We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to spoil yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Place to spoil yourself”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This place oozes quality and high standards of service. Having only 9 rooms the attention to detail both in the hotel/room and the service is well maintained. Probably wouldn't be able to afford to stay here everytime I was in Brisbane or for a long period of time but for a splash out its well worth it. The breakfasts are awesome and generous. We had the canapes, dinner and breakfast offer and by paying in advance the only thing we had to pay extra for was drinks. We had a great time celebrating my partners birthday.

Room Tip: Stay for breakfast- you won't get anything this good in the Valley or New Farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    91
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
47
407
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in the Terrace Suite for 3 nights. The room is nicely appointed, but a bite small. There were two of us with larger suitcases and there wasn’t really enough room to place our suitcases and not enough wardrobe space to unpack them. Therefore, one had to go on the floor next to the front door. The breakfast was very nice with a wide range of choices. It’s included in the room rate, a la carte sit down and the products used are high quality. The outside dining area offered a very nice atmosphere. There was a Nespresso coffee maker in the room and upon request they gave us as many coffee pods as we asked for. The terrace was spacious as was the bathroom. The staff we very friendly and helpful. Although we didn’t use it, the rooftop bar is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have just arrived home after spending a wonderful night at Spicers Balfour and I had to write our recommendation straight away. From the moment we entered the Hotel we were professionally and warmly treated by all staff. This weekend was special for us and from the moment we closed the door in our room, it became our sanctuary from the busy outside world. The room was tastefully appointed with an eye for detail. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Australia but would undoubtedly rank Balfour as the best. Breakfast had been praised by other reviewers and it did not disappoint. It was generous and had choices not usually found on breakfast menus. The rooftop bar is a welcome surprise. Canapés and drinks before going out to dinner sets the right mood for the evening. If you are thinking about spending a night or two to recharge your batteries do yourself a favor and make a reservation. You won't be disappointed. We shall definitely be back soon even though we only live 10 minutes away. Thanks Sarah and Alex for your professional but friendly service.

Room Tip: Room 5 was very quiet and away from the others. Next time we shall stay in the terrace suite which u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersGroup, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi Gracelyn S
Thank you for your lovely comments - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Even without a 14 hour flight ahead, it would have been a wrench to leave Spicers but what a lovely place to end a great holiday. Of course the beds are great, breakfast scrumptious and evening canapes a plus, but what really sets it apart is its staff: without exception they were friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.
If you're unfamiliar with Brisbane don't worry about the location, a ten minute walk will take you to the free City hopper ferry which can deliver you to the CBD, South Bank or Cultural quarter. Close by the hotel you'll be spoilt for choice if you want cafes, bars and restaurants. the shops come recommended too but I didn't get a chance to find out......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

One night stay, we arrived after 9.30pm. The kitchen was closed, we got a taxi to a nearby wine bar which was all that was open in the area at that time of the night.
It is important to understand this is a small guest house style hotel in a suburban area. I would say this is an up and coming trendy Brisbane area.
Our room was small for two people and that is why I rate it 4 stars. Everything else was very good.
The fit out of the rooms, the quality of the beds and the included breakfast in the morning were all excellent.
The team running the hotel are dedicated and have a can do attitude.

Room Tip: Not able to help here as we did not view other rooms. Our room overlooked a neighboring home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHenryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Comfiest bed I have ever slept besides my own! bath enormous easily fits two!
Breakfast was divine and very substantial. On-site parking included is a bonus.
Transport to the city easy via Citycat from New Farm park or Sydney street both an easy walk, buy a GO card it's cheaper!
Service was superb, only down side was that smoking is allowed in some parts of the hotel, but unfortunately smoke doesn't understand the boundaries and as a non-smoker it did mar my enjoyment of the city views in the evening from the rooftop terrace.
Would I return? yes absolutely but would look at rates from different sites before booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Angdek,

Thank you for your feedback. The team are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, however we were surprised to hear that a guest was smoking in the boundaries of the hotel. Please note that Spicers Balfour Hotel is strictly non smoking and do not tolerate smokers. With our beautiful private courtyards and rooftop bar, this sometimes lends itself to the temptation for smokers to light up. We are looking at erecting additional signage.

We have met as a team to review this and have refreshed the team on our non smoking policy.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention

We look forward to welcoming you back to our humble abode in the city!

Warm regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Loved my one night there and felt like a queen. Upgraded to a corner terrace suite. Warm and personalised service. A room perfectly outfitted with quality furnishings and unparalleled attention to detail (even the hair dryer is professional standard Vidal Sassoon!), a personal handwritten welcome card, free top-ups of milk for your Nespresso coffee and T2 tea, Italian bath amenities, delicious canapes and breakfast which I chose to have my breakfast on the terrace. What a wonderful experience. I have always said whether something is expensive depends not on price but on value. So yes, Spicers is abit pricey, but if it is within your budget, the experience is worth it. Only thing to bear in mind is that for its spa like retreat in the city, it is away from the hustle and bustle, so be prepared for taxi travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qua9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing