We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior excellence at this boutique Brisbane Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superior excellence at this boutique Brisbane Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We booked for the romantic escape for one night. The room was very well presented and well stocked with any and all amenities needed.
The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They even called us up the night before to confirm the reservation.
Alex, our main staff member was excellent. He was very willing to accommodate our needs. They even let us change up our bottle of champagne for a really nice bottle of shiraz for our stay - as this was included along with canapes and truffles as part of the package. Alex also had an excellent knowledge of the local bars and resraurants which we found invaluable.

The rooftop bar was very intimate and had a wonderful view of the Storey Bridge and the Brisbane skyline. The open bar with the honour system was an excellent different touch.

All in all the stay was amazing and very intimate. We were thoroughly impressed. Oh and I have to mention the great breakfast very very tasty and presented well.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Gagosta from Melbourne

Thank you for the kind review, every day is a blessing being at The Balfour with so many amazing people visiting us. I am glad you enjoyed the team and Alex sends his regards.
The honour bar was truly designed for our in-house guests, they do not have to wait for a drink ever and it’s fun to have a bar for your use away from home I always say.
Maria puts a lot of love and passion into her breakfast and she enjoyed your feedback.

Have a great week

Warmest Regards

Willie Smuts & Team Bafour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    90
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
44
397
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I chose the Spicers Balfour Hotel New Farm as the venue to propose to my partner. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by staff with a smile, the service was superior, the bar upstairs over looking the Story Bridge was breath taking, the food was divine and overall an experience we will never forget. The room was spacious and elegant. We highly recommend this property, as above average, nothing is too much trouble and value for money

Greg, Brisbane

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Gregkt

Thank you for your lovely review, my team live and breathe service and it`s always nice to hear that it does not go unnoticed.
I am happy that you enjoyed your room and my team look forward to your next visit with us.
On a personal note, that is a stunning profile photo, I am a bit of a travel junky and enjoy visiting breathtaking places. Where did you take the photo?

Have a lovely week

Warmest Regards

Willie Smuts & Team Bafour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Set in a tranquille Queenslander is the Balfour Hotel,
the newest addition to the famous Spicers boutique hotel group;
an award winning establishment designed by Coop Creative.

The interior design pays tribute to Art Deco (oh how very Great Gatsby!)
and exudes a grandeur that is both comforting and glamorous,
providing guests with a (better) home away from home
We recently visited the Balfour Kitchen for breakfast – it was a truly wonderful experience,
with superlative service and decadent food offerings at a reasonable price.
For a moment I felt that I was somewhere faraway, holidaying in an exotic lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maoowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a find, thank you to my travel agent for this.
In New Farm a short walk for James street food, drinks etc. Not for everyone only 8 rooms No spa pool gym etc but great staff and the food was excellent (& so is breakfast)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We went to the Balfour for breakfast with friends. Staff very friendly and the food was great. The Manager was kind enough to show us around the hotel, and we will definitely stay there next time we are in Brisbane.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VonnieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Vonnie

It was nice to meet you on your visit and thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. You are truly part of the Spicers family now and we look forward to you staying the night. Let me know when you want to come and stay because we can always start you with a massage then move on to Canapés on the rooftop bar with some bubbles overlooking our iconic Story Bridge/Brisbane City and then sit you down for dinner. For dinner you can enjoy the terrace or sit in our courtyard surrounded by fairy lights and Frangipani trees.

Have a lovely week

Warmest Regards

Willie Smuts & Team Bafour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here last December and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The service was faultless as was the food and the room itself. I was absolutely blown away. We only stayed for one night and I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Not worth paying extra for the courtyard as it is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Lamberly

We are blessed with guest staying with us as long as a week at a time. We hope to host you for a little longer on your next visit to get to really get to know you. My personal email is gm.balfour@spicersgroup.com.au, please email me to let me know when you are coming to stay again and let’s see what I can do to keep you a little longer. Enjoy the rest of your week and weekend.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you wish to stay in prestigious style, feast upon absolute delights,and be cared for by people more like friends, then the Spicers Balfour Brisbane is for you! Ps the rooftop bar is sensational with an honour system for the bar, Just like being relaxed amd happy in your friends holiday home. Beautiful leafy suburb of Eagle Farm was't hard to take great distance to the Valley and the City.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getawaylondonstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Getawaylondonstyle

Thank you for the kind words. I guess we don’t believe in giving our guests just a number of a room, you truly become family and by sharing as they say results in caring!

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing