We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!! A very special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Excellent small boutique hotel. Staff are absolutely first class...!!! Highly professional, charming and very helpful. Really lovely rooms ...only 9 in the hote - l beautiful bathroom, large comfortable bed...everything you need. We were only staying one night which was such a shame. Breakfast on the veranda was SO lovely. Beautifully presented and prepared food. This hotel is quite special and the staff are truly exceptional. Decor is interesting...touch of jamican crossed with japanese. Drinks and canapes on the veranda was wonderful with a great view of Brisbane. As Brits we had not heard of this chain but when we return to Brisbane and Montiville we will definitely stay with this small chain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here with my partner in early March. Homely elegance. Friendly, welcoming but never over bearing. Room was excellently appointed, modern technological convenience with tasteful more traditional decor (please do not misconstrue this as kitsch - elegant). Ethos is treat this as your home. Fabulous breakfast which should see most people through the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlbiaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Albiahouse

Thank you so much for your great feedback.
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The fact you felt like your stay was a home away from home, is very important to us as we strive to ensure all guests feel like their staying amongst friends as opposed to guests in a traditional hotel.
Maria our breakfast chef is very passionate about her food and appreciates very much your feedback.
We are looking forward to sharing this beautiful property with you again, when you next visit.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is a small boutique hotel with, I believe, 9 rooms.

Staff are wonderful, the rooms modern and luxurious. The breakfast, which was included in the room cost was lovely, with plenty of choice. Also free wifi!!

In the evening canapés are served in he roof top bar, you do however pay for your own drinks.

A Fantastic hotel which deserves its number 1 rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennyBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have been fortunate to have breakfast at the Balfour on many occasions. The service is impecaable, the food is amazing. Great value for money. The meals are not run of the mill - the pork belly is sublime, spectacular, the salmon is equally good. We have never had even an average meal here - always the bar has been lifted high.

But be advised on a Sunday to book as it is becoming very popular. This weekend we decided to book a room. Although the weather was not kind we had a most enjoyable stay. The canapes on the roof top bar were truely wonderful. I read that the Balfour is opening there restaurant to the public for dinner from mid March. I will be there in a heart beat.
If your looking for somewhere different - this is the place for you. Impress by taking your partner to breakfast - the best we have found.

Room Tip: The rooms with a 'courtyard' are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubblybev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Bubblybev123,

Thank you for your fantastic review, particularly of our food! We pride ourselves on great breakfasts and this is really starting draw some crowds on the weekends. As you noted, it is best to make a booking or even better, stay the night before!

I'd like to confirm that yes you are correct!! We are planning to open a bistro-style restaurant this Autumn. I can also confirm that we just secured fantastic head chef Peter van Lunn - a Brissie boy with international experience. We had the pleasure of taste-testing the draft menu last week and all I can say is wow!

As soon as we know the exact launch date, we will be sending out an email to all past guests and friends of Spicers (those who receive our e-newsletter) so you will have the opportunity to be one of the first in Brisbane to experience dinner at The Balfour.

Thanks again for the lovely review and we look forward to serving you soon at our new restaurant!

Warm regards
Willie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We chose this hotel as a one night stopover after an all night flight to rest raveling north the next day, also out wedding anniversary.
A more perfect stay I could not imagine. The staff were great, nothing was a bother to them. The room while a little small and with a darker colour scheme had many lovely touches like the espresso coffee machine, comfortable king bed and pillows you could actually sleep on. Lovely linens and towels.
The bar on the roof top was perfect to watch the sun go down and the city light up. We were so relaxed we ordered dinner in and ate it up there.
The breakfast was one of the best yet, you could order from the menu and help yourself to the continental buffett. Coffee was whatever you wanted. A great selection and well cooked and presented,.

For the price this is the best value for money we have encountered and would certainly return when we are next in Brisbane. Thank you Spicers Balfour!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apteryx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We only stayed here for one night unfortunately but it was splendid. We were going out to a Friends house for Dinner and so would have missed the free canapes on the roof so they prepared them early for us. SImilarly we were on an early flight out so would have missed breakfast so they prepared us a take-out breakfast which was outstanding. Room was very comfortable with excellent facilities.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickshaw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Fantastic views of the Story Bridge from the Rooftop Bar and the meals are outstanding. Especially breakfast. Our room was comfortable, very clean and the bathroom toiletries reflect the hotel attention to making everything perfect. Staff were all friendly and polite.
The Brisbane weather was a bit unkind but this hotel more than compensated.
Our first stay at Spicers Balfour but it certainly will not be the last.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravels1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 168 in Brisbane
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#28 of 168 in Brisbane
2,873 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
2,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £113 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing