, kids bunks and kitchenette. There was plenty of storage space for us and having that small kitchen is particularly important with small children. The villa was clean and whilst we didn't use it, had air conditioning for comfort.

Coming from a king bed at home, a double was fun if not a challenge for a large guy like me, but we knew this prior to booking so it wasn't an issue at all. Personally I would try to bang a queen in that space, which can fit no problem between the two reading bedhead built in stands. But that's a personal thing really.

Kids found the triple bunk very fun to the point of never wanting to get off the thing!

Great tranquil feeling with the native birds and gardens surrounding the place and it was good to feel "at home".

The inclusive continental breakfast was a simple yet very effective addition, especially for a young family and we greatly appreciated being able to get a nice bite and a cuppa prior to heading out for the day.

Probably the only thing of improvement to note in the Villa is that the towel rail on the door side of the bathroom needs to be moved because it is not possible to hang a towel there and actually open the shower door. I don't think its a big change as there are some other spots where the towel rail could be housed.

A good value place to stay for a family within easy reach of all the attractions of the QLD South East.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and making the effort to post a review for our property. Both your our staff and your fellow travellers welcome your comments.

I have passed on your comments to all staff concerned.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it was at least to your expectations. You and your family have made great use of all the attractions and must see & do's for our part of the world!

Thank you once again and hope you had a safe journey back home.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable , a plus was having the café shop on the premises with meals , gardens were lovely and rooms very good ,would have given an excellent for rooms ,but the cleaner must be a bit short and somebody had written in the dust on 2 lamp shades .travel from airport very easy . would recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village351, Owner at Colonial Village Taigum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property, it is greatly appreciated.

We welcome all comments and are glad that you have raised this minor house-keeping issue with us. I will pass this on to the staff concerned.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you once again for our feedback.

Regards, Marika Thauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.5 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
5.0 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#82 of 168 in Brisbane
137 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#113 of 168 in Brisbane
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aspley Pioneer Motel
Aspley Pioneer Motel
#118 of 168 in Brisbane
33 reviews
3.0 mi away
Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion
2.9 mi away
Chermside Motor Inn
Chermside Motor Inn
#31 of 168 in Brisbane
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Taigum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Taigum

Address: Colonial Village Cnr Beams & Handford Road, 351 Beams Rd | Taigum, Brisbane, Queensland 4018, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Village Taigum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Village has range of motel style and villa accommodation. Our property is close to the Brisbane Airport with easy access to Brisbane CBD, Sunshine Coast to the north and Gold Coast to the south. The Brisbane Entertainment Centre is 3km's away and the Eaton's Hill Hotel is a short drive. Local shops are within walking distance, Westfield Chermside is 3km's and the Brisbane DFO is approx. 14km's. Boondall Wetlands and the shores of Moreton Bay are only a short drive away. One night, one week, one month - Colonial Village has an accommodation option to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable at a reasonable price. We look forward to welcoming you to our property. Colonial Village, the natural choice for short stays in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Village Taigum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing